We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hope & Anchor Inn

The Hope & Anchor Inn
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Goole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hull
1 review
“My Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

As a birthday treat we went for an early evening meal, as usual it did not disappoint. We were welcomed by Eddie as we arrived, the service was prompt, the staff as always pleasant and helpful. My husband had the steak pie , which was excellent and I chose the seafood platter. The variety of fish was good and all cooked beautifully in a light crispy batter and the salad was so well presented, with a great variety of ingredients, it looked almost too pretty to eat. For dessert my husband chose the raspberry trifle which was rather large but he had no difficulty in devouring it, on being informed that profiteroles were one of the specials, I had no hesitation in choosing that option, it was "Chocolate Heaven". The setting of the pub is superb, we booked a table in the conservatory and enjoyed watching the marsh harriers flying over the river. We have been visiting here for many years and will continue to do so as long as this high standard continues. Compliments to the chef and all the staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak Pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first visit after being recommended it by friends. We didn't book and got a table immediately - although it was busy so probably booking would be recommended. We had the steak pie which was very tasty and the portions were good. The staff were friendly and the service was good, we had to wait a little for the food but this is absolutley no problem as the food was fresh and tasty. We will definately be going again and will try a sweet next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Going back soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have visited and it did not disappoint. I visited last Saturday with family including young baby, staff very attentive and friendly, food was great (9 yr old daughter loved the mussels). We love the location, the staff, the food and the ale! Give it a go.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“you,d better book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

well this is getting boring reviewing this pub again,but when you find a place this good it needs to be shouted from the rooftops for all to enjoy, i,m amazed at the number of folk who come in and expect a table on chance ,yes they will try to accommodate
them,but you should book a table to guarantee a feast !we have now booked a table perminently every week and just ring and cancel if we cant make it.tables outside on the river bank,gets really busy in summer !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gilberdyke1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“spot on !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

firstly may i remark on a previuos reveiw (debbie), as a frequent visitor to the hope and anchor i assure you,you will find no thai curry on the menu ! never has been ! i think you may have confused this establishment with another in the next village in which case i think you should offer an apology .visited on sunday 4th dec and can honestly say the standards have never been below first class, every time we go you see a lot of familiar faces which in my mind speak volumes,carry on the good work hope and anchor !

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilberdyke1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hope & Anchor Inn also viewed

Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hope & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing