We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Family Tale”
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Back porch Sitting/Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
STORYTELLER'S RETREAT
Back porch
Sitting/Lounge Area
Kitchen.JPG
Dinette Area
Upper Level Queen Bedroom
Lower Level Queen Bedroom
Main bathroom.JPG
Laundry Facilities
Nearby beach
Long Point Lighthouse
Hamlyn's Hill.JPG
Iceberg...No1
Local fishing stages
Fall storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Twillingate, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ed L
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Family Tale”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent two nights at the Storytellers Retreat as an extended family (kids/parents/grandparents) and had a fabulous time. The location is ideal with access to a pebble beach and walking distance to the 'All Around The Circle' dinner theatre and the Long Point Lighthouse. The bedrooms are somewhat small but ample for sleeping. The kitchen is well equipped, allowing us to prepare a few meals on-site. Make sure to read some of the book about Mr. Sharpe who spent his entire life in the house and tells about what it was like to grow up in Twilingate. A definite recommendation if you are travelling to Twilingate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small shower on main floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thanks for the review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbonear
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Value
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thanks for your comments. so glad everything was satisfactory.
Hope you return again sometime.
Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maritimet...
new brunswick
2 reviews
“Buyer beware.”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I reserved this house for 3 of us via telephone and was given the price on the phone. But when we arrived the price was different, and higher obviously. There is no worse experience than being quoted one price and charged another.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
When you booked we were of the understanding that you required 2 rooms. But when you arrived you wanted 3 rooms. That is why there was a change in the price. Our base price includes 2 Queen rooms and the entire house. Should you want an additional room there is a extra $40 charge per night,.
I hope this explains the situation.
Thanks Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladybug12...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed 20 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Storytellers Retreat. It was the perfect spot to explore Twillingate. The house was very clean and well maintained. It was a typically cozy outport house in the pretty community of Crow Head. The beds were extremely comfortable. The linens and towels provided were excellent quality. I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean in an upstairs bedroom. Fantastic!!! It was well equipped with everything we needed including WiFi. We could walk to two beaches and a new coffee shop that sold terrific fair trade coffee - a very nice surprise. Overall, a great experience and my family and I would stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds and linens.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thank you for your lovely remarks. So glad you enjoyed your stay @ Storytellers Retreat. Hope you get a chance to return someday.
Thanks Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby Ontario Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thanks for your very nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the view. Hope you get a chance to return again sometime.
It is indeed a pleasure hosting guest such as yourself.
Thanks Deborah & Ford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing