We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly & inviting pub with great food”
Review of The Hornbrook

The Hornbrook
Ranked #29 of 173 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 19
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We were in the area so decided to stop here for lunch. The pub was fully booked but there were tables outside under the heaters which were lovely. Staff were really friendly and there is a varied menu to choose from. We went for thecheese & bacon burger, chicken caesar burger and fish and chips. We did wait quite a while for a food which we were surprised at as having eaten here before it's always been ready in half an hour. Other people's food was turning up before our so we did unfortunately have to go and chase. Food arrived about 8 minutes later and was lovely. Burgers were cooked to perfection, fish was a good size. Only problem with the chicken burger was that it was two fillets so there was no way you could pick it up and eat it. The mayo in the burger was lacking the "caesar" flavouring which was a shame but was still lovely.
We will be back and next time I'll remember to book a table!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank crowie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Hornbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We've been visiting here for over a year now. On our first visit the staff made us feel so welcome. The pub and toilets were immaculate and the food was excellent. Not once have we ever found the Hornbrook to be any different. Aiden and Miranda are excellent at their jobs and never fail to accommodate us. Thanks guys for running a great place.

1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Hornbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Beer good, food very good, staff great. There was a pleasant atmosphere, also it was very clean including the toilets. We will be back again.

1  Thank Garyhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Hornbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We dropped in here for a quick dinner, but were lucky enough to get an order in just before the kitchen closed (8.30pm). We had :
- tiger prawn starter to share - 4 x tiger prawns - difficult to shell and no hand washing bowl provided, but the garlic prawns were tasty enough
- vegetable mix as a main - good
- confit of duck - with assorted vegetables and mash - satisfied me
- glass of rioja and glass of pinot grigio
This is a lovely pub restaurant with a good atmosphere, but the pricing of the food is a little on the expensive side for what you're actually getting. I guess gastro pubs have now found a way to maximise the profits on their food sales. I like this palce but it is pricey for what you get. Mildly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank macrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Hornbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Great specials board but the menu choice was fab too. My spiced hake was served on a bed of garlic butter spinach with pan fried potatoes. Yummy!
No room for pudding but good choice of teas and coffees. Looking forward to an evening meal there soon.

1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Hornbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hornbrook also viewed

Horsham, Horsham District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Horsham, Horsham District
 
Horsham, Horsham District
Horsham, Horsham District
 

Been to The Hornbrook? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing