We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Briarcroft

The Briarcroft
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Briarcroft
Ranked #1 of 10 Goole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Really close to town, very clean & tidy. Staff were ever so nice. I wish I had stayed for more than one night and will be going back. Breakfast has to be one of the best I have had and it was served in a really lovely room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were visiting friends in the area and this is a nice friendly hotel. Its close to the town, but still in a nice quiet area. The rooms are neat and clean, the staff are helpful and the place just has a relaxed feel to it. Much nicer than big, faceless hotels. Recommended :o)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orangewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I booked my stay and later the same day had to cancel it. There was no refund which I was ok with but the hotel refused to send me a receipt. I have no idea why but this created problems with company expenses.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Bus_iness042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarcroft, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2011

The guest made a non-refundable pre-payment booking through a third party online booking agent over which we have little control. However when the guest requested a copy of the receipt we obtained one from the agent and FAXED it to him (our fax log will verify this). We have NEVER refused to supply copies of receipts to anyone. His statement is untrue and therfore violates TRIPADVISOR rules however they have refused to remove it, thus proving how open to abuse their system is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We were greeted in the reception area with a welcoming smile. We were shown to our room a family room at the top of the building, Its one of the best family rooms we have stayed in as the childs room was a proper room, within our room,( not a made up sofa bed next to your bed!). A good selection of hot drinks to make and lovely biscuits too!
The ensuite bathroom was nice and clean with a bath and a shower. And the most lovely soft and fluffy towels we have ever had in a hotel. The breakfast was cooked to order, so it was lovely and fresh. We used this hotel as a base as we were visiting friends in the local area. But most certainly we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This is a no frills travelling contractors guest house. The room was clean and the ensuite was good. The guest house has a lot of notices about 'extra guests' and CCTV which gives an atmosphere not usually experienced elsewhere. Goole is not a tourist destination and the area where the hotel is located is frequented by teenage hoodies. The best place to eat in Goole is the Weatherspoons in the town centre.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
5  Thank KatyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarcroft, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

There are NO notices refering to 'extra guests' however there are TWO notices which advise customers that CCTV is in operation, this is required by law. There are plenty of good places to eat in and around Goole. The Guest House is located on a quiet residential street, and during the past 12 years of ownership we have not known it to be frequented by ' hoodies'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goole hotels
0.9 km away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#3 of 3 in Goole
25 reviews
1.1 km away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
149 reviews
4.9 km away
The Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
The Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Rawcliffe Bridge
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
The Downe Arms
The Downe Arms
#2 of 2 in Snaith
29 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
8.2 km away
The Bay Horse Cowick
The Bay Horse Cowick
#8 of 10 in Goole
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briarcroft? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briarcroft

Address: 51 Clifton Gardens, Goole DN14 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Goole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goole
Price Range: ₹ 5,406 - ₹ 5,835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briarcroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Briarcroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing