We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My friend and I have just returned after a 2 days break to Palma. I chose this hotel for its location which is just outside of the main city. The hotel was in a great position being on the main road through Portals Nous and within a 10 min walk to the marina which is really lovely with bars and restaurants and very much an upmarket resort. The hotel was really clean and so was the room. The breakfast was quite good. We ate out at the local restaurants The reception staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us . It was unusually hot for the time of year and there is a small extremely pretty cove with a sandy beach. There is a great restaurant on the beach with views over the bay. A few buses run past the hotel into Palma which takes about 20 mins and costs 3 Euro a taxi takes about 10 mins and costs 12 Euros. We took the sightseeing bus in Palma which cost 15 Euro and took around an hour but worth doing as you get to see all the sights and then decide where you want to spend more time. I would recommend this hotel mainly for its location.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor room so that you get the view of the sea and marina
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank missholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director Comercial at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
We will be glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,168)
There are newer reviews for Salles Hotel Marina Portals
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 822 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

I think 4 stars is a bit too much for Marina Portals, but overall, this hotel is not bad. After a small problem with our room (leak), we were offered a new one. Breakfast was good. Can not comment on other meals as we only had B&B. Excellent location. Room was quite clean. Staff friendly and we could use hotel parking free of charge.
Would I recommend it?.
Yes, why not.
Do not pay crazy money to stay here, but if you can find a decent deal, go for it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director Hotel at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Marina Portals in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this a few days before travelling out to Mallorca in May 2011... we aren't great at making decisions and couldn't decide on a hotel. In the end my boyfriend picked this one, knowing that it was a nice quiet area. All was well when we arrived, staff were pleasant, room was ok and the sun was shining. My initial thoughts were that the hotel was VERY outdated and tired looking, in particular the actual building and the outside area. We ate in the restaurant, which was again, ok, but nothing special. All buffet food, which was mostly the same on the few evenings we ate there, with nothing that particularly stood out. I can't really remember breakfast, except from the fact that the mushrooms (as part of a cooked breakfast) tasted peculiar, maybe tinned??! We tended to eat at other restaurants and buy food from the local supermarket. The very worst thing about the hotel, the reason we will not return, and the reason we will always thoroughly check rooms as soon as we arrive, was that when we climbed into bed we could smell the stench of urine. The bed had clearly been soiled and just changed without throwing the mattress away or whatever. It was the most disgusting thing. We immediately phoned reception, got dressed, packed up all our things and made our way to the reception. Bearing in mind this was half 10 in the evening, we were not best pleased. They moved us to the room next door, but barely apologised and offered us no compensation, even a free night or room upgrade. For this, we will not be returning. As a side note, this is not the hotel's fault, but for the 5 days we spent out in Palma, we only enjoyed one day without rain, and that day had cloud and a chill! Couldn't believe it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank HMH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here 3 times before our last visit in August 2011, have always found the hotel to be fine, infact very good in the past. Unfortunately this time we found the hotel to need a complete makeover, it has not changed at all from our first visit over 10 years ago.

The breakfast is unedible, your much better off at the Ship pub next door to the hotel, excellent breakfast and service with a smile.

The pool area is still nice at the Marina Portals, however we had only been there a matter of hours when the pool side cafe collapsed in on itself! Very, very lucky there was no one in there at the time or there would have been deaths without a doubt. This meant we had a cordoned off cement and rubble mountain next to the pool for the remainder of the holiday.

To top it all our room 'on the first floor' was burgled on the last night we were there; thieves made off with watch, phone and cash! We reported it as soon as we realised and were given the local police contact number, we had to make all arrangements ourselves as well as spending a few hours in the Palma police station making statements.

I'm sorry to say that the only thing the Marina Portals has going for it now is its prime location right next door to the port with all the bars and restaurants. After return visits to this hotel over the past decade, we will not be returning again.

Room Tip: Request one that is NOT on the first floor!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdoreAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Manager at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments.
We do regret very much that you did not find the place the way you expected, after having visiting us a few times before..
We really apologize to you for not having fulfilled your expectations.
These comments will help us to improve our premises , service and attitude for the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I was house hunting in Mallorca, but, along with that as my two children came with me, I really wanted to give them a nice week away, I paid extra money for what was supposed to be a four star hotel, we were actually there at the same time as Lyne b. Where can I start, well, two of the lifts only hold three people, so one was forced to use the larger lift, which was also the service lift, the smell of Jeyes fluid was overpowering, not something one wants to smell on holiday, or after you have been to breakfast or going to breakfast, the woodchip paper in the foyer was all split and broken, the sattelite tv consisted of bbc world news and sky news and one other British channel showing ancient movies, the television was so small and old we could barely see it, no kettle in the room, the beds are just dreadful, the so called complimentary toiletries consisted of a small loofah,two cotton buds with so little cotton wool on they nearly burst your ear drum and some cotton pads, the cheapest of cheap, having stayed all over Spain in three star hotels and see the standard this one should never, ever get a four star rating, the Manager strutted around but was not interested in anything I had to say, when I mentioned the Satellite tv he said well who wants to watch tv when on holiday, but one evening it was pouring with rain and we had nothing to watch as we wanted to stay in after a long day........the breakfast was as Lyne b said, frozen melon, water melon from the previous days swimming in water, cheap, nasty and rubbish, and back to the room in the Jeyes fluid lift made it worse. I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Alicante, what a hotel, both soft and firm pillows duly labled, tea coffee, lovely shower gel, Dove body lotion, everything you could want and less than half the price, well thank you Marina Portals, this holiday was a make up to my children for all the years I could not afford to take them away and I wanted to just pamper them, you should be ashamed of yourself, and your Manager is not worthy of the title
We came back one day to at nearly three o clock and the beds where not even made, and the hotel was far from full, the music in the restaurant was so bad and the system broken and kept making the most disgusting noises that my children recorded it......and the manager strolls around as if he is managing the Ritz.........absolute disgrace....waste of money.........dont go.......

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank westville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Manager at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments.
We do regret very much that you did not find the place you expected.
We really apologize to you and your children for not having fulfilled your expectations.
These comments will help us to improve our premises and attitude for the future..
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portals Nous
0.7 km away
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
#4 of 7 in Portals Nous
174 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.3 km away
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
#3 of 7 in Portals Nous
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
OLA Tomir
OLA Tomir
#6 of 7 in Portals Nous
679 reviews
0.4 km away
OD Port Portals
OD Port Portals
#36 of 181 in Calvia
326 reviews
5.8 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Marina Portals? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Marina Portals

Address: Ctra. d'Andratx s/n, Km. 10, 07181 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Portals Nous
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Price Range: ₹ 5,587 - ₹ 15,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Marina Portals 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional-style Marina Portals offers stunning Mediterranean Sea views just 7 minutes' walk from the beach. It has a pool and a spa, and the air-conditioned rooms have a kettle and satellite TV. Guests have free access to the spa, which has a water circuit, sauna and steam bath, as well as chromotherapy and other relaxation and beauty treatments. Marina Portals also has a large sun terrace with loungers. All the spacious rooms in Marina Portals have a private balcony and free Wi-Fi. They have antique-style furnishings and safes. Many of the rooms have sea views. Marina Portals offers a breakfast and dinner buffet service. The hotel's snack bar has a terrace, and the Coral Bar offers a range of drinks. Marina Portals is less than 10 minutes' drive from the capital of Palma de Mallorca. The bars and restaurants of Portals Nous, as well as the marina, are within 10 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salles Hotel Marina Portals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Portals Hotel
Marina Portals Nous
Salles Hotel Marina Portals Portals Nous, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing