We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$82
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
$81
View deal
Priceline$82
FindHotel
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
8
31
32
35
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
31
32
35
75
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

1970s layout and decor with lots of paint
Terrible service
Unable to communicate with either Booking.com or Calvert’s management
Loosing over £200
Please do not book here - dated is understatement - lots of other places to stay with a better layout and staff
Only good part is it’s local to town centre- it needs knocking down.

Room tip: Don’t go here - don’t use Booking.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PaulVarney1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Well, this place is just dreadful. Having stayed in the Travel lodge the previous night, this was about as far removed as possible. Lacking in any investment for decades, noisy, dirty, and run down. Well Intentioned staff. I would be embarrassed to work there. such a shame to see a listed building go but this will have to be demolished soon as it's too far gone.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank easytoplease63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Awful I can't describe how grotesque this place is. No hot water, went to the help desk to be told give it ten minutes, after 2 hours worth of ten minutes no bath was had, which was throughly needed after stepping foot in this establishment.

Very strange set of rules to be followed I felt like I was in parkhurst prison, this more so by the fact I was not allowed to open my window due to pigeons.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank matthew2595
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

No amount of money could get me to stay in the hotel again, it was disgusting!!!
I visited the isle of wight with a group of friends and had a brilliant time apart from this awful hotel, if you can even call it that! To name just a few things there was...
Dirty beds and some had blood stains in
Filthy toilets that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months, has this place not heard of bleach and toilet brushes!
Sinks hanging off the wall
No showers
Even worse no hot water
And even worse than that no running water in the baths at times the water pressure was so bad
Stains and holes in the baths
Rotten windows
Wet stained mouldy walls and ceilings
Dirty carpets and carpets in the bathrooms!!! Hello it is not 1960!
Broken furniture
All the rooms smelt of fust and damp
I appreciate this is a budget hotel but for the price we paid you at least expect the rooms to be clean and to a reasonable standard and they were just horrendous, never mind the hole place needing a full refurb, but there is just no excuse for the disgusting state the rooms were in
You'd be better camping on the streets than staying here!!!!
It's one positive the staff downstairs were nice even when complaining as they new how bad the rooms were!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank K8TBlOORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2019

My stay was very noisy. The room was very basic and old fashioned. The sheets were stained. The bathroom was dirty. I didn't find the staff friendly or helpful. I would not stay here again. There are many similar priced hotels which are much better quality and value for money.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank AmyAmy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews