We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have just spent two weeks at this hotel and found it spotlessly clean with 5* staff. We arrived quite early and as it was ready we were given our room as soon as we got there which was a bonus after a long night of traveling.
The rooms were a little dated but ours (the superior double) had lovely views, the huge bed was rather firm but comfortable. There was plenty of storage and a large bathroom which even had a bidet. Everything worked fine, the shower, air con etc. Toiletries are replaced daily, sheets and towels are changed daily and extra duvets, pillows and blankets are provided.
The sitting room was a little narrow and the sofa bed was sticky vinyl and very uncomfortable to sit on for long (gave us backache - we used the extra pillows to lean on) but would probably be ok to sleep on but it was good to have another area to sit in as well as the balcony. We had a tv and use of the small fridge but had to pay for the safe which I would have expected to be included in a 4* hotel.
There are no tea making facilities so take your own kettle, cups, spoon etc. if you want this. There are two lifts (not scary) and we never had to wait for long for them even though we were on floor 6. There is very good entertainment on Saturday nights in the bar, a weekly cocktail party at the pool and quiz nights. There is a nice public sitting room with computer access and a large tv. The pool areas are very good as is the restaurant, although it does seem a bit odd to have to cross the road to get to them and I would advise taking a brolly just in case, it did rain and turn a bit cold for a couple of days whilst we were there.
We loved the plentiful food the first few days but found it a bit boring over time and sometimes it could have done with being a bit hotter, the quality of things like yoghurt and baked beans could also have been better as although they tasted ok they were a bit watery. It doesn't seem to matter what time you go for dinner/breakfast there is always plenty of food. Wine in the restaurant is quite reasonably priced (around 10E for a full sized bottle and they will label it and keep it for you for a night or two) but the bottled water was a little pricey at 1.99E for a small bottle. Breakfast on the patio is a real treat.
The hotel itself is in a very pleasant quiet area but Porto Colom was a bit disappointing as it has only a few restaurants a pharmacy and a couple of supermarkets, it is also quite a long walk from the hotel and no sandy beach. There is a small supermarket just around the corner and one or two bars quite close if you do not want to stay in the hotel bar in the evening.
There is a small but pretty beach within a 15/20 minute walk behind the hotel and there are a couple of gift shops/cafe bars along the way to it. The bus stops are not too far away. We hired a car from the airport (Terry's car hire - excellent service) and were very glad of it as we saw a lot of the area and some very pretty places and good beaches, we were also able to find some sunshine when it rained. Unless you are only there for a short time or into sitting by the pool and sun bathing you would find it too quiet to stay around the hotel/Porto Colom all day. We liked the adults only choice of the hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again.

Room Tip: Our room side faced the sea and I wouldn't have liked one of the town facing rooms at the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineRNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    263
    86
    24
    15
See reviews for
80
414
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 days and definitely would stay here for more days. I've read plenty reviews about 4 star hotels on Mallorca. This one was chosen spontaneously. The reviews were 50/50. But we left hotel satisfied with it location, rooms, breakfasts and specially dinners. Dinners are fantastic. Every day there were new menu. Fresh sea food, delicious meat (as for 4 star hotel), nice deserts and so on. Hotel located in front of the harbor with nice view to the sea. Our room was facing the street. Below our balcony there were coffees but it was NOT annoying. Room was clean and normally equipped. There was only one minor disappointment - no iron in the room. But it seems to me it is normal for Spanish hotels. WiFi was free and that was really nice surprise. The beach situated 15 min from the hotel but to me it was not a problem. We have rent a car and observed beautiful beaches on the East, North and South. We rent a car in Palm airport but do not worry, you can book a car at Porto Colom without problems. One spot is near the beach Cala Marsal another is one the way to the beach from our hotel. Restaurants in Porto Colom are very good not cheap but it worth it. Hint: you want be disappointed with little cafe "Petit Cafe" and small pizzeria on the street Carrer de s'Algar.
I will 100% come back with my girlfriend to Porto Colom and Vistamar hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmytro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent 10 days here on half board. The rooms were very good with a nice balcony and bathroom. Staff were very polite and helpful. The food was reasonable but could have been a little more exciting, the desserts were very good. The pool area was excellent and the pool bar catered for most things.
This hotel is for couples only so it suited us fine and the surrounding area is very quite and tranquil with beautiful veiws of the bay.
There is a beach but it is a good walk away, we were happy being around the lovely pool.
There is a german bar facing the bay just a short walk from the hotel which served nice meals.
All in all I would recommend this hotel for a peaceful quite holiday, we would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diagnosisSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from an absolutely brilliant 10 day holiday at Ola El Vistamar Hotel in Porto Colom.

The hotel definitely deserves its 4* rating! In a nutshell hotel was very clean, staff lovely and friendly, pool fantastic, we couldn't fault the food, location nice and quiet, entertainment enjoyable! Overall we had a brilliant 10 day holiday!

Staff (bar staff, restaurant staff, reception staff, maids, entertainment staff) were all so approachable and friendly! We enjoyed spending time in the bar after our fantastic meal and looked forward to the evenings entertainment.

We couldn't have asked for a better buffet each morning and night! We went half board which was enough for us to not need lunch during the day. The breakfast is served from 8-10 and is full of fruit, cereals, breads and cakes, hams, cheeses, as well as full english with a special dish each day (omelette, pancakes etc) It was lovely being able to have our breakfast outside each morning in the patio area. Evening meals were great! Soup, lots of well prepared salads (pasta, potato etc), always a wide choice of meats and fish dishes, along with specialities such as paella, pasta dishes, lots of nice cakes and fruit for dessert as well as cheese and biscuits. The restaurant staff were fantastic every evening!

The room itself was spacious with nice clean sheets, air-con, balcony, tv, fridge (if you pay a little more) and safe. The hotel had wifi too although it was a tad slow but was completely free of charge! En-suite was lovely. Maid came in and cleaned the room every day. Our view was beautiful of the harbour and surrounding area, with our other room looking at the harbour and the pool area.

Porto Colom is a quiet area, however there is a nice stroll along the seafront, with only about 10 mins walk to a nice beach area. We however tended to stay by the lovely pool! We were always able to get a bed either in the sun or shade, and there was a nice poolside bar. We hired a car for a few days to explore the local area and did this completely hassle free at the hotel - we paid 130 euros for 3 days hire, all insurance included for a citroen c4. Fab! Visited Palma, Cala D'or, and Porto Pollenca - all were great!

You can get the local bus to places that are quite close (Cala D'or) and was only a few euros each return. Well worth a trip for nice little shops and restaurants!

The hotel is adult only, however me (age 22) and my brother (age 18) found it a nice relaxing break to not be surrounded by children. This is a place to come if you want a chill out break, there isn't too much in walking distance of the hotel, but we felt that because we hired a car for a few days and had a bus trip another day we didn't really see this as an issue.


BRILLIANT HOTEL, LOVELY POOL, FRIENDLY STAFF, AMAZING FOOD, EASY RELAXING BREAK! would highly recommend and we will be returning!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the see - all rooms have balconies however a proportion face inland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyBolton0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

lovely and clean, we came back truly chilled out! We booked the room upgrade, which gave us access to the "Club Elite", which was worth it, bedroom and lounge room, free fridge/beach towels - and access to the separate swimming pool ... (really worth it - we shared it with a maximum of 6 people most days!). We were on 5th floor - lovely view over the bay and harbour. Hotel is adults only - and that was important for me as I hate being surrounded by kids! Resort is really quiet - but that was why I chose it! It's only a 10 minute walk to the "central street" - where there are some nice restaurants, and it's worth taking a look at the boats moored in the marina. Some great cocktails bars too (check out HPC Porto Colom) go into the restaurant and up to the balcony - sittign there with the cocktail of the day watching nightfall was amazing (we even saw the ISS in the sky!). Food was very good (buffet stule), nothing to complain about - something for everyone, and all seems rotated through the week - so you don't get bored, there's the old standards (you can have chips every day if you want!), it's plentiful (you can just keep going back!), lovely to try "local" items, and a fabulous range of desserts. Poolside (at the main pool) the bar serves some lunch items (the calamari was lovely). Breakfast nice, plentiful. Everything we could have wished for! We didn't watch any of the entertainment at night so can't comment - but it was different every night (sometimes a quiz, sometimes a musician, the classic flamenco one night), one of the couples we spoke to had been on the Spanish lesson and said it was good. Staff were very nice. The "elite" pool looks out onto the bay. and was quite, beautifully clean and well maintained, 1.5m to 2.05m depth - and in full sun, plenty of high standard loungers and umbrellas. We arranged the transfer via the hotel, and it was fine (a minibus on arrival - a bit cramped and hot, and a coach on the way back). I had intentions of using the gym (but laziness stopped me!). The full body massage was fabulous too. We found a great little shop just around the corner to buy crisps and water (and the ubiquitous fan!). In the main town there is a Spar, which was great (3 small bottles of Freixenet cava for less than 4euros .... perfect fit for the fridge and lovely to drink on the balcony whilst chilling out at night! All in all I didn't want to come home, I wished we had booked 2 weeks instead!

Room Tip: go for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.2 km away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 km away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#4 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
48.3 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.1 km away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
73.3 km away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
63.2 km away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Property: OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,346 - ₹ 13,103
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing