We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Stunning Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MrsGreedy...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Cottage”
Reviewed 16 November 2019 for a stay in November 2019

We stayed here for a long weekend. Had an amazing time. The cottage is stunning and has everything you can think off. You literally just turn up with clothes and food. Everything else is there including robes, bath towels, tea towels and all the clean equipment. My little boy loved the games, jigsaw puzzles and colouring.

We have already booked for our summer holiday next year.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
557christ...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A really wonderful relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019
3
people found this review helpful

My father, husband and I have just come back from a wonderful week staying in this barn conversion on a working farm and none of us wanted to leave I can tell you.
Joy & Rod are both such lovely, friendly and kind people and honestly cannot do enough for you.
The accommodation is so well equipped, that you need not take much with you at all which is brilliant.
The beds are extremely comfortable and the whole layout of the place is spacious and so clean.
We walked in and were shown around by Joy, who made sure we knew exactly where everything was and how it worked.
The welcome goodybag was such a lovely touch and a really nice start to our first evening there.
We thoroughly enjoyed the fresh chicken eggs from their chickens with our morning breakfasts and evening omelettes.
We were also privileged enough to try some duck eggs as well, which were just as lovely.
Rod kindly introduced us to his animals, as I asked, which was one big plus of staying on a farm,
We saw the baby calves and lambs as well as the ducks, chickens and friendly farm cats, which will welcome you at the back door each morning.
Having the hot tub was so nice after you had been out for a day trip or a long walk. We would just sit back and relax our muscles which was a lovely end to each day.
The underfloor heating that warms the whole place is really good, we were warm and snug the whole week we there and it was lovely under foot too.
There are so many things about this property which are lovely, the quality of furniture, extremely well equipped kitchen and attention to detail right through is brilliant.

There are many places to see around the area but I would recommend:-

-Sculptureheaven, a really lovely little place to visit and their cakes and cordials are wonderful.
-Cenarth falls just round the corner, you can enjoy a lunch & drink in the pub opposite or a nice ice cream from the little gift shop, while taking a walk down the side of the river listening to the water rumbling over the stones.
-Cardigan coastal farm park is a great place to visit if you have children to see the farm animals but even for us, just to enjoy the coastal walk above and watch the Seals bobbing their heads up above the water and if you are lucky, a dolphin too.
-Visit Caws Cenarth cheese farm and watch through windows into the factory as they make the cheese, separating the curds and whey and then by hand, putting the curds into the cheese moulds. Then walk across to the shop for some tastings, you can't help come away with bags of cheese, it's lovely.
-The National Wool Museum just around the corner is quite interesting as well and worth a visit.
We also visited a Goldmine, a Waterfall and a Coal mine, which were further afield but all really good too.

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
april-loo...
Welton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 28 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Just had our second holiday in this delightful luxury cottage. Still a perfect escape from the real world with internet just incase you need to keep in contact. Sitting in the hot tub whilst it was snowing was a great experience. clean and very well maintained this cottage is warm and you don't really need the fire but for effect. Thank you Joy and Rod for creating this great cottage.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwaboy66
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Holiday stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Myself and my partner Caroline stayed here for a week in November. Both Rod and Joy made us welcome from the start. The accommodation was superb clean and woderfully decorated. Although on a working farm that did not disturb the peace and relaxation we enjoyed whilst we were there. Even though we had to cut short our holiday due to unforseen circumstances both Rod and Joy were very understanding and couldn't do enough for us a truly wonderful couple and I thank them both immensely.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielleh...
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5th visit in four years”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I believe my title says it all.
Having come back to Yr Hen Llaethdy five times in four years we clearly love this slice of Welsh heaven.
Joy and Rod are extremely welcoming, the little personal touches to the cottage make the stay.
The gift bag of sweets, jams and little presents for our children was perfect.
We had a Chinese from the Super Garden in town, which was amazing and a must have.
We visited Pen Y Bryn beach twice and highly recommend it.
We will most definitely be returning.
Massive thumbs up to Joy and Rod for all their hard work they put in to make Yr Hen Llaethdy a home from home.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing