We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galley Restaurant”
Review of Restland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Restland Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Reviewed 5 September 2017

While driving to Bonavista on Labour Day we stopped at the Galley Restaurant for lunch (our main meal of the day). We ordered a 1/2 carafe of wine, the roast turkey dinner, scallops wrapped in bacon and chowder. All were very good and our waitress was wonderful making us so glad to have stopped here! Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank dkb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your lunch at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to serving you again!

Regards,

Management & Crew
“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 6pm and went straight to the restaurant, but we were told it could be a 1 hour wait. We waited in our room for 30 minutes and then we were called to the restaurant. After taking our order we waited another 30 minutes. When the food finally came it was a disappointment.
The room however, was a surprise in that it contained a nice sitting area with a kitchen.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day Phillip,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Great spot with pub and restaurant. Good food and service. Rooms clean and upgraded although a little small but great for a one night stay. Everything you need is close by (ie LCBO...). Very friendly staff and locals (seems to be the trend out here). Didn't get a chance to check out other spots in town (ie the "night life") as we were just passing through.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day Gary,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

How surprised I was when I checked into this motel that turned out to be an older hotel like property. The picture of the motel online shows rooms with cars parked just outside and I expected to be given a room there. However, I was given a room that was back a hallway of this older building, up several stairs and back another very long hall. It was also an efficiency and I did not need that or even use anything in the kitchen as I was only staying one night. The person at the desk was new and didn't seem to know what she was doing. After lugging everything to the room down those long hallways, we found a pleasant and spacious room that had been rehabilitated sometime in the past and was nicely painted. The bathroom appeared to be clean except for the long hair that graced the toilet lid and the hairs that floated in the toilet water. There was a generous supply of soaps and shampoo. We enjoyed a Keurig machine in the kitchen.

Unfortunately when we pulled the covers of the one bed down, there was a black hair on the sheet. How gross! The lighting also presented problems. There was a reading light over each of the beds and one didn't even have a light bulb in it. The ceiling light in the kitchen was also not lighting as was the overhead light in the bedroom. The floor lamp by the sofa had a faulty switch that had to be jiggled to get it to work.

About 1:30am, noisy neighbors came through the hall with boisterous laughing and loud talking.

We did enjoy a very pleasant and tasty meal in the restaurant but our waiter didn't give us the "staying discount" of 10% and no tax was charged. I asked about the tax and he just shrugged. I also had to tell him he needed me to sign the credit paper.

The next morning when I checked out I mentioned about all the lights not working in the room and the employee wrote all the info down. Then I found out that the employee who had checked me in the night before charged my credit card what she said was "just putting a hold on until I checked out." That charge was returned to my credit card and the correct charge was made. In addition I mentioned about the fiasco of paying for the meal the night before and I was given the 10% discount I was entitled to with a lot of apologies.
With all the negatives and problems, I would suggest travelers just ride by this one and head on to a nicer property.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I went to the restaurant to have breakfast. I didn't stay at the motel.
The food is very good and the place very cozy. Service was fast enough. The environment is very clean and well decorated. Prices are fair.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank arrobarriba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to serving you again!
Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
1.5 km away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
139 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
155 reviews
30.0 km away
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restland Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restland Motel

Address: 262 Memorial Dr, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range: ₹ 7,459 - ₹ 8,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Restland Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership! 3.5 Star with Canada Select! Providing the little extras are standard at The Restland Motel. Our renovated rooms & suites are equipped with all standard amenities plus special amenities that bring comfort & pleasure to frequent travelers with custom needs. The Galley Restaurant features a menu of Newfoundland home style meals. Serving all day breakfast, wild game, fresh seafood along with tantalizing seasonal treats & daily specials including "JIGGS DINNER THURSDAYS! Room service, pub service & take out menu available. Seasonal Hours: May to October - 8am to 9pm, October to May - 10am to 8pm The Wheelhouse Pub is filled with cozy atmosphere. Offering VLT's & hosting OPEN MIC Thursdays, LIVE MUSIC Fridays & KARAOKE Saturdays. Enjoy an evening by the fireplace with drink specials all week long. Join our captain with over 30 years experience for an "EASTERN EDGE BOAT TOUR" filled with beautiful scenery and watch for Ice Bergs, Whales, Birds and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Restland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing