We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“neat place off the beaten path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Onancock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Onancock
Ranked #2 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“neat place off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have traveled down Rt. 13 in Virginia from Pa. on the way to my daughter's many times and have always wondered what lay off the main path. Recently we had an opportunity to see and stayed for a night at The Inn at Onancock. The sleepy little town was a delight and our visit to the inn was refreshing. We were greeted at the door with a chalkboard that had our name to welcomed us. Lisa showed us to our room and allowed us to check all the others as we were the fist to arrive. Each is decorated so interestingly to a theme of places they have stayed right down to the details of the doorknockers. We stayed in the Maine room, which encompassed the whole third floor under the eaves. The bathroom was absolutely luxurious with a jetted tub, tiled floor and walls, plenty of plush towels, a towel warmer and stocked with amenities. The kingsize bed was quite comfy, piled high with a featherbed topper and lots of comforters. This inn enjoys a "wine down" hour, tho we did not partake of that. We did however eat dinner at a quaint place on the wharf called Mallard's, that I'd recommend to everyone. Lisa's breakfast was a feast of fruit, a cheese, egg and ham strada baked inside a croissant and then there was dessert as well! It's a quiet getaway where you are pampered. So don't be afraid to take a trip off the main road, you'll be surprised.

Room Tip: The Maine room is the most spacious, tho all rooms are so well themed, choose your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaLady2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
128
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The service was excellent! We arrived by boat, and the LaMontagnes provided our transportation to and from their lovely inn. The whole environment was very relaxing and inviting -- we basked in the comfort of the downstairs (the den and parlor) as well as that of our room. Everything was immaculate. The ammenities are as described on the bedandbreakfast.com Website (some ammenities -- such as the towel-warmer, the bath robe, and the feather-topped bed -- are no doubt pluses for most people, however, they weren't necessarily for us). The bedrooms are very nice and the private adjoining bathrooms are quite spacious. The breakfast was very good; in addition to marketing her granola, I think Lisa should also market her delicious biscotti! Besides relaxing at the Inn, my favorite part of the stay was the "WineDown Hour" during which the LaMontagnes offered a nice selection of wines and cheese. As a cheese lover, I was especially impressed with the premiere cheeses they set out for us!

Room Tip: While all the bedrooms are lovely, my personal favorite (and the one I'd try for next time) is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rezuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
severna park.md
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

For those of you you in the hectic world of D.C., Baltimore or Richmond. Take a break from from weekending in Ocean City, Rehobeth, or Virginia Beach and CHILL. Experience the calm, serene Eastern Shore for a few days. Plan to do nothing and enjoy that forethought. Our hosts were the epitome of service with a wonderful laid back elegance. They get it!! The decor is elegant, thoughtful and importantly comfortable. Sleep in, but dont miss breakfast (REALLY). We enjoyed the post-breakfast nap ( No schedules). If afternoon napping is your style, dont miss the cheese and wine in the evening. Tell your hosts your style and let the friendly town do the rest. Five star all the way, close-by, value, comfort and we hope to return in the fall. (REALLY)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We don't stay at B&B's that often - but if they are all like the "Inn at Onancock" we'll never stay in another hotel.

From the moment we arrived it exceeded our expectations...from being greeted with a glass of wine (or two), fresh cheeses and host/hostesses out of this world...it was great! And they even served up 80 degree weather....how great is that!

The rooms are everything you see and more - as private as you want and need and luxurious to boot.

If you travel the Eastern Shore of Virginia by car or by boat, the Inn at Onancock is a must see and must visit....

Thanks to Kris and Lisa for a memorable experience - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvingtonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have stayed at many inns over the years and this is one of perhaps 10 inns that we would rate as "excellent." They do everything right. Accommodations are spaciouus, clean and comfortable (oh that bed!). Food is fantastic - Lisa is a master cook. This inn provides a "wine down" at 6:00 which is unique to most inns who only serve breakfast. The innkeeps are around if you have questions, but not in your face. And they are just friendly and fun. We very much enjoyed our stay and will return to explore more of the Eastern Shore of VA.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQueen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
40.0 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
22.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
20.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
3.6 km away
Shore Lodge
Shore Lodge
#1 of 3 in Onley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
39.4 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Onancock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Onancock

Property: The Inn at Onancock
Address: 30 North St, Onancock, VA 23417-1920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,787 - ₹ 13,742
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Onancock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience refined relaxation at a premier bed and breakfast on Virginia's eastern shore. Every room at The Inn at Onancock boasts updated private en suite bathrooms, feather-topped beds dressed in freshly pressed 1000-thread count luxury linens, full gourmet breakfasts & our signature Wine Down Hour offering select wines and Inn-made hors d'oeuvres, but more importantly, a time to sit together and visit with new friends. The Inn is located within historic downtown with restaurants for every taste, art and antique shops, and the deep-water wharf that provides immediate access to the Bay. Central air and free WiFi is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Onancock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing