We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Chippery

The Chippery
Ranked #13 of 21 Quick Bites in Blackburn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Food was good, fresh & hot. Staff are friendly & service good. Would recommend for a quick bite, nice place for a sit in snack.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kmackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The chippery in Blackburn always serves beautiful fresh food with excellent menu we eat here on a regular basis and find it immaculately clean with very friendly staff wholeheartedly recommended, whether it's a omelette , fish and chips or even a jacket potato the standard is always consistently high

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Just had a family lunch here...its a chip shop, so we weren't expecting gourmet, but we were still dissapointed.

We ordered four meals, but only three were brought to the table as they had forgotten the jacket potato and chilli con carne...more on this later.

Meal one was a chip butty...not much to spoil and the chips were nicely browned. However this was spoilt by the addition of ketchup...a cheap and nasty offering disguised by the fact that it had been decanted into a Heinz ketchup bottle.

Meal two was a cheese and ham toasty , served with what I would describe as a quarter of a portion of chips and the smallest side salad I've ever seen. The toasty itself was described as bland and tasteless.

Meal three was a sweet chilli chicken panini...again served with the same meagre portion of chips and side salad. The chicken appeared home cooked, but was overdone and dry. No evidence of sweet chilli sauce could be tasted at all on this panini, making it a very bland chicken sandwich.

Back to the jacket potato, which was now ready after having been microwaved. It was served just. As the rest of our family finished eating, with the same meagre salad and chilli sauce, the type usually served on kebabs and not chilli con carne as advertised on the menu...

Stick to chips if you visit...or avoid and spend your hard earned cash elsewhere and get a meal that you can enjoy.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

It's always be known for being basic, but at least the chips were good, but my last visit is just that because aside from being somewhere I would not want to sit in to eat, the service was miserable and the chips were so awful i threw them in the bin.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

The Chippery used to have an amazing delivery service with amazing food, but recently, the lettuce has been black. It's disgusting and I now feel sick.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chippery also viewed

Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to The Chippery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing