We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Restland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Restland Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My wife and I stayed two nights at this motel in early September 2016 and enjoyed every minute. The atmosphere was joyful and relaxing. The staff made us feel welcome and was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable. We highly recommend its restaurant. The motel was purchased last year. According to one of the new owners, a lot of work has been done to renovate the building.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lap155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to serving you again!
Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Similar to another review we did not stay at the Restland Motel (did not show up in our Expedia search). However, as we drove through Clarenville, we saw the restaurant and stopped for supper. The special of the day was ribs. Both my wife and I ordered them. The meal included tea or coffee and also dessert. The dessert was described as being a cheesecake with pineapple (not one of my favourites but I thought,"What the heck!") The ribs were wonderfully tender, not greasy or sticky. Okay, so the boiled veggies weren't all that great but on the whole, it was a pretty decent meal. The coup de grace was dessert. Gee what a shame they had only one piece of the cheesecake left and since there were two of us the waitress brought us each a piece of delicious homemade lemon pie. We thought the meal was terrific and the service was good as well.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here so comments about rooms are only so survey would be recorded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigkidbigkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your meal at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
As a small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. We certainly look forward to serving you again!
Regards,

Management & Crew

“The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Clarenville does not have a restaurant that offers fine dining so we were happy to discover the Galley Restaurant. We were seated by a young server who obviously needed additional training and our actual server was sadly lacking in proper training as well. Our server was not at all familiar with the wine on their wine list, she didn't know how the steak listed on the menu was prepared, and was unsure of other menu items. We asked if the food was prepared by a chef and were met with a blank look. We chose the chef's selection as a starter which was a selection of "freshly prepared seafood" - most of which was either undercooked, charred or inedible. As a main I picked the cod - it arrived looking like cod that is purchased pre-battered and then deep fried - it too was not edible. My husband's main was a pasta dish which he did manage to eat but did not enjoy. We like to eat out and rarely complain about a meal, however, we did speak to the manager and were told there was a new "cook" in the kitchen. It may be a case of growing pains or of offering a menu that is too varied but we will not be eating there again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 159FernB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The motel was good but the room had a smell in it. We had trouble with the tv but the staff was very prompt to respond. the restaurant has very good food but closes at 8:00 so if you arrive late you will have to find another place to eat. The older section of the motel would be difficult for older people to get their luggage in as you have pull it up a small set of stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gtowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us.
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at The Galley Restaurant! All of our meals are prepared fresh and served with Traditional Newfoundland pride.
Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss any concerns you may have.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the Restland Motel for one night and found it rather dissapointing. That being said there are not many options in the Clarenville area.

Highlights
Laminate flooring
Convenient location
Fridge and coffee maker in room
Bar/Restaurant on site.
Nice scenery around hotel area
Computer in lobby area for use.


Lowlights
Walls paper thin. Could hear the bar/singing from 3 rooms away.
Could hear the person next door snoring.
Expensive for what you get.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank woodroffec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestlandMotel, General Manager at Restland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review of our business. As new owners of this small family business, customer satisfaction is our # 1 goal and your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Management Team toll free at 1-800-205-3993 and one of our friendly and professional staff will be happy to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Management & Crew

The Restland Motel & Suites, Galley Restaurant, Wheelhouse Pub & Eastern Edge Boat Tours - Food, Music, Family, Friends, Comfort & Tradition United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
1.5 km away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
139 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
155 reviews
30.0 km away
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restland Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restland Motel

Address: 262 Memorial Dr, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range: ₹ 7,469 - ₹ 8,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Restland Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership! 3.5 Star with Canada Select! Providing the little extras are standard at The Restland Motel. Our renovated rooms & suites are equipped with all standard amenities plus special amenities that bring comfort & pleasure to frequent travelers with custom needs. The Galley Restaurant features a menu of Newfoundland home style meals. Serving all day breakfast, wild game, fresh seafood along with tantalizing seasonal treats & daily specials including "JIGGS DINNER THURSDAYS! Room service, pub service & take out menu available. Seasonal Hours: May to October - 8am to 9pm, October to May - 10am to 8pm The Wheelhouse Pub is filled with cozy atmosphere. Offering VLT's & hosting OPEN MIC Thursdays, LIVE MUSIC Fridays & KARAOKE Saturdays. Enjoy an evening by the fireplace with drink specials all week long. Join our captain with over 30 years experience for an "EASTERN EDGE BOAT TOUR" filled with beautiful scenery and watch for Ice Bergs, Whales, Birds and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Restland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing