We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here in July 2010 with our 12 week old daughter and had a fantastic time. The facilities are completely set up to allow a relaxing break, ie a feeding/changing/play room close to the pool and a crèche facility should you want time to yourselves. The staff were very good at check in, we hired the towels and swooped them every day. We managed to get an umbrella each day as we went just before the schools broke up which was fab!

We went self catering so that we could get out and experience the local cuisine, and had some lovely food. My favourite place was the BBQ grill opposite the supermarket on the corner which served grilled kebabs and jacket potatoes!

We didn't see what the entertainment was like as to be fair, we went out into the resort at night and then with our little one just returned and went to sleep!

The baby pool was good and always warm. The only problem was parents didn't put their child in swim nappies??? So it ended up getting closed which was annoying!

The beach is fantastic and has a walkway which is ideal to get the babies sleeping! It leads to another resort where there are some nice bars.

Overall we had a fantastic break, some sunshine and quality family time after the arrival of our daughter!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,291 - 1,295 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here last year and found it to be friendly clean the food was amazing its great for the kids they do everything you can think of from early years to teens they also have great evening entertainment it's central to the shops markets and most importantly the beach is just around the corner will definitely be going back there :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at the Coma Gran for a two week holiday last August with my husband and three young children. We booked and travelled with Thomson.

The whole holiday was excellent. The hotel was immaculate. The food was good. Entertainment was spot on. Everything was great.

Sa Coma is slightly more expensive than surrounding resorts.

Would definitely book again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Virtualfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the Coma Gran for 10 days at the end of August just before the children went back to school. Our children are aged 8 and 4 and we booked half board.

The flight was good and on time although Palma airport on a Saturday morning is very bust and we queued for over 45 minutes, no air-conditioning to get though passport control. We then waited over 30 minutes on the transfer bus for all to arrive (not all from our flight) for a transfer of approx. 60 minutes.

Check in was easy and quick and we were allocated room 417 which as you look at the hotel from the pool was on the right hand side, 4th floor near the middle. The rooms 1-18 are in the right hand block all facing the pool. Rooms 19 and higher odd number are in the left hand block facing the road, and room 20 and higher are even numbered are in the left hand block facing the pool.
Unfortunately, the layout of rooms 1-18 are such that the bedrooms are located next to the corridor which is open to the elements (the have shutters but these are generally open) and the corridor is tiled with no carpet. We found it impossible to sleep due to the noise from people walking/running and talking/shouting up and down the corridor at all hours with the wall between the bedroom and corridor offering virtually no soundproofing. This coupled with the fact that as the corridor was open to the outside air, meant the doors to the rooms banged loudly when open/closed. It meant having to sleep with earplugs in to have a chance of getting any rest. The walls between adjoining rooms are also very thin and we could hear virtually every word from the people staying on either side of us.
After 5 nights we could stand it no more and got a room change to 220, which was on a carpeted corridor with a different layout as the bathroom is next to the corridor. So much better rooms and so much quieter, and had we known they were better designed and quiet rooms available we would have insisted on a room change much sooner! Just to note, the Thomson rep was all too aware of this problem.
The safe in the rooms cost @2 euros a day plus 10 euro deposit (quite expensive but maybe a necessary purchase), and the rooms are well equipped and clean although only cleaned 6 days out of 7. Surely better staff rostering would allow cleaning every day?.
The most frustrating and unacceptable things about the hotel was that unless you queued up in the dark at 6.30am to put towels on sunbeds you had little chance of being able to sit out at the hotel during the day. The whole pool area is too small for the number of guests and the pool itself resembles a tin of sardines after 9am!. It may be better during non-peak times but wholly unacceptable at peak times. Again a known problem to the Thomson group and the rep advised they had an agreement with the hotel across the road for guest to use their pool area instead!!! Previous trip advisor comments mentioned the speaker noise during the day. This seems to have been addressed as its only loud during the activities but the Thomson reps do like the sound of their voices on the speakers during the activities and play lots of music you would find in a night club that isn’t what you would want to listen to when trying to relax by the pool. Whilst my next comment may seem snobby it really isn’t but, the pool was also inhabited by chain smoking, tattoo wearing, possibly on free holiday at the tax payers’ expense type of person, and as the sunbeds were so tightly crammed together this was not always pleasant.

Both my kids enjoyed the drop in sessions between 1-3pm at the kids club but spent the rest of the time in and out of the pool…when they could find some space!

The beach is lovely and the sea shallow, but again very busy in peak holiday periods.

We didn’t use any of the local restaurants but bought food for lunch from Eroski supermarket which is only a few minute’s walk. Not as cheap as UK supermarkets but cheaper than the Spar next to the hotel which I found has a habit of trying to over charge you so keep an eye on the prices of the goods you put in your basket so you can check they charge correctly.. (Happens very often so hardly a mistake!!)

The hotel food on the whole was good. It is set up for British tastes with the obligatory chips and gravy option at every meal, and the meat was generally over cooked but I suppose that’s better than the food poisoning option of them not cooking it enough. Breakfast is 8-10am and evening mean 7-9pm which can be a bit late with young children on an evening but there was plenty for them to choose when they did sit down to eat.

Evening entertainment was ok, The abba tribute was good, and the kids t-time live was good also, but as the adult entertainment didn’t start til 10pm we only watched a couple of shows as the kids were shattered by then and we had to be up by 6.30 am for the sunbeds!!!

The coach transfer back to the airport took 2 hours as we spend the first hour collecting other guests from at least 7 different hotels. Thomson may well drop you off at the hotel 1st or 2nd according to the brochure but give you full tour on the way back!

On the whole, this was an expensive holiday at a hotel that should have a maximum of 3 stars, and the problems with noisy rooms and overcrowded pool area meant that it really was not good value. We paid £2800 for 10 nights. If you can guarantee a room in the left wing from day 1 and it is not during a peak holiday time then it would be ok…unfortunately it wasn’t when we went and we won’t be going back. As I write this I have waited over a week for Thomson to reply to my complaint letter with yet no sign…….
Update… After 4 months of correspondence with Thomson we have now settled on compensation rather than go to arbitration. Thomson did not adhere to timescales for replying to the letters as their excuse was “it’s a busy time” , and having agreed an amount , they then failed to process the cheque!.

Hope this review helps and isn’t too negative as the kids loved the holiday and every other aspect apart from the noise and overcrowded pool area/sunbed/6.15 alarm call was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank airtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Firstly I would like to say I have been to this hotel for around 5 years now, not my choice but as i have got older I can understand why they parents have chose this place every year.

I don't know where I can start except I have never tried the evening food, as a family we always ate out, so I cant tell you about that but what I can say is that the pool bar does serve food that is great stuff, varied selection and you cant really go wrong.

We have always stayed at the Coma Gran due to the location, the hotel is secure with only one entrance in and out and considering its a "Family First" hotel, your safe knowing the little ones need to get past you before they can escape. The hotel is situated in one of the best spots, its within the most easiest 2 minutes walk to the beach and with the same time in the opposite directions all the restaurants and shops.

The hotel staff have always been great, from the cleaners to the receptionists, everyone makes you feel like your on holiday as soon as you step foot in the place. The rooms have upgraded over the years and are quite modern, very nice bathroom, double bedroom and then kitchen/lounge with 2 single pull out beds, then balcony with table and chairs. (this being what I have stayed in on the 6th and 3rd floor).

The atmosphere around the hotel/poolside during the day is second to none, there is always a spot where you can chill and catch the rays but at the same time knowing the children are well looked after and also knowing that the holiday reps, (Thompson staff) are doing a good job keeping everyone happy, with games such as; water polo, killer pool, guests v rep days, football, volleyball and not forgetting the daily quiz.. This doesn't change in the evening either, the kids get to have their time at around 8ish with the mini disco and then the prize presentation from the days activities, It then moves into some sort of casual entertainment, or games until the main act of the night is on, this either being a rep show or a professional act, over the years the main man coming back in the comedian, (cant remember the name sorry), but the acts vary from MJ tributes to Abba and the magicians.

Outside the hotel there is still plenty to do, sticking with the evening there is all the usual restaurants, grills and local food places to try, there are two more British places, one "The Kings Head" located basically behind the main stage, on the road side, this serves typical British food and drinks throughout the day and then turns into an evening venue with live music and Karaoke till gone silly hours.. One Factor, beware if you have a room close to the main stage or the main road, YOU WILL HEAR THE MUSIC....

There are many other placed to go, literally outside the hotel doors and swing left is a brilliant music bar, amazing owner and staff, brill place to start or end your night, great music and drinks, but only do pizza as a snack or take away.

To be honest I could talk all day with places to go, but there are too many good places, one being a good friend of ours that has recently changed hands since our last visit, they now only look after the "Dolphin Cafe" next to Burger King, by the car park when heading to the beach, cant miss it, great food, and do take aways, brill bunch of people.

To sum it up, the whole of Sa Coma is amazing, the beach is lovely, the people are genuine and the weather for a 2 hour flight for us is second to none, you can see why we have returned for 5/6 years, I have grew up in this resort for my holidays and it is a special place.

There isn't much you cant do in or around the hotel, see reps for excursions and basically enjoy, this is a great place to go and must be experienced, I'm sure you will find something that you will enjoy that will keep you going back for more just like us.

Room Tip: We asked for floor 6, mid way, 608-611... this has a brilliant view of the entertainment, can hear i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.5 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,044 reviews
0.6 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#6 of 29 in Sa Coma
392 reviews
0.4 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo Club
0.3 km away
Europa
Europa
#24 of 29 in Sa Coma
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel

Address: Cards, s/n, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern apartment complex situated at 100 m. from the nice sandy beach of Sa Coma. The building consts of 17 studios, 187 one-bedroom apartments and 6 two-bedroom apartments. All equipped with complete bathroom, telephone, sat-TV, kitchenette, safety-boxes and balcony, lounge with sofa-beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coma Gran Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Coma Gran Aparthotel Sa
Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing