We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of Africa in the sunshine of England” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chessington Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A piece of Africa in the sunshine of England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Chessington resort hotel and were really happy with everything.
The hotel was clean, with happy friendly staff and is absolutely beautiful with it's decor and African theme.
We booked one of the African family rooms as a surprise for our 11 year old daughter and she loved it. She had her own amazing little hide away for the night with a treasure chest full of goodies, two beds to choose from and her own TV for the evening. She was really delighted and the room itself was great. Myself and my husband had a double bed in a spacious part of the room and everywhere was clean and tidy.
The restaurant was good with a nice range of food and breakfast was buffet and you could ask the chef if something you wanted want there (although we were happy with what was there anyway).
We would definitely recommend a stay at the hotel, the on site animals are a fantastic added bonus to see in the evening....a real touch of Africa in sunny England!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    549
    272
    147
    124
See reviews for
1,209
103
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as a family of 4 as we went to chessington world of adventures for 2 days. The hotel was good, clean and the room we had was nice to. The only bad thing about the room was we didn't get a room with a view as we were facing the car park but it didn't really matter.
We used the swimming pool in the early evening which was good although I thought the pool would of been bigger but there was a steam room and sauna if you wanted to use it but we didn't because of the kids.
In our package that we paid there was breakfast included which was good and I will describe how it was in another review of the restaurant, but we still had to eat for dinner. The menu was okay for the evening meal but two really bad points were 1. Not a lot of choice for the children, ok if they liked sausages, pasta, burger but thought they could of had a bit more variety. 2. Expensive!!!! The cost of the meals were expensive and considering we are spending a lot on the park ie meals during day, and goodies and toys and drinks, which were all more expensive because it was the parks prices we didn't expect to pay a lot for evening meal so advice would be eat something hot in the park before hotel or do what we did and as we had a hot meal at lunch we popped down to a local Tesco express and got some sandwiches.
Overall good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leechar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back. We are launching new restaurant menus next week. Kids meals will be £4.95 for a main course, £6.95 for 2 courses and £8.50 for 3 courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for a second time at this hotel over the Easter holidays. Because all the family rooms are booked up, we opted to upgrade to the Wanyama Reserve View Room. Not really worth the extra £30 as reported in other reports. Like the others, I think this is an afterthought. Why oh why would you put full length windows on the side that faces the carpark and half windows on the ones facing the safari reserve? Kids need to stand on a chair to see out of the window and even then, they could only see a couple of ostriches and perhaps 1-2 zebras if the timing is right.

Otherwise, the themeing at the rest of the hotel is nice with Giraffe sculptures. Beds are comfortable and room is very clean. Having the childrens bed to one side with their own tv is very good.

We had lunch at the Zafari Grill. The maitre'd was a little rude - we waited for some time to place our orders. Called a waitress over and she approached the particular maitre'd who was clearing a table to say that we are ready to order. He totally ignored us, taking his time to clear the table and it was not until a full 10 minutes before he sauntered over to take our orders.

I have a Gold IHG Business Club which should give us a 25% discount on food and beverages. I politely asked about this; to which the reply yes, but not for the £10 meal deal since it was so cheap already and we couldn't get it so cheap at Holiday Inn. A rude and disappointing response.

Luckily our food was served by a lovely waiter but when we settled the bill, he said they didn't recognise the IHG Business Club discount; although they are part of the IHG group.

Other than that, the stay was pleasant. Staff at reception were friendly and the small shop, which is a new addition, is a nice place to buy small souvenirs and sweeties. In previous stay, we had a good time at the Wii room (at an extra charge), the night film and the animal encounter.

Do take advantage of the 30min. early access. You get special early rider bands. The day we were there - we had access to the Kobra and Dragon Fury which was great. we managed to get walk on rides on these before the queues built up. They do let other people into the park but they could not get onto the rides

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank your for your review. Unfortunately due to the weather I think some of the animals have been staying inside a bit more recently. We are glad to hear you took advantage of so much that the Resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for the weekend as a late birthday present for our children. Unfortunately my son was ill the day before we were due to come so we tried delaying our stay but unfortunately because it was so close to the date we were due to arrive we couldn't change without losing our money, fair enough I guess. Anyhow we arrived late in the afternoon on the Saturday, my husband took our daughter into Chessington, I stayed in the hotel with my son, hoping he would feel better.

Our family room was lovely, bigger than I expected and they had even moved us to a room with a partial view, even though we hadn’t paid for this. We ordered room service, which I have to say wasn't great in the fact that the food took much longer to arrive than we had been told it would, but the food quality was good enough when it eventually did come.

The swimming pool was small but we liked it, even though it did smell very chlorinated, it was hardly surprising with the amount of children staying at the hotel. The staff here were very helpful if you had any questions.

The breakfast buffet was very good, the kids enjoyed helping themselves and the view from here was good too.

We will definitely try and come back as overall we had a really good time.

Room Tip: If you can pay extra for a room with a view. Book a table at the restaurant as soon as you get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panda in paisley
Level Contributor
210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went with the family to this hotel and asked for adjoining rooms. Was shown a room which faced a massive metal building belonging to chessingtom park. There was also a massive air conditioning unit which you could heard humming away. I asked for a front room and was told none available. I was shown another room which was just a few doors down from the original which I refused saying I would settle with the rooms I had. The receptionist had stupidly released one of the rooms and was occupied by another guest. I was completely enraged to be told they had two rooms available facing the front. Felt the Dinning room was understaffed and i overheard a guest complain about a hair in her food. It was also a bit pricey. Breakfast was basic buffet but empty tables were left uncleaned. I would definitely recommend you request a front facing room and we found out later you can get into the park 30 min before it opens. It is very limited to what rides you can go on but it was a nice touch but again could have been longer. They do close the door on time so you cannot be late. The pool was fine but kids had to be out by a certain time. Overall 2 day break was nice due to the front facing room. Oh and a positive they have ice machines on each floor.

Room Tip: Pre book any front facing room. Make sure you are not late for the early entry to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the hotel was a good place for a family stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#147 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,039 - ₹ 17,124
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing