We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 186
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Inturotel Esmeralda Park(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 188
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 250
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Parque Mar(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 199
US$ 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inturotel Sa Marina(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 268
US$ 259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Sea Club Martha's(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 259
Otel.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Ponent Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 303
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
521
324
79
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
324
79
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentssplash areaself cateringair conblock bbouncy castleplay parkgreat holidaygo kartsfamily holidayspanish nightmin walkbbq nightgood sizeentertainment staffgreat familytop floor
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We have just returned from a brilliant week in Cala D'or and our stay at the Cala D'or Playa Apartments. Check in was friendly and easy and our room was immaculate and well laid out. The only slight problem was the toilet seat wasn't attached properly but once reception was notified this was remedied immediately. The public areas were also very clean. We were there on B&B basis and the breakfast was superb with plenty of choice. The pool area was well laid out with plenty of sunbeds (which were free) and a nice splash area for the kids as well as a playground. The location of these apartments is spot on sitting between the beaches of Cala Gran and Cala Esmerelda and the town centre not 10 mins walk away. We were in a side room on the 3rd floor which was very quiet at night. Perfect when you have young children. There is a nice walkway outside the back gate of the hotel which takes you through an olive grove and you access the road via this to a mini train stop . I would recommend buying a ticket for the mini train as it takes you around the resort of Cala D'or and may give you some good ideas on where to visit and places to eat etc. The staff at Cala D'or Playa are brilliant. Very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this accommodation very highly for young families.

Room Tip: Our higher room was very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruceg270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The hotel had allocated us exactly the room we had asked for (223, block B, top floor, overlooking the pool and the garden). However when we arrived we realised that the balconies of the top floor rooms have solid walls rather than railings, which meant that our kids couldn't easily see the view. Despite the hotel being fully booked they were really helpful and managed to switch us with the room below (123) with only a very short wait, during which time the kids launched themselves into the pool!
We booked half board, so made little use of the kitchenette facilities but it was well equipped. The room was clean and comfortable but we didn't spend a lot of time in it other than for sleeping.
The food at breakfast and dinner was tasty, fresh and plentiful. Nothing especially 'spanish' on offer, the catering seemed geared to the mainly British and German clientele. Breakfast included freshly made omelettes, eggs, bacon, hash browns, beans, courgette fritters (ok, not so British!), mushrooms, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cheeses, cold meats, toast etc. A machine made freshly squeezed orange juice and two coffee machines meant the queue never got too long. Dinner were similarly varied and included freshly cooked steak/chicken/lamb and fish each night, plus pasta dishes, rice dishes, a fresh and appetising salad bar, daintily presented starter 'nibbles', a wide range of cakes and fresh fruit and pots of desserts.
We were particularly impressed by the Animacion team, Rosie, Anna and the boys, who ran kids and adults activities during the day and put on very accomplished dance shows at night.
The location of the hotel is fantastic - two minutes walk to the beach (Cala Gran), and the centre of the resort with a variety of restaurants and touristy shops. A small market popped up on Sunday evening. We tried but got lost looking for Cala Esmeralda, though it's even closer. The water at Cala Gran was clean and gently shelved so great for kids to paddle/swim, beach well kept and clean, soft sand with rocky paths either side. We took our hire car to Cala Mondrago on one day which is a beautiful beach also.
The hotel pool is clean and pleasant, with a bubble pool, kids pool and mini water playground. Plenty of sunbeds available (though we weren't there in high season). Weather in mid-October was comfortably warm although the pool was a bit chilly to start with (but I'm a wuss!). The covered dining area adjacent to the pool offered shade and activities for children during the day. Sun started to set around 5.30, which gave time to get washed up and ready for dinner 7-9pm. Mini disco for the kids started at 8.30pm. There was also a bouncy castle alongside the stage during the evening to amuse the kids!

Room Tip: Upper floor balconies are solid-walled - more sunshine from above but less sideways view. Block B overlooks garden and/or pool
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Our 4-people were here for 1 week in the mid of Oct 2017 and we did enjoy our time very much. The apartment was always clean and peaceful. Staffs were friendly and helpful. The apartment was very kid-friendly as our kids liked the swimming pool, kid-playing area. We also liked the buffet breakfast very much, especially the fresh orange juice, the best breakfast offered by a hotel I've ever tasted. The apartment location is good as well.It is just 300 m far from the 2 beaches. And it takes only 10 munites to walk shopping for food.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hieu_LRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

So if you aren't then avoid. We didn't bother with the pool as it was mainly young families and also colder than the sea. Staff very pleasant and if you didn't want help or cleaning of the room etc then they kept in the background. All rooms with veranda, spacious and clean. Well equipped, two coffee makers!!! Quiet over night. Near the small beaches. Supermarket up the road and walking distance to centre of town and nightlife.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank angelofthesarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent a week in Cala d'or during October and the holiday exceeded expectations. The weather was perfect (24-25c) and the resort was beautiful. We booked the holiday with friends and were looking for a chilled relaxing holiday which is exactly what we got. Its not quite authentic Spain as the resort attracts Brits and Europeans so it is a little touristy.

We arranged transportation via the hotel which was really good. On arrival, the check in was straight forward and the receptionist very friendly. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor and was clean, modern and fresh. The apartment was cleaned daily. The bathroom in particular was very nice but the temperature on the shower a little temperamental. The apartment had a large balcony overlooking the residential area, pool and sea. There were twin beds and two sofa beds. The sofa beds really let this place down as they were really uncomfortable (to sit and sleep on). The kitchen facilities were also on the basic side- the hob was far too small for the pans which were provided. Trying to cook 2 pans was really difficult. On a plus there was a TV with British channels. My boyfriend (an avid coffee lover) enjoyed the use of the nespresso machine. Coffee pods were available for purchase at reception. The pool facilities were good (jacuzzi, pool, kids pool & splash park) and we spent a lot of time by the pool and always managed to get a sun-bed.The pool bar was also good and reasonably priced. The hotel is probably best suited for families as there was a busy entertainment schedule for all the kids (including a giant inflatable croc in the pool).

Most shops, restaurants and bars were within a 5/10 min walk and we used a local supermarket at the end of the road - a tad expensive but met our needs. There was an assortment of restaurants and bars (Indian, Chinese, Italian, English, Spanish)- and we dined out most nights. As the resort was starting to quiet down we found restaurants weren't very busy. There was a really good ice cream bar (Cala d'ice). And of course two beaches 5-10min walk away - Cala Gran & Cala Esmerelda. These were the real honey pot of the resort and usually busy as they are small cove like beaches. The sea is so clear that when you are swimming you can see the fish. We also went on a Starfish boat trip to porto colom and we got to see more of the local area.

Overall, we had a great holiday. If you are looking for a cheap relaxing holiday out of peak season - then October is a great time to go. We couldn't have asked for better weather! The apartment/hotel is well suited for families, but catered well to our needs. Value for money but improvement needed - but then for 3* it is pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews