We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but lacking in a few areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but lacking in a few areas”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

All in all this hotel was of a good overall standard.
Clean and comfortable rooms with more than enough wardrobe space and living areas.

Food was plentiful. not always to my tastebuds but i understand alot of nationalities have to be catered for but i always managed to find a sufficient meal.

One of my dislikes of this hotel was that although the staff were quick to greet and say hola it seemed a little robotic and never evolved into a conversation with the exception of the argentinian lifeguard who was incredibly friendly and quick to offer local advice and stop for a chat!

Another problem I personally had with this hotel that as there were arrivals and departures at all times of day and night and the blocks of rooms had little garden courtyard areas between them, i found that groups of travellers would congregate when arriving and departing making one hell of a racket and the noise caused by wheely suitcase on the tiles echos at all times of night not great when i had a restless two year old, maybe a luggage porter service would stop this problem.

Room Tip: rooms in block starting '45**' face the shade all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeysmrs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Club Cala Barca . We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations. We will certainly take into our consideration. This gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.


Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    870
    289
    92
    50
See reviews for
1,640
352
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
flossey0540
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Really just wanted to review as this hotel as excellent!

Having read most of the recent reviews I agree, A great value hotel and would go back! Would also like try other hotels /resorts in the group

For the manager:
Food was good!
Tea & coffee facilities in room would be good!
Yes! Toasters rubbish, need replacing!
Resort had everything you'd want.
Health & safety on resort excellent!
Staff were helpful at all times! (which I find really important) 2 queues a good suggestion!
Bit isolated, so would recommend a car if you like to walk around shops! (however great priced shops on Complex) as there was 6 of us, we needed two taxis! Cala d'or 11 euros so a pricey enough afternoon out! We went there 3 times in the week!

Room Tip: No room service! Can't remove it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossey0540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Club Cala Barca. We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations. We will certainly take into our consideration. This gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.


Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We decided to take a break from 28th April to 1st May 2012, We arrived quite late in the evening and were welcomed by a lovely lady in reception. We went t our room and found we had been upgraded to a family room which was lovely. That night the heavens opened and we unpacked, had something to eat and made our way to the discoteque where there was an Abba performance which was very good. The next day the sun was shining (ya hoo!) and we explored the hotel further. We had breakfast which had loads really, lovely pancakes, fried eggs, fresh fruit etc. Food is very good and the chefs had no problem when I asked for my fried egg to be turned. Then we went to reception where there was cava on ice and fresh orange to make bucks fizz and a selection of biscuits. Absolute heaven. We soaked up the sun and enjoyed the food both at lunch and dinner. There is wine, red, rose and white on tap and cola, fanta, water etc. It was my birthday while we were there and when we returned t our room there was a bottle of sparkling wine and two champagne glasses there. What a lovely touch, especially when we hadn't mentioned it was my birthday. I also had 2 back, neck and shoulder massages in the spa which were absolutely fantastic and I should know as I am a bit of a conesseur of massages and I can honestly say it was amazing, right down to the lovely hot towel at the end and the tea, fruit and water I was given afterwards. There are pools everywhere around the grounds and free snorkling lessons if you want. There is horse riding if you fancy it and various activities you can partake in. We didn't have time as it was such a short break but all in all I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back. It is remote so don't expect shops etc but that is not the fault of the hotel so if you want that then perhaps pick another location. Thank you Hotel Cala Barca, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We were in 5240 which is a family room directly above the spa and opposite the main buffet area. Fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Club Cla Barca. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your motivating words with our team. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.

We are improving our services and studying the possible renewal of the hotel
Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well our outstanding cuisine and varied gastronomy.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

There are a lot of good reviews on here that do an excellent job of describing the hotel so I will keep it reasonably brief. Firstly - the food was really good, I am slightly perplexed by some of the negative comments; it did get a bit dull towards the end of the week but this is more to do with my own greed than an actual fault of the hotel! We had a very fussy, vegetarian teenager travelling with us and she was as happy as a pig in the proverbial.

The pool was absolutely freezing. This did put a real dampner on the week as the kids couldn't stay in the water very long before going absolutely blue. The scenery, lay out and amount of chairs was perfect though.

Walked around the coastal path to the national park - cala mondrago I think? Really nice walk, we did it with a 5yr old both ways, 3 times in the week and she was fine with the terrain and distance, takes about 40mins at a fairly slow pace... the scenery is mind blowing, as is the little cove you get to. I thought the hotel beach was quite well maintained despite others comments, only a few stones which were not a big deal.

We went over Easter weekend and on Good Friday it went from being busy to being totally rammed. This became a bit of an issue when the heavens opened and everyone flocked to the inside bars etc. There seemed to be some ill feeling between the Spanish guests and English guests, we got sworn at a few times, apparently this is not unusual. After the weekend it calmed down though and the tension went away.

The kids club was good, a bit of a lifesaver when it was raining as the kids were going stir crazy stuck indoors.

My main recommendations would be to do something about the pool temp and to try and build in some more indoor activities for when it rains etc - thankfully we took our own DVD player with us which was a stroke of luck as we ended up stuck indoors for 4 days.

Porto Pedro (?) was nice, good to cycle to or walk. Really nice little harbour and some restaurants if you eventually tire of the hotel food although mega ££££

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Club Cala Barca and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delight to read that we did fulfill your expectations about the cost-value ratio.
Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are glad to read that your kids have enjoyed our entertainment program. The entertainment team work very hard with illusion and enthusiasm to make all our guest feel welcome. Especially the children

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was regretting booking the hotel before I even got there because the transfer took 1 hour 20 mins along lonely country lanes and we didn't see any people. So if you want shops etc to have a walk to anytime then this hotel is no good for you. The reception is large white and cold looking. We had to be taken to our room by car. We had a 6 year old with us and complained straight away about the distance and they very kindly moved us so we were near everything.
The weather was not kind to us so spent a lot of time sitting around. There is free wi-fi for 30 mins in reception.....information that was not mentioned until I complained about the 1 euro for 10 mins they wanted if you want to use it in your bedroom. I think they charge about 20 euros for the week to use it anywhere. For such a large chain of hotels I think this is bad.....more and more hotels are offering free wi-fi. Also, they have no license to sell cigarettes. We had one smoker in our party. We were told there was a restaurant nearby but it wasn't open so you have to walk to Porto Petro which takes about 20-30 mins.
The bus to Cala d'Or doesn't start from the hotel til sometime in May and the taxi is 11 euros each way. We decided to walk, which was sometimes alongside the roadways, but we did it in one hour.
The main restaurant was very good and a very good selection of food. They did advertise another restaurant but this was not open yet even though it was after easter. They also advertised a Pizzeria but this was a cafe like place that food is available only at certain times. Staff were excellent and the cleanliness was amazing.
We had twin beds in our room so I don't know if you can request a double. We pushed them together but it meant one of them was against a light switch so everytime I moved it kept switching the light on all night ! It was very cold in the evening and the heating was not good in the room. They had a lovely big shower (no bath) with a wall dispenser for soap but no shower cap or nice toiletries. Plus very frustrating, no plugs in our bedroom. Had to keep unplugging the tv to charge mobile, computer etc.
They decided one night to have the entertainment on the outside stage and we were all sat there covered in blankets from our beds. There is an indoor stage too but the entertainment was not too good. They have a kids club for a short time each day. The swimming pool looked amazing but it was freezing cold so no-one swam in it the whole time we were there. There is a little cove to the beach a few mins away.
So even though the place looked lovely it was too isolated for our family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your motivating words. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Club Cala Barca . Thank you for describing with so a powerful words our complete services and facilities.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
59.8 km away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
1.2 km away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
57.5 km away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.8 km away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,309 reviews
51.6 km away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,531 reviews
48.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trencada, s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,651 - ₹ 29,932
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations, you have just found the Official Friendship Creator for your children: the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca. They will play and make inseparable friends here during their stay. And best of all? You will enjoy some free time while they have amazing experiences. Discover more reasons to choose our family hotel, just one minute’s walk from the beach and designed totally with children in mind. Fun for your children. Whatever their age, they will have a great time in the Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub. Painting workshops, water games, handicrafts, minidisco…. They’re guaranteed to make friends! There are also dozens of shows for the whole family to enjoy, like musicals, magic shows and live music. The most comprehensive All Inclusive. This family hotel is so big and has so many facilities and restaurants that you’ll feel like you are in a small summer holiday village. Can you smell it? There is Mexican, Italian, Spanish and international cuisine. There are even food trucks and ice cream stands! And, of course, Mallorca’s most typical dishes. A thousand and one sports. At this All Inclusive hotel, you can take tennis and diving classes. You can also take part in dozens of other sporting activities such as hiking, Pilates, swimming, Zumba and archery. Holidays are the best time to do what you enjoy most! Ready, steady…, dive in! We have 8 swimming pools for all ages and a fun pool in which youngsters can enjoy a world of adventures. They can invade the castle, hide in the tunnels, slide down the water chutes or drench themselves under the big waterfall. Take a break. Try a massage with aromatherapy oils containing natural plant extracts in the SPA Sensations or enjoy a dip in the whirlpool bath with your partner while your children enjoy their activities. Just what you need! Idyllic beaches. Not only are you right on the sea front in Porto Petro, but you can also find other coves nearby in the Mondrago Natural Park. The green of the pine groves contrasting with the turquoise sea and the golden sands are sure to amaze you. Pure nature. There’s no better place than the Mondrago Natural Park to pack your rucksack and go on an excursion with your children. The kids will have the time of their lives watching the birds or seeing the waves crash against the cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing