We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
40
39
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
39
9
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The Casa de Hilario was a pleasant place to stay. There are in fact ten rooms, most of which are on the ground floor and most of those surround the courtyard. One or more ground floor rooms face outwards not inwards. Upstairs there are two rooms, one is a small one with no patio or balcony (might be room 1 or 7). The other is room 10 and is enormous with a patio and fridge (no cava in ours, just water) and fantastic views. I thought it was cleaned very well but no change of towels. Breakfast was average - certainly good enough for us. The restaurant next door is a bit expensive and the menu a bit limited but it is in an equisite setting. Yaiza itself I thought was a bit on the dull side. We couldn't actually find the other restaurants. We did call into the sister hotel one day but it was too far to walk to. Directions to both hotels were pretty bad. The Casa Hilario is next door to a well-signposted Bodega de Santiago and near a petrol station.
The hotel had wifi but it didn't work very well.

Room Tip: room 10 is the best by far
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesleyc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

On arrival as an unexpected stop over we were greeted with hospitality and kindness ,, given a tour of the vacinity and amenities straight away with a smile after a long journey. The views are absolutely astonishing from oyr chalet,
The breakfast was fresh and fabulous in this secluded diamond .
The staff were extremely pleasant and nothing was a chore to them with our requests.
Nice relaxing area and B&B with pool and definitely would recommend for a couple retreat or just to recharge the battery levels

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

If you want an Olympic-sized pool, direct access to the beach, kids entertainment, or staff hanging around all day to fulfill your every wish, don't go here. But if you want a quiet, quirky place that's perfectly located to explore the whole of Lanzarote, this is a great choice, The hotel has just a few rooms, all individually decorated. No cookie-cutter design here. Beautiful views from the terrace, where you can have your (yummie) breakfast. Bonus: next-door neighbor is a restaurant, with a lovely terrace where you can sit in the shadow of a huge tree. Yaiza is a small town with no Manrique attractions and therefore not as many tourists as other Lanzarote towns. But perhaps that is precisely what makes this such a nice place to stay. Beware: No lift, and beds are pretty short. Or we Dutch are simply too tall.

Room Tip: # 9: suite, super view, own terrace but stone steps to shower are tricky. # 1: double, upstairs, also great view but no outdoor space.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank lsw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Edge of village position with views of hills and village. Fun, original and quirky decor. Attractive bedroom and shower room with bottled water supplied. Insufficient shelf space in bathroom and no bidet. Attractive terrace areas to front and side but small pool area only suitable for 4/5 people at a time. Breakfast, though adequate, felt a little like the YMCA. Lukewarm coffee in thermos flasks, jumbled cutlery in tubs. After day one, bedroom only given a quick clean with towels unchanged for 4 days and left unfolded.

Generally good value, a good location and I would say great for young groups of friends to use as a base.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Quiet relaxed small hotel close to the spectacular volcano region. Interesting varied decor. Good scenery. Car park on site. Small pool in a pleasant courtyard with large interesting cacti. Good WiFi. Good location for car trips. Very good buffet breakfasts on the sunny terrace include smoked salmon (perhaps from the smokery in nearby Uga?) and the excellent Lanzarote bread rolls. Best restaurant we found nearby (6 miles?) was the Mirador overlooking the Salinas del Janubio. Worst was the Amura in Puerto Calero (expensive, nice location, good service, dreadful food).
We stayed there in early March and the owner Jose told us about the Lanzarote carnivals. These have amazing marching bands which we saw at night in a town in the middle of the island.
I left my Kindle and Jose and Monica were kind enough to send it to me in the UK and refused payment. Thank you.
We had failed to let them know when we were coming and had to phone the number on the barrier. Someone turned up quickly to let us in. Not much of a problem really.
We had some trouble finding the place but we were tired after our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews