We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar Hotels Ferrera Blanca
Nearby Hotels
US$ 328
US$ 318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 187
US$ 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inturotel Cala Azul Park(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ona Village Cala D'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 212
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Apartamentos Parque Mar(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 151
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 221
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$ 205
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,054)
Filter reviews
2,054 results
Traveller rating
1,211
597
176
53
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,211
597
176
53
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teaman italian restaurantsplash poolmexican nightmain restaurantthemed nightsmain poolsnack bargreat holidayevening entertainmentsmall roadthe lion kingself cateringplenty of choicebar staffyear old daughterall ages
Filter
Updating list...
1,292 - 1,297 of 2,054 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

yes it's good to be home but not with all this rain we are getting at the moment I love my 1st trip to Spain and meeting all the gang Aline, John, Ciprian, Veronica and Zehra made our holiday really special .....thank you so much. the thing's that you did for all the people staying at the hotel was just fantastic ..... Jack loved all the kids entertainment that was provided.... all you'r efforts where excellent x x x x

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirsty29274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Myself and our large family group (including 4 children) have just returned from our 10 day all inclusive stay at The Ferrera Blanca. For some it was our 3rd year of staying at the all inclusive hotel and this year, as the previous years, it certainly did not disappoint!! The members of our group who had never stayed here before were extremely impressed with the hotel!

All staff members work exceptionally hard, working a lot of hours and yet they all remain very helpful, friendly and always smiling! Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Bar/waiter/waitress staff are the best! Very friendly, great with the kids, and as a bonus will make your drinks to how you want them (which is great if you like strong measures!! Or vice-versa!!)

Reception staff are certainly some of the best ever, speak excellent english and will assist with any queries effectively and efficiently.

Entertainment - wow!! AMAZING team of entertainers who work very very hard to
get all involved. Aline, zarah, Cipri, Jon & Veronica all do a FANTASTIC job and deserve a medal fir what they do! The Animacion Team NEVER fail to deliver and this year, they are delivering a BRILLIANT entertainment service at the Ferrera Blanca to both adults and children. Very friendly and funny, speak excellent English, always jolly and happy, mix in well with holiday makers, absolutely great with the kids, with a 'no pressure' feel if you didn't want to join in an activity. we got to know them really well and it was great to meet such great people and make new friends with them! Keep up the excellent hard work guys!! You do a fantastic job! You work together really really well!!!!

The maid service again is excellent, they came everyday and cleaned our room. The rooms are modern - we had a family room with separate bedroom, bathroom facilities are great, sky tv & could watch ITV!!. Only downside was the hair dryer, I would advise to take your own, but that's just a minor thing compared to how great the rooms are.

Food - again really good, the pizza was gorgeous , as was the paella!! Nice selection of desserts which the kids loved! The restaurant in the daytime played music in the background which gave it a ice atmosphere - nice touch!

Pool area - excellent for adults and kids! 3 pools to choose from, with the main pool getting the busiest. This year there was a lifeguard on duty who watched the main pool area and the 2nd pool at the back end of the hotel which wasn't provided in previous years. I thought this was good!

All in all, this hotel is great for kids, great for adults, great all round! Great great GREAT!! Can't fault it!! And hopefully we shall return next year!! Yeehaaa!! :) and if Ferrera Blanca staff read this you should all be proud of yourselves because the hard work you put in certainly pays off, you are all STARS!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elise-Zumba-Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this fab hotel. Lovely welcome as always, amazes me that even though the staff see hundreds and hundreds of guests they still remember you! They didn't need to make any improvements really since last year however the food choice in the main restaurant was better,proper sausages for breakfast on all but 2 of the mornings! Ice creams for kids on all inclusive better, instead of mini milk type ice cream now cornettos, big feast type ice cream, ice cream sandwiches and ice lollies. Sunbeds around 2 of the pools were upgraded whilst we were there. I was surprised to see that they now charge to use tennis courts, didn't bother me as I had no intention of playing tennis however I do think they should be free especially on an all inclusive. Excellent service in restaurant, special mention to jose and isobel always smiling! Also thanks to bar staff who kept us hydrated whilst watching england footy games. Animation team brilliant, made such an effort with all of us and made us feel like old friends! Missing you all loads. Thanks for all the diplomas, pete is especially proud of the one he got for best water polo goal keeper!! Definitely a hotel suited to families, although we did meet people without children who had been before, in fact about 80% of people we spoke to had been before and of those that hadn't said they would definitely return. I think that's testament to an amazing hotel!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank carolineashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have just returned from 10 days in the sun at Ferrara Blanca, a hotel we chose primarily for
the positive reviews on trip advisor and also the fact that it is advertised as having kids club facilities. We were NOT disappointed in either count.

The hotel is about a 45 minute cab ride from Palma airport so unless you are prepared to do a number of stops before arriving at the hotel/ returning to the airport I would recommend private transfer although this will cost you about 150 euro or thereabouts, but in my opinion money well spent to save extending journey time particularly where tired little ones are concerned.

The hotel itself is well presented, and has around 600 approx guests. The grounds and pool areas (of which there are 3), are kept clean and tidy by the ground crews. The main part of the complex is located around a rectangular pool with around a 0.5metre shallow end which will appeal as it did to us, to families with young children who rely on armbands in the water. The other 2 pools are deeper and so are good deal less noisy. However, the main rectangular pool is also where water sport activities are played every day. Adjacent to the pool is a bar area where you can get your refreshments throughout the day run with supreme efficiency by the host of bar staff always eager to serve with a smile despite the occasional impolite guests that I overheard (not British either..... I'll leave you to make a guess....!)

As mentioned on earlier posts, there are plenty of sun beds but regrettably as with most hotels there is not an enforced no-towelling policy at the poolside and on most days almost all of the decent spots had been 'bagged'. I did raise this with the reception who did advise that reserving sun beds is strictly against hotel policy and the lifeguard (who was new on our 10 day stay), is supposedly meant to remove any towels on beds... I never witnessed this happening though but our family were happy to make use of the plentiful chairs and tables also around the poolside area. I would hope this perennial issue could be addressed to make this hotel stand head and shoulders above the rest for future seasons... Ie. No reserving of beds before 10am, (which is when breakfast is served until).

One thing you do need to be aware of if you intend to get your children to sleep at a reasonably early hour... the children's mini disco is on at 8.30pm each night followed by Bingo at around 9pm. The evening entertainment (which refreshingly is tame enough not to worry about suitability for your youngsters), begins at 10 until 11pm and the bar closes at 11.30pm. Again, this is all centred around the main pool area mentioned above and many of the apartments are enclosing this area so you will be subjected to. A reasonable degree of 'noise' from as the evenings entertainment if you are located in and around this area. Suites numbered B12 & B14.

If you wish for a quiter evening this could be perhaps be found with the smaller studio apartments (numbered B8,B9,B10) and also the what are termed the Double Supreme accommodation (incl. kitchen facilities) that are moderately further out of the ‘livelier zone (numbered B13,B15,B16).

You can hire towels at the hotel reception to use around the pool or beach for a deposit of 10 Euros.Also, for those all inclusive people, if you wish to do a trip or two you can arrange with the reception (the night beforehand), for the kitchens to prepare for you a packed lunch (although they will not customise your lunch ie. all packed lunches will be the same although they will consider a different option for vegetarian tastes). This is great and ensures you can still have a light meal midday and not have to fork out for food whilst out.

The food in the main restaurant each and every day, was of a high standard packed with flavour – a god mix of meat and fish courses. With sufficient variety of foods to suit almost all palates although families with less adventurous children (like ours) will likely stick to a diet of chips, bread rolls followed by ice-cream! Comments I have seen mentioned not enough variety – I guess these individuals pile it high on day one, which understandably you can only do for so long before dishes are repeated on later days in your holiday. However, the snack bar (clue is in the title) offered the same selection of burgers, sausages, bread rolls and salad options was a little disappointing.
Overall, I would say comparable to good food that we have had when cruising. The all inclusive option is definitely the way to go and was evidently the most favoured option for most of the guests that we saw during our stay.

There is free WiFi accesss in the main reception area for all to use but if you wish to use a PC they charge 1 Euro for 15 minutes for individual access.

For those that want to include beaches in their holiday, you can take your pick of 5 really beautiful beaches that are all within easy walking distance of the hotel although you will of course have to pay for sun bed and parasol hire on there unless you want to ‘rough it’ with your own mats and sunshades and of course you will not be able to enjoy drinks and snacks throughout the day as you would were you at the hotel poolside.

If you wish to venture into the busy centre of Cala D’Or on the odd day or two - it is an easy 10 minute walk and you will find plenty bars and restaurants to visit whilst there but I guess prices are similar to what you would pay in the UK so don’t expect to get cheap food and drink here you wont find it….

However, the shining light of this hotel for us and many other families were the events (animation staff) providing throughout the day activities for those throughout the day for young and old. Children can be kept entertained with a variety of activities offered each day by Aline, Zehra and Veronica. Whilst the adults can enjoy good humoured fun with John and Ciprian : doing air rifle, air pistol, archery, French bowls, beach volley ball, water polo being the highlights. If you really want the most out of your holiday I would seriously recommend that all members of the family get involved on a few events (especially the ‘just-for-laughs’ water polo – which regrettably my wife and I only played on the last day). But it is all included in your holiday at no extra cost, so represents great value!

Despite the obvious repetition of their daily duties week in week out, this group of individuals are always warmly welcoming, smiling and doing all that they can to make your holiday really memorable which on the evening of our departure was self evident for many reluctant departing families....

To sum up, we all had a really fun holiday and we hope to booking our return to Ferrara Blanca very soon for 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

travelled in August 2011, just me and my 11yr son. staff very welcoming nothing was too much trouble. food was good - very varied, son is a fussy eater and he was more than happy in finding something different to eat most days / evenings. Room very spacious and kept very clean.
Was offered a free transfer to sister hotel in Alcudia (Condesa de la Bahia) for last few days of hols - again was absolutley brillant, on the beach, kids entertainment fantastic - would definelty re-book at either hotel again. Experienced no problems was simply offered a transfer to alternative as sister hotel had undergone a majot re-furb and it was purely for promotional purposes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah_Jane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews