We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Returned after a week at the marfil playa in april 2012, wonderful holiday, brilliant staff, food was lovely and a great range as well, good range of drinks alcoholic and non. Fantastic family holiday, great kids club for all ages (mine are 10,7 6) Great mini club reps Roy and Boy lovely guys :0) Well to conclude if you want a really nice family holiday, always always book a Hipotel, ive stayed in 2 now and will never turn back - they are superb !!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are lovely they also overlook the sea, we were on 5th floor great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beccaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break in Sa Coma and stayed at the charming Marfil Playa on a half board basis. The food at the breakfast buffet was freshly cooked and not left laying around for ages, and the choice of food for the evening meal was impressive for a 4* hotel. The service was also good and every member of staff that we had contact with from the maid to the hotel manager went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We knew we be out and about a fair bit as we had booked tickets for a 3 day jazz festival at a nearby 5* hotel which wanted to charge 3 times as much as the Marfil wanted. We're glad we chose the Marfil not only for value for money but for the whole experience. The pool area is very impressive. We did stay in the hotel after dinner on our first night and found the entertainment was very hit and miss. Will definitely consider returning again next year.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be on the top floor with a beautiful sea view and nice balcony. Not sure how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheHootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is in a good location and has ample facilities, with efficient and friendly staff. The buffet restaurant was very good and even during the quiet month of April provided a wide range of quality food. The bar service was also excellent. Overall an appropriately rated 4 star hotel that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StephenF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just back after an enjoyable 10 night stay at the Marfil Playa Hotel, set in the tranquil village of Sa Coma. The hotel itself is of a very high standard, very clean and well decorated throughout. The hotel staff were very attentive and the all inclusive bar service was excellent. The food was generally good and was always hot, although towards the latter end of the holiday, it did become a tad repetitive. Rooms, plenty big enough for families and were cleaned daily. The entertainment was very good and the kids entertainers were absolutely brilliant. I can see this hotel being a very popular choice for families and couples looking for a quiet holiday away from the fast pace of everyday life. I reserve a special mention to Roy & Boy who ran the kids club with such dedication and professionalism, also to all the bar staff who were fantastic, especially Javier, who doesn't like to see your glass empty! I must also mention the cleaners who kept the place looking spotless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you are tempted by a low cost holiday using the internet site "On the Beach" - DONT! They are not a package holiday company and as such don't seem to have any responsibility to help out when things go wrong.
We were a family party of 7 travelling to Majorca on Monday 2nd April from Bristol on Ryanair and after 3hrs sitting on the plane, we were told to get off as the flight was cancelled due to the French Air Traffic Controller's strike. Ryanair just handed us a letter saying to rebook or apply for a refund online, which was no help whatever at 10pm at the airport, for the planeful of people all wanting to fly to Palma. It was impossible to get hold of On the Beach, so rebooked with Easyjet ourselves, using our mobile phone, for the following Wednesday. We then booked ourselves into a local hotel and spent the following morning ringing a premium 09 number which was never answered by the company, despite holding on for 20mins a time. It was a very traumatic experience having to do everything ourselves, so if you are tempted, please read other holiday maker's experiences on the "On the Beach" review site. Now we are home we have to try and sort out insurance claims for the extra flight costs, hotel and food expenses, which rather spoils the holiday experience.

However, once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The buffet meals were excellent, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the rooms were very clean. As I like my food to be hot, I loved the restaurant grill where a chef stood throughout meal times cooking a variety of foods. Plenty of everything, with depleted trays being replenished and no queueing!

Guests seemed to be roughly 50/50 English and German and we didn't have any problems with all staff and entertainers talking in both languages. The evening entertainment comprised a music quiz and bingo night run by the resident children's entertainers, alternating with magic, acrobatic and flamenco type shows lasting about an hour. We found the 'All Inclusive' option was definitely worth having with our family. The children loved going to the bar and ordering their own drinks, and waiter service from the bar in the entertainment area was excellent.

There are only a couple of minor points I would mention. Although the hotel provides shampoo and a very small soap tablet, they did not provide shower gel - so take your own.
The outdoor pool is not heated and at this time of the year was very cold. The indoor pool is quite small and got very busy at times when the weather was not so sunny. Occasionally the chlorination was overwhelming.
Sa Coma was very quiet and not much else going on, with other hotels not open as yet. Cala Millor, a 6eu taxi ride, is a bigger resort, with many more shops and attractions. There is a road train which runs between the two resorts, but at 3.75eu each, was more expensive than the excellent taxi service and runs every hour (though not always on time).

Our grandchildren enjoyed the hired social cycles, which were about 6-8eur an hour. Very good value, as you could sit at an outside bar overlooking the sea with a drink and let the children pedal along the pedestrianised promenade quite safely. Also the nearby crazy golf was a big hit. They have 3 different 18 hole courses to go round for about 5eu each.

The hotel provided a hairdryer in the bathroom. You can pay 12eur per week plus 10eur refundable deposit for the key to the room safe, and also hire pool towels if you don't want to bring your own.

If you are looking for a quiet location, I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would look out for the HIP chain to use again in the future.

Room Tip: In the busy season, it might be better to avoid a room directly above the bar area, or at least have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.5 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,045 reviews
0.6 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Som Siurell
Som Siurell
#15 of 29 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
0.3 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo Club
5.9 km away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#1 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: ₹ 4,395 - ₹ 14,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Marfil Playa, a 4-star all-inclusive hotel in Sa Coma, Majorca with an indoor and outdoor pool and stunning views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing