We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible on all levels”

Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Castleford
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: New pub built last 6 months
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having spent over £50 on lunch for three which was mostly inedible we all had fish and the beer batter as so thick it was like chewing on wood with no fish to be found, plus the chips were mush inside, obviously cheap frozen, I feel disappointed and ripped off
But the worst thing was for my mum who is in a wheel chair, once she got into the dining room could not get out because wheel chair access had not been allowed for, I had to request that a member of staff to ask other diners also in wheel chairs to move just to allow her to go to the toilet.
As for the male member of staff who just wondered around the place asking if the customers were alright but taking no notice of what they said to him, I am still trying to figure out what exactly he was doing?
A truly terrible experience I will never repeat, all at the cost of £50 I will never see again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dddd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodFarmPub, Manager at Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We would like to apologize about your resent visit if you would like to speak to a manager regarding this our contact number is 01977 604849


Kind regards
Birchwoodfarm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We all had the carvary, wouldn’t pay what they charge on a Sunday though, food was hot and the gravy was lovely, but the plates are small compared to Toby which is a much better carvary. Was ok for a lunch time catch up with friends though, all though was rather noisy at times, but that’s not the pubs fault, it’s the people there!

Thank Curvymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodFarmPub, Manager at Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback we do hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards
Birchwoodfarm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location food and staff was all excellent will be returning again. Waitress Chloe was very pleasant see you again soon.

Thank Niall20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodFarmPub, Manager at Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, glad to here you enjoyed your resent visit and hope to see you soon.


Kind regards
Birchwoodfarm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Birchwood Farm is a pub and dining experience suitable for all.

We to popped in for a bite to eat for Lunch. The are staff there all very attentive and helpful.

We both chose to have Gammon, Pineapple, egg, chips and peas.

The portion was just right and very tasty.
Also very good value for money for only £8.99

I would recommend a visit to anyone.
Excellent ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank cabrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodFarmPub, Manager at Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your amazing review! we will look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kind regards
Birchwoodfarm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Birchwood Farm this morning for the breakfast. As we arrived there was a big sign outside saying unlimited breakfast available until 11am. Now don’t get me wrong we arrived at 10:30 so only half an hour left of serving. We went to be served by a lady called Ann Marie who explained that the unlimited breakfast was just about to be taken off and was charged £6.99 the standard rate for the unlimited breakfast. My partner and my self went up to the counter and well...... weatherspoons two mins down the road would have been better value. Like I said she stated that they where taking off breakfast but the choice was terrible for what we paid. There was a few to nothing left and very annoyed that we was not only charged the same price if there was a full selection but not told how little was left even when ordering! Even the beans that another member of staff went into the back to get was tepid warm.

Can only say I did rate you as a good pub with good food and reasonably priced my view has now changed and not for the better.

If you had been honest in the beginning we would have re thought our purchase.

Thank Becki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodFarmPub, Manager at Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We would like to apologize about your resent visit if you would like speak to a member of management our contact number is 01977 604849

Kind regards
Birchwoodfarm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Birchwood Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing