We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Visit”

Battle Axes Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Elstree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have just come back from having enjoyed a truly delicious lunch meal at The Battle Axes. I had two very tasty sea bass fillets which came with baby roasted potatoes and wilted spinach and my husband enjoyed a very large Fish & Chip meal with mushy peas. Thank you Many for such great service as always. We always enjoy our visits to your lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Peggy thank you for your review your have to come and try the new menu in a couple of weeks look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Me and a friend popped in for dinner, and where served by two older lady's who are fun and friendly, we have been looked after by them before and can happily say they work amazingly well together, we got drinks and ordered food, it was hot and tasty, all capped of by coffee, and a great atmosphere, always a firm favourite here

    • Service
    • Food
Thank jilll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Jill thank you for your review great to hear you had a good time look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Ok hands up I was on a date, and it clearly showed, the lady who looked after us all the way through the evening was great, even helped break the ice between us, my date also commented on how she made her more relaxed, great news that we will both return there again to enjoy another meal for another date

Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Gary thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great family environment with good service & good food. Would definately visit here again. Very nice location. All of the family enjoyed our time here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank picklelou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

when we arrived .we sat down and expected at least a smile from the waitress.no chance you could see she did not want to be here.she brought a bottle of wine over.she did not open it .just put it on the table.and walked off .when the food arrived .it turned out to be the scraps of a roast dinner.i imagine because it was 6 ocklock .and it was just the left overs i imagine.very little meat .so will definately nt be revisiting

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi John thank you for your review I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meals with us I did apologise to you in person but I once again am sincerely sorry about your dining experience and hope you will give us another chance in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battle Axes Restaurant also viewed

Elstree, Hertfordshire
Elstree, Hertfordshire
 
Bushey, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Barnet, Greater London
 

Been to Battle Axes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing