We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for price you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad for price you pay”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked weekend break here with my boyfriend after spotting excellent deal on expedia (£30pppn all inclusive) We hired a car from the airport and hotel was easy to find after a 45 minute drive.

On arrival very good impressions large lobby area, and check in quick and simple. Was a short walk to our room, we were in block 49, although we are both young fit and healthy, might be a pain with a buggy, but saying that would prefer to be a little further away as could imagine there would be a fair amount of noise during high season (especially in the suite rooms which appeared to be over the snack bar area)

Room was ok, had small burn holes in top cover on bed and ceiling tile had been discloged and wouldn't close but overall clean and pleasant, although very sparse, just twin beds tv and 4 small table type chairs. Empty fridge and a microwave? Shower was very good and powerful, nice touch they provided showergel etc.

The food was ok, the friday and staurday night was very busy at dinner and breakfast but by sunday was very empty, selection of food was ok for a weekend but wouldn't want to eat there for too much longer than that. The coffee and cake served in snack bar late afternoon seemed pointless, it was 1 tray of cake (if there was any left) and 1 tray of ham, 1 of cheese a basket of bread and a toaster (that was very slow), although the staff in the snack bar area would make you a decent cup of coffee (the machine coffee wasn't up to much)

we didn't experience too many queues for drinks at either the lobby bar, snack bar or disco area. The disco area was very dark and a bit cold (the weather wasn't great and the only doors in were left wide open) although they carried on serving drinks until 1am and music was up to date.

Lovely little beach area with some rocks you can walk around, pools looked ok but can imagine would be heaving in the summer and not enough space to splash about, no slides for kids.

One gripe was went to reception to borrow some pool towels, and was told had to leave 10e deposit for each towel, I had no cash on me as not long arrived they wouldn't charge the deposit to my room (even though they had taken my credit card details) and as i didn't have cash they wouldn't give me a towel which annoyed me a little, as not everyone would have cash in pocket at an all inclusive hotel?

Overall ok as a base for exploring the island although is a little way from anywhere we did look for the way to walk to next town along but couldn't find it, wouldn't want to of spent any longer than 3 nights there though

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaileytuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manage at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar. Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to meet your expectations. The head departments have been informed about your comments and I am sure they will help us to improve.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

The Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel is located on the Sa Barca Trencada cove, on the east coast of the island of Mallorca, abeautifully natural enclave adjoining the Mondragó Natural Park. The hotel is also just a short distance from thepicturesque towns of Porto Petro (1.9 mi) and Cala d'Or (4.3 mi).

For us is very important that our guest feel welcome. That is because one of the hotel room facilities for family´s with baby’s is a microwave.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Kindest regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    831
    276
    88
    47
See reviews for
1,532
343
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Resort is stunning if a little isolated but the Hotel with its cool lobby and spottless grounds set in pine trees with a beautiful little cove beach is a relaxing paradise.We hired a car from the Airport £40 pounds for 5 days with a full tank of fuel ,a no brainer,the roads are easy to drive on and the hotel was straight forward to find ,a 50 minute journey at most.
The resort is fun filled for families ,with a great mini club and hard working Animation team.
Food is Varied ,hot , great presentation and served with a smile,definatly something for everyone.We went All inclusive ,so experianced breakfast ,lunch,dinner ,snacks ,drinks and this service was to a very high standard
The Staff are all very helpful and speak every language
Rooms are apartment /villa style and are clean with good storage space ,a fridge and combi micro oven ,very modern flat screen tv ,bathrooms have shower gel etc towels , terrace or balcony with outdoor furniture .Being really picky I would have liked maybe more furnishings maybe a rug or more cushions and a kettle is always helpful with the baby feeds.
The pools are plentyful but cold ,There is one pool that is supposed to be heated but it wasn't ! Iberostar should definately look into this because out of season it is a big drawback for people .
tennis courts ,ping pong,bowls ,horse riding ,bike hire ,fittness classes ,dive centre ,squash courts ,pine wood walks ,out door stage,disco ,Spa and Wellness centre
This Hotel has it all for a great family holiday ,we will be going back.
The Area
Anyone looking for bars ,clubs,shops etc and dont like kids ,I'd say this is not the area of majorca for you ,although cala dor has a little of that going on ,its about 6 Miles away .
port pedro is really pretty and has a few bars and a harbour ,its a half hour walk
fantastic beach 20 minute walk through the nature reserve pine forest to Mondrago.Aqua blue sea.

Room Tip: groundfloor rooms are better for kids ,sunny and safe enclosed terrace to play in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear guest,

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole Iberostar Club Cala Barca area and we are glad to hear that we succeeded. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome.

We would like to apologize for the pool problem. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.
We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We arrived at this hotel on the 16th April and left on the 20th. The words thank goodness spring to mind! Totally isolated hotel, 20 minutes walk to the nearest town and a taxi ride away from Cala D'Or.

Check-in a nightmare - everyone standing around, filling in forms for the hotel and only one girl talking to everyone with the reception staff printing out the booking slips necessary for everyone, why was this not done before hand they had the names of all arriving surely.

The hotel itself was busy with a lot of families there with their children, in the summer it would be a nightmare! Not enough going on and in the four days we were there they never played music so it had no atmosphere.

The beds were excellent, the maid service good, the food normal for all inclusive, the staff good, especially Francisco and Pepe in the bars who were friendly and approachable.

They shut the lobby bar due to no staff I presume, so in the freezing cold and it was by the way you were having to get coffee, drinks etc from another area. Why? They knew how many people were in the hotel so adequate staff should have been available.

Iberostar Hotel are normally good - I would definately give this a miss, Isolated and not up too standard.

Room Tip: We were in room 5349 above the restaurant and central to the lobby main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libraryasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar. We would like to apologize for “any “situation under our standards” .Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt so well attended to by our staff. Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

We would like to thank you for your sharing your experiences. We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and we will do our best to make your feel welcome.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

we arrived at the hotel around 1.30pm and due to large queues the staff greeted us and asked us for our paperwork and passports .We were then given our wristbands and told due to the volume of guests at check in we were welcome to go and have lunch and refreshments while they sorted out our rooms which my family and i thought was a nice gesture as we had been travelling since early morning.
this was our first time in mallorca and we didn t no what time to expect .what we discovered was very pleasing.the hotel was spotlessly clean the staff were both friendly and polite which continued for the whole of the 14 days we was there .our room was more than big enough for a family of four (family suite block 71)and was cleaned every single day.the tv in the room had 7 english channels bbc1 2 itv cbeebies disney channel bbc news and cnn which went down well with our kids .
the kids joined the kids club our eldest did the maxi club which did different sporting activaties which she really enjoyed and our youngest joined the mini club which did colouring dancing games trips to the beach and much more he really enjoyed going and making friends the star friends were brilliant especially christina .
the food was excellent freshly cooked food in front of you from fish pork beef chicken pancakes omlettes always full never had to wait for anything. there never was a dirty table the waiting staff never stopped cleaning
the beach was a bit of a let down but the complex backs on to the national park and the walks are amazing and not to taxing .the kids loved exploring the rocks
all in all you will struggle to find a cleaner more hospitable hotel and would definatly return.be warned at the weekends the hotel fills up with spaniards who on a whole are noisey ignorant and rude that was the only downside to this great hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest,

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole Iberostar Club Cala Barca area and we are glad to hear that we succeeded. We also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome.

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Lovely hotel out of season. Went there in Easter week in April 2012 and the resort was only half full although there are a lot of Spanish at Weekends when it gets busier. Mainly Germans and Brits and very pleasant staff who couldn't do enough for you. Resort very clean and rooms spacious and modern. Food great - very varied and always hot with soup and salad options and hot plate's running every meal with Chef's cooking meats and fish to order.

Stayed All Inclusive and would highly recommend it. Great range of drinks - cocktails / spirits and would highly recommend this option. None of that, big queues with 1 person serving and sorry only 2 drinks and always served with a smile.

Entertainment team tried their best and brought in entertainment most nights was typical Spanish fare that does the rounds I believe from one Hotel to the next - watchable but forgettable if you know what I mean....

Only gripes would be 'heated' pools weren't and the weather hit and miss but we'll be returning and booking again with Travel Republic who's prices and arrangements are faultless but in June / July I believe it'd be a brilliant hotel for anyone, all ages.

Definitely a 4 star hotel !

Room Tip: lots of steps around the resort so if you're not mobile, ask for somewhere near reception. hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexsunseekeers102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your motivating words with our team. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are improving our services and studying the possible renewal of the hotel. Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness of our entertainment team. They work very hard to make all our guest have a grear holiday.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
18.2 km away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
3.5 km away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.2 km away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.5 km away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
53.8 km away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
48.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trancada s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,438 - ₹ 25,792
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations, you have just found the Official Friendship Creator for your children: the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca. They will play and make inseparable friends here during their stay. And best of all? You will enjoy some free time while they have amazing experiences. Discover more reasons to choose our family hotel, just one minute’s walk from the beach and designed totally with children in mind. Fun for your children. Whatever their age, they will have a great time in the Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub. Painting workshops, water games, handicrafts, minidisco…. They’re guaranteed to make friends! There are also dozens of shows for the whole family to enjoy, like musicals, magic shows and live music. The most comprehensive All Inclusive. This family hotel is so big and has so many facilities and restaurants that you’ll feel like you are in a small summer holiday village. Can you smell it? There is Mexican, Italian, Spanish and international cuisine. There are even food trucks and ice cream stands! And, of course, Mallorca’s most typical dishes. A thousand and one sports. At this All Inclusive hotel, you can take tennis and diving classes. You can also take part in dozens of other sporting activities such as hiking, Pilates, swimming, Zumba and archery. Holidays are the best time to do what you enjoy most! Ready, steady…, dive in! We have 8 swimming pools for all ages and a fun pool in which youngsters can enjoy a world of adventures. They can invade the castle, hide in the tunnels, slide down the water chutes or drench themselves under the big waterfall. Take a break. Try a massage with aromatherapy oils containing natural plant extracts in the SPA Sensations or enjoy a dip in the whirlpool bath with your partner while your children enjoy their activities. Just what you need! Idyllic beaches. Not only are you right on the sea front in Porto Petro, but you can also find other coves nearby in the Mondrago Natural Park. The green of the pine groves contrasting with the turquoise sea and the golden sands are sure to amaze you. Pure nature. There’s no better place than the Mondrago Natural Park to pack your rucksack and go on an excursion with your children. The kids will have the time of their lives watching the birds or seeing the waves crash against the cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing