We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub - Bad Hotel room with bed mites”
Review of The King William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King William
Ranked #5 of 7 Wilmslow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed here on a business trip as it was conveniently located and reasonably cheap to book a room. It's a traditional style pub with very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. No issues on that front.
The accommodation is cosy but basic and expectedly so for the price. The room was clean in appearance as was the ensuite bathroom.
However, the toilet made loud gurgling and pumping noises every time you flushed it and the lack of any secondary glazing on the windows kept me awake all night with the vehicles trundling by outside.
To make matters worse I was bitten all over my arms and back by bed mites.
Sadly, I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the main road - if there is such a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D, Owner at The King William, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Following your comments regards mites we have investigated yet found no evidence in the room. However as a precaution we have a arranged pest control for the room to be
treated.
we are also undertaking some measures to help soundproofing of the room.

Should you have any further questions or comments please contact us at info@kingwilliam.pub.

Best regards

Mr P Dawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a stopover to Manchester airport . Really cheap rate at £59 . Rooms basic but clean and very comfy bed . Shower was very small I don't know how my husband managed to stand up in it but being 5ft2 I was fine. Disaster in the morning no hairdryer in the room and no one around to ask for one, had to travel to Milan with curly hair !
Great food I had the haloumi salad and my husband had seafood. All very tasty and reasonably priced.
Welcoming pub in spite of the England result !

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

A great welcome to start with, the room is ensuite, beds are immaculate, the food is excellant, good english pub grub!! £14 from manchester airport. I will def stay again the room was £59 per night, great carpark if your driving. Rooms all above the pub but still quiet and respectable area

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank sasha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Under new management. Landlord lovely and chatty. We were the only people in!! The place has been nicely cleaned and de cluttered. Feels much lighter and fresher. I know they are not happy with their menu and are doing their best to get customers in. Shame it was so empty. Wishing them every success.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rekemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Popped in on a sunny Sunday with our young baby. Decided to make the most of the sun and sat in the small beer garden at the rear although the inside looked nice and cosy. We both enjoyed our lunch of pies with chips and mushy peas. Food was absolutely delicious and we both cleared our plates. Also found room for dessert and the portions were generous. Great value and will definitely visit again. Although we had pies the other dishes on the menu looked delicious, especially the interesting salads which we want to try on our next visit. Not your usual boil in the bag pub grub!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Cosmeston30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
0.7 km away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
386 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.5 km away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.9 km away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
3.4 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King William? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King William

Address: 35 Manchester Road, Wilmslow SK9 1BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmslow
Price Range: ₹ 4,930 - ₹ 5,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King William 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The King William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing