We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming House - Beautiful Town”
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Back porch Sitting/Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Back porch
Sitting/Lounge Area
Kitchen.JPG
Dinette Area
Upper Level Queen Bedroom
Lower Level Queen Bedroom
Main bathroom.JPG
Laundry Facilities
Nearby beach
Long Point Lighthouse
Hamlyn's Hill.JPG
Iceberg...No1
Local fishing stages
Fall storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Twillingate, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica B
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tight Quarters but Suited our Needs”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights at this vacation home recently - we were a family of 6. The house had the right number of bedrooms and bathrooms but being an old home, the rooms were quite tight and because of only 1 couch and 1 chair in the living room couldn't all sit together in the evening without having to pull in chairs from the kitchen.

The upstairs bedrooms that are doubles would probably be better off as twin / single rooms.

The location is pretty good but it's not actually seaside - there is a garage of the house next door blocking most of the view. It is, however, walking distance to the seaside. It's in a residential area and not terribly private but for a place to lay your head it was sufficient.

I loved the story about the man who lived there - a copy of his book is in the house and I wish that they had a few copies to offer for sale - would have been a great keepsake.

Because the house is old, like I noted above, the bedrooms are tiny and also the floors slope, the ceilings are VERY low. My son who is not yet 6' had to duck upstairs in a few places and showering was difficult for him because the spout came out at about shoulder height - but these things add to the charm and aren't deal breakers. The kitchen had everything you need except for a bottle opener (had a wine opener but nothing to take the top off a beer bottle). Short on counter space so if you plan on cooking large meals be prepared to use the kitchen table as counter space.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.

Sorry to read that your stay at Storyteller's was not a positive one.

Storyteller's is a Newfoundland "Salt Box" style home in excess of 100 years old. We did invest considerably to meet the requirements of a 4 star vacation home. However, we were limited with what we could do with room sizes/etc without altering the structural design of the "Salt Box" style which most visitors enjoy.

By the positive comments that visitors continue to write in the guest book, most of our guests are quite pleased with what we offer.

I am still hopeful that you did see some positive during your stay.

Again, thank you for your review.

Have a nice day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madalin13
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming House - Beautiful Town”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, mother-in-law and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Ford and Deborah's rental home in Crowe Head, Twillingate. The house is very charming and absolutely spotless. A gift basket was left for us with home made muffins and jam as well as juice. The kitchen was well supplied and we took advantage of having a home cooked meal while there. We also took advantage of the laundry facilities as we got to see first hand what the tail end of a tropical storm looks like. The Sharpe's have great binder of useful information about the local restaurants and tours. I wouldn't hesitate returning or recommending this house to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House has been recently renovated and was very well presented.
Liked least: Main bedroom had a very squeaky bed frame.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you and your family had a positive experience during your stay at Storyteller's Retreat.

The "Welcome Basket" is something that we decided to do in 2014, to show appreciation to our guests for choosing Storyteller's as part of their vacation....Our guests seem to appreciate it.

Again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Have a nice day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tousim09
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, felt like home”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Storyteller's retreat. The fully equipped kitchen was put to use, as were the washing machine and dryer.

Each couple was pleased to have their private bathroom and there is ample space for everyone.

The view and location are excellent, with beautiful day walks accessible from the door (Sleepy cove to Lower head).

We would recommend this vacation rental to family or friends without hesitation. Booking was simple and efficient, so were checking in and out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Storyteller's Retreat and your vacation time in Twillingate as well.

More and more visitors are visiting Twillingate each year now and couples travelling together like the option of staying together in one place and Storyteller's can provide that.

A number of our guests do take advantage of the kitchen for home cooked meals as well as the Washer & Dryer for laundry requirements. We are happy to provide that service.

Should you decide to visit again in the future, we would be happy to accommodate you.

Have a nice day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotty093
brantford
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a great spot!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is located in Crow Head, about 10 min from Twillingate. We sat on the porch and had drinks while watching the icebergs in the cove right in front of the cottage! 3 couples shared the house and there was ample room. It is close to some excellent hiking trails (lighthouse) and you can walk to the community center to see the dinner theatre (which is a must!). One of my favourite spots on a 2 week tour of NFLD.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Storytellers Retreat.
The hiking is also an added bonus for travellers to the area.
Hope you will refer us to friends and family. It was a pleasure having you stay.
Thanks Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleone...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for in a home.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a fantastic house to stay in. Very clean and welcoming. We had a view of the ocean with ice bergs right from our kitchen and upstairs bedroom windows. It was everything we were looking for and more.
We will be coming back and looking forward to staying at the Storytellers Retreat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thanks for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed your stay @ Storytellers Retreat.and saw some Icebergs. Hope you get to return in the future.
Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing