We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were disappointed with the standard of this hotel, and expected much more from a 4* with these nightly rates. The communal areas were nice, with the small beach cove being a good feature, and an impressive spa area.

The rooms however were small, basic, dated and very noisy. There was a small balcony overlooking a road, and the room had 2 uncomfortable single beds pushed together. The worst part was how thin the walls were though, I could hear every word of conversations in the adjacent rooms, and one night the tv next door was on until 6am which echoed around our room all night. Also it sounded like there was constantly being furniture moved around with a sound of scraping metal every few minutes.

The reception staff also were not what I would expect. Although they were pleasant in the main, they were not very helpful. One night we asked for an iron and were told it would be brought to the room. After waiting for half an hour we phoned reception and were told that there isn't an iron available. They could have phoned us back to let us know.

Unless you get a really good deal on the price, there are much better hotels for your money.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeedsStatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

The pictures do not do the hotel justice, it is a lot better. The staff are very help, the service is great and the food is very good. The personal touches of allocated table for dinner (half board), wine is saved for you for the next evening and out waiting for you. The spa area and indoor pool is really good, lots of seating areas inside and out. I could go on forever - the hotel is a definite recommendation. Already planning next trip back for July.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wow what a fabulous hotel, the staff were so helpful friendly and obliging. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great Spa treatment rooms and Gym. Outdoor pool clean just a bit chilly but its still early in the year. Sea view beautiful. Not sure I could find fault with this weekend at all

Room Tip: Corner rooms slightly larger but get the sun all afternoon making them very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrown888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our second visit to Son Caliu, this time staying on a Travelzoo half board deal for 3 nights, which was 4 full days cos of early/late flights.Its a fantastic hotel. There are loads of public rooms, all spacious and beautifully decorated with marble floors and lots of lovely furniture/lights etc. The rooms are spacious and ours overlooked the gardens. Last time we upgraded to a suite - now that was just the best, but this time we knew we wouldnt be in the room much, so were quite happy with what we were allocated. On returning after dinner on the first night, we were surpised to find an ice bucket with cava, and a large bowl of fruit. Now how nice was that? I had said we were celebrating my husband's retirement, so what a generous touch. Wednesday we were invited to join the management for a cocktail party before a sumptous Gala Dinner. Breakfast was brilliant too, with as much cava/bucks fizz as you want at that time in the morning! There is not a lot to do at Son Caliu except relax in the lovely gardens which is where the pool is located, then directly onto a very small cove with 2 beach bars. There are unlimited sun beds and towels. The whole place is spotlessly clean, the staff are very friendly, the hotel gorgeous and I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottingham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed on a great deal from Travel Zoo. 3 night break with Half board. Hotel was spacious and luxurious with many lovely areas to sit and chill. Rooms were excellent, with top class cleanliness and the bath robes were a great addition. Food choice in the restaurant was excellent and plentiful. The Cava at breakfast was a particular treat. We used the Spa which made our break very relaxed. The staff were very attentive, and nothing too much trouble. The gala dinner was a suprise and a lovely touch. The Manager was charming as were his staff. Plenty of comfy seating around the pool and the hotel location was perfect, being able to walk out of the gardens and straight onto the beach. We spent most of our time around the hotel complex, so we must come back again and explore more of the beautiful island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
1.2 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
1.5 km away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
4.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
411 reviews
58.1 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,169 reviews
17.6 km away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: ₹ 8,192 - ₹ 19,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area; just 12 km from the city centre of Palma de Mallorca and 25 km from the airport. Our main virtue is the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing