We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday, better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday, better than expected”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel after a hotel we wanted to book in Ibiza fell through and I must admit from the pictures on Thomson's website I thought it looked ok but nothing special so I wasnt really expecting too much but there was 8 of us on a big family holiday so I knew we would have a good time anyway. Flight out was absolutely awful, the Thomson air hostesses were the most miserable people I have ever met and I always fly with Thomson and have never had any problems before, and there was an incident when a man had punched his wife so they had to be separated,kids crying, lots of wondering what was going on so needless to say we couldnt wait to land and get off!! Long drive from the airport to Sa Coma so we were very tired and hungry and it was very late by the time we got there, straight away we were given our all inclusive arm bands at reception and showed into the dining area where they had put together a little feast just for us which was a nice touch considering the time. Rooms were absolutely fantastic, very modern, big balconies, fab shower, free minibar which was topped up everyday. Was a bit apprehensive about the all inclusive restaurant after experiences in the past, however this was a completely different deal, the staff greeted us warmly at every meal, gave us the same table everytime and after a day or two they didnt even ask what drinks we wanted they remembered and brought them straight out to us, lovely waiters and waitresses particularly Paloma who my baby nephew took a shine to! Food was delicious, tons of it, tons of choices, always cooked well and there was never a rush everyone just seemed to be calm and friendly. There was always champagne waiting for you even at breakfast!The desserts were amazing and there was plenty of variety. In fact I'd hazard a guess that we actually spent more time in the restaurant than we did by the pool and my waistline when I got back supported that theory! The pool area was beautiful, the day beds were fantastic as we had such a young child with us. Bar staff were lovely and always chatted on with us, they got a nice tip when we left and were so grateful bless them. The entertainment was a little cheesy but actually not bad for hotel entertainment lots of fun dancing and some not so good singing but we enjoyed it! The spa was lovely, although it was implied that the use of the spa was free but in fact I think it was 11 euros each but still we didnt mind and there was actually an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna within the complex which we decided to use most of the time instead. Only downside was the water park etc was closed which was really disappointing so the facilities that were listed as being available to customers actually werent but as we were in such a large group we managed to entertain ourselves easily enough. Would definitely go back, great hotel, great staff, great atmosphere, I just hope they open all the facilities soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank lawbird274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a good stay in our newly refurbished Protur Sa Coma Playa & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    359
    91
    16
    5
See reviews for
799
493
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is a very late review.I am a Travel Agent and every year travel with 3 female friends for a weekend in the sun.
This year I booked the Protur Sa Coma for a weekend in June. Previous years its been the Blau Porto Petro.
We had two 1 bedroom suites overlooking the main swimming pool. Excellent modern clean rooms..Two spacious pool areas always sunbeds available very comfortable.
What impressed me most about this hotel was the service and the food quality.
It is so unusual to see a manager mingling with guests checking that your holiday expectations are being met.The restaurant manager and reception staff nothing was too much trouble.,The food (we were on half board) was superb some of the best I have experienced on half board in Majorca.
The only way the Blau hotel exceeded the Protur was position Porto Petro is a beautiful bay.
That said we will return to the Protur next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank cobs204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your comments. We will pass on your kind words to the staff and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We visted the hotel in October, specifically choosing the complex for the childrens facilities. However, despite the good weather, the splash park was closed for the majority of the holiday and the nature park consisted of being escorted inside the gate, then pointed in the direction of the animals, not the guided tour or mule cart which was shown on the adverts.The majority of guests were German, which was fine, but it meant that the Thomsons childrens club had no children. All in all it made for a very disappointing holiday for our 3 year old. On complaining we were told that it was because of the lack of guests, but we counted over 50 children in one room that evening, and I don't think that paying guests should be punished in this way anyway.
You are allowed one or two night meals in one of the speciality resaurants. We chose the tapas bar, but when we got there we found there was absolutely no vegetarian options! We left, and went back to the hotel restaurant, and the deputy manager there kindly arranged for us to have a meal in the restaurant upstairs instead, which was delicious.
The staff at the Sa Coma are really nice, which, in our case was the saving grace.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieqCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. The facilities on offer such as La Reserva, which you refer to as the Splash Park, are very much 'warm weather' facilities and is open weather permiting. Also while it is possible to visit the Natura Farm, guided tours are not always available. The mini club was available in the sister hotel Protur Safari Park Aparthotel situated just oposite the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa.
We thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and will pass them on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Our travel agent suggested we inform the hotel we would be arriving late in the evening, which we did, and even though we had missed dinner by the time we arrived, we found that the hotel had laid on a bit of a spread (cold meats, bread, salad etc), for late arrivals. It's definitely worth letting the hotel know if you've got a late flight, the dinner was the perfect welcome after a bit of a nightmare taxi journey!

The whole hotel is stylishly decorated and feels very classy and executive. It's spotlessly clean, and the rooms and bathrooms are gorgeous as well. We were only on half board but didn't find that we spent all that much extra on drinks and lunch, drinks were quite reasonably priced. Breakfast and dinner were buffet style and there was always massive variety, a different selection every night for dinner. Apparently there are other restaurants on the resort that we could have been to, but being perfectly satisfied with Sa Coma Playa we didn't venture out.

The staff, particularly the reception staff, were always friendly and helpful, and spoke perfect English which was extremely helpful as neither of us spoke a word of Spanish and we had forgotten our phrasebook!

There is so much to do on the whole resort complex, pretty much every activity you can think of- boredom was definitely not a problem. In fact, we didn't leave the resort complex for our whole stay. Also, having had a snoop around the other Protur resorts on the complex, Sa Coma Playa is definitely the nicest one.

We went in late September and found that our fellow hotel guests were mainly couples with young children and babies. Although the hotel was excellent, I probably wouldn't go again in peak season as I imagine it will be full of families, which is not the kind of environment we're after. Getting a sunbed wasn't a problem and it didn't feel crowded in/around the pool. My only criticism is that the pool was unbelievably cold! We tried to man up and hop in, but it was pretty chilly!

Our main issue was the fact that the hotel is really far away from the airport, we were a bit nervous about hiring a car so decided to get a taxi. This turned out to be a bit of an error, as the taxi cost us 90 euro, and the driver didn't even take us to the right hotel! For the journey back we booked a taxi through the hotel which turned out to be around 20 euro less, so I'd recommend trying to sort out a taxi with the hotel before you go to pick you up from the airport if you can.

Overall, pretty much not a bad word to say about this hotel, we had the best time, would absolutely definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of September and couldn't find anything negative to say. The rooms are all modern and spacious. We had a ground floor room with a large patio. we were in room 02.Beds are comfortable and large, Bathrooms are fab with a walk in shower and bath. All Modern and new. The room has a stocked fridge but beware it is pricey. You can put water etc in it. On arrival within an hour of being in the room we were given a bottle of wine and flowers which is a lovely touch. The bar is large and the first night there was a good duo on but other than that we never stayed in at night so can't really commen regarding the entertainment. The hotel bar prices are the same as in the resort which is good for a hotel. The hotel is part of a resort and there are a lot of themed restaurants and we went to the Argentian one evening. We enjoyed it. The pool area at the hotel is busy but plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. There is a quiet pool at the front of the hotel and we mainly stayed around that, so we could read or sleep! Pool towels are provided at a small deposit. It is easy to get around and about. It's about a 20 minute walk to Calla Millor left at the hotel and S'Illott is right at the hotel along the beach front. Beach is beautiful white sand. Lots of lovely bars here and restaurants. All in all we had a fab week and we wouldn't hesitate to go back or to reccomend this Hotel anytime to anyone of all ages.

Room Tip: Request a bath rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenbicardigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are please that you enjoyed your stay at the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel. We trust your comments will be useful to others. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.2 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
974 reviews
1.2 km away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
369 reviews
0.5 km away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
33.7 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,920 - ₹ 19,958
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing