We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clarenville Inn(Clarenville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Jude Hotel(Clarenville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
9
6
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe galleysofawaitresshallwaysupper
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Similar to another review we did not stay at the Restland Motel (did not show up in our Expedia search). However, as we drove through Clarenville, we saw the restaurant and stopped for supper. The special of the day was ribs. Both my wife and I ordered them. The meal included tea or coffee and also dessert. The dessert was described as being a cheesecake with pineapple (not one of my favourites but I thought,"What the heck!") The ribs were wonderfully tender, not greasy or sticky. Okay, so the boiled veggies weren't all that great but on the whole, it was a pretty decent meal. The coup de grace was dessert. Gee what a shame they had only one piece of the cheesecake left and since there were two of us the waitress brought us each a piece of delicious homemade lemon pie. We thought the meal was terrific and the service was good as well.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here so comments about rooms are only so survey would be recorded
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigkidbigkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your meal at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to serving you again!
Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Clarenville does not have a restaurant that offers fine dining so we were happy to discover the Galley Restaurant. We were seated by a young server who obviously needed additional training and our actual server was sadly lacking in proper training as well. Our server was not at all familiar with the wine on their wine list, she didn't know how the steak listed on the menu was prepared, and was unsure of other menu items. We asked if the food was prepared by a chef and were met with a blank look. We chose the chef's selection as a starter which was a selection of "freshly prepared seafood" - most of which was either undercooked, charred or inedible. As a main I picked the cod - it arrived looking like cod that is purchased pre-battered and then deep fried - it too was not edible. My husband's main was a pasta dish which he did manage to eat but did not enjoy. We like to eat out and rarely complain about a meal, however, we did speak to the manager and were told there was a new "cook" in the kitchen. It may be a case of growing pains or of offering a menu that is too varied but we will not be eating there again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 159FernB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The motel was good but the room had a smell in it. We had trouble with the tv but the staff was very prompt to respond. the restaurant has very good food but closes at 8:00 so if you arrive late you will have to find another place to eat. The older section of the motel would be difficult for older people to get their luggage in as you have pull it up a small set of stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gtowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us.
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss any concerns you may have.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the Restland Motel for one night and found it rather dissapointing. That being said there are not many options in the Clarenville area.

Highlights
Laminate flooring
Convenient location
Fridge and coffee maker in room
Bar/Restaurant on site.
Nice scenery around hotel area
Computer in lobby area for use.


Lowlights
Walls paper thin. Could hear the bar/singing from 3 rooms away.
Could hear the person next door snoring.
Expensive for what you get.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank woodroffec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We were travelling around Nfld in June and stopped at this Motel for one night. We were happy to find the new owners were doing Reno on the rooms. Our room was nice with a comfy bed. They had a newly opened diningroom where we had a delicious dinner. Also there was an attached pub where we went for a drink and listened to good entertainment. It was so nice to find a place which had everything without going out after a long day sightseeing in wonderful Nfld. I would go back there and also recommend it to anyone travelling in that area. We wish the new owners all the best with their venture.

Room Tip: We chose a room where we could park our car right at our room door. It was quiet in that area.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureenr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks Maureen!

We appreciate your kind review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to sereing you again!
Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews