We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Day - No Turkey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
ScouserinCrete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas Day - No Turkey!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having taken the trouble to book our family Christmas lunch at the Hotel - arriving at 2pm - following late service of starters and soup course - when the family went to the Buffet for their dinner - there was no Turkey - the vegetable choice was extremely poor - and then the lights were switched off. The meal had been paid for in advance - something I will never do anywhere again as the Hotel have refused to return our payment - they have offered non-financial compensation - but I refuse to pay for poor service. Extremely poor response from a once fabulous hotel! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finabiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear fianbiuk
We are extremely disappointed that following our numerous communications with you since Christmas we have been unable to reach a satisfactory conclusion to this matter.
During our investigations we took the opportunity to contact all diners including those who dined with us during the final sittings at around 2.30pm. As we have maintained all along, we did not run out of Turkey on the day.
As you are aware we offered you a choice of goodwill gesture in an attempt to bring the matter to a close. While the dates have now past we are happy to leave our offer open until the end of 2012.
We sincerely hope you will re-consider our offer.
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    245
    183
    62
    46
See reviews for
104
203
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a group and can honestly find nothing good to say about it apart from Craig and Karin on the bar they were fantastic! Food was cold undercooked and took 1hr and 20 mins to be served a drink with dinner took 15 mins, definatly wouldn't stay or recommend to anyone again! The only positive was leaving

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Craig2908,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular your dining experience, I will be discussing this issue with our Head Chef at today’s management meeting.
I am delighted that you found Craig and Karin to be fantastic and will be passing your praise onto them both.
We really do appreciate all comments both positive and negative as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Yours Sincerely
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Runcorn hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we held a party for friends, two weeks later my wife and i had booked in for a valentines dinner, but had to cancell on the day. One of our friends has left us some gifts to be put in our room. as we did not attend these giftes went missing. first staff said the gifts were not left, yet with cctv we proved they had been delivered, then one of the staff told our friend they had eaten the chocolates but did not know what had happened to the wine. the hotel did nothing to replace the gifts or to compensate. would not trust the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear RayW
I would like to start by expressing how truly appauled I am after reading your review regarding your experience with us. I have been the General Manager here now for four months and as this incident was just under 12 months ago now and I am finding it a little difficult to investigate. Would it be possible for you to call my PA Donna Albiston on 01928 754850 and offer some more information in order for us to conduct a full investigation.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

went for creamfields in 2011 and stayed at this hotel,the hotel is lovely .
The rooms were really comfortable and clean
this hotel is about a 7-10 min taxi ride to the festival which made the experience even better because you could come back to a nice room and a really nice bar as well

for all the people going for creamfields ,this is a very good option

Stayed August 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloclwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear cloclwork
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn whilst you were attending Creamfields.
It looks like you travelled quite a distance to attend the event and we are delighted that we catered for your needs during your trip and that you found that the rooms were comfortable and clean.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I live in Florida and made a prepaid reservation for this hotel.
When I checked in, the agent confirmed that the reservation was prepaid in full.
When I went to check out two days later I was told that everything was taken care of.
Soon after I got home I see a charge on my credit card for 50 British Pounds from this hotel.
I called Holiday Inn customer service here in the U.S. (because the hotel charges for incoming calls to the front desk), they agreed that the charge was erroneous and were very quick to help out.
Here is where the scam comes in, the hotel charged my card in British Pounds but did the refund in U.S. dollars leaving me to pay the $5 difference for their supposed error!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
3.4 km away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
4.3 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
2.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,811 - ₹ 9,882
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing