We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fifth visit to the gran sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fifth visit to the gran sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

excellent as usual great rooms , good views ,pleasant staff. we have stayed here five times and it has always been excellent. be alert when out walking as youngsters on electric bikes are frequently riding up and down as well as the cycles.

Room Tip: choose a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    105
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
438
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We have just checked out of the hotel Gran Sol after a one week stay.

The hotel itself is lovely, the other reviews on this site are accurate as is the thomsons brochure.

We cannot fault the hotel, the room was immaculate and kept incredibly clean during our stay. We has requested a sea view and got a room on the side of the hotel overlooking the neighbouring hotel with a partial sea view.

The room was spacious, modern and cool which is what we expected. There was a minibar which we did not use other than to store our own drinks.

The communal areas are in keeping with the rest of the hotel modern and clean.

All the staff were polite and helpful and the hotel manager played a proactive role managing the hotel. She was regularly observing and checking the grounds even collecting bits of rubbish that had been dropped.

The hotel has 2 pools and access to a man made beach. The beach is not private and it costs €4 per sunbed/ parasol. The beach is very rocky and beach shoes are essential. As the beach is man made debris sometimes accumulated as ignorant tourists dropped rubbish in the water.

The pool is situated to the right of the hotel- with about 30 sunbeds. We did not attempt to get a sunbed during our weeks stay as I refuse to set my alarm to join the daily sunbed snatchers dance at 6.30am. Having said that there was often some beds available during breakfast but it wasn't really our cup of tea. There were the same people in the same beds each day. We preferred the beach or the rooftop deck which were both un crowded.

Beach towels were available from reception that could be swapped whenever you wanted.

Although we liked the hotel and could not fault it we would not return to the gran sol. We did not like cala bona- it is a tacky lifeless resort that tries to appeal to a wider market and ends up failing miserably. It has zero character and feels like a cross between Phoenix nights and the hotel from the channel 4 programme. We found ourselves going out late for dinner so that we could come straight back to the hotel. This may sound snobby and I appreciate that this may appeal to some but it was not for us. This is a shame because the hotel is definelty the best hotel in cala bona.

One last thing the hotel is not child free although there were only a handful of children and babies.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LouLouSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I always read reviews before booking anywhere and found the reviews on here accurate.

Just come back from week stay - we were on honeymoon. Everything was perfect. The hotel was beautiful. Suitcases were picked up after arriving on the coach and were in our rooms before we were! All the staff are friendly and amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and comfy. We were in 315. It was the end one at the front of the hotel so overlooked the strip but was great for people spotting. If you went to the side of the balcony you could see the pool and the sea. Thomson staff were great and on hand 6 days out of 7 for any queries. The trip to the pirates was very good value for money. The air con the room was great too.

The pool area was fab. Some beds were reserved that were on the edge of the beach but rest were fine. We went at various times and always some free. The beds were in good condition, there were mattresses to put on and beach towels given and changed when wanted. the beach is ok but very singly so if going in get some cheap jelly shoes. Further down in cala miller the beach is better. We went to Porto cristo for the caves and the beach there is beautiful and the water very clear. Worth it to catch boat there for a few hours.

The bar staff were really friendly and made a great cocktail. Turn right out of the Hotel to the harbour and left towards cala miller. Be careful at night of the bikes and cycle carts as on the walkwa in the middle. By 11 most music quietness down too.

We did a trip to th caves of drach and to the market on the sat. Some lovely places to eat. We went to smiths a few times in the harbour are? English food and run but after lots of pasta and pizza was what wanted.

The majority of people at the hotel were couples. W are in our thirties and were a young coupl there but everyone was so friendly we chatted to. Few at night in the bar area and round the pool.

Will def go back again. A lovely place and perfect for a week to relax.

Room Tip: A sea view would be nice but the sun moves round got he front later on in the aft if you like sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dottylotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for a week in August.
Lovely and clean hotel, breakfast was very good, freshly cooked and to your own liking, plenty fruit and good supply of coffee.
Room cleaned on a daily basis.
Staff superb, including Sylvi and girls at reception along with the waiters.
Only issue appears to be accommodating the sunlounger brigade, cmon Sylvi sort it out along with Thomsons there is really no excuse.
Deli near the harbour very good and owned by a scottish couple. Janet and John's also very good along with the Hawelli Indian and La Coma Italien.......great service, good food at reasonable prices.
Cala Bona, lovely wee clean place with plenty to do.
Weather was tremendous.
Advice to anyone thinking about going.....just go you will like it.....hoping to return next year!!

Room Tip: avoid room 5 on the ground floor.......if you like your own privacy and security
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb011p0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

So much has been said in the previous reviews there is little else to say except trust the reviews, they are very accurate. This is a very well run smaller size hotel with high standards of service and cleanliness. It is well located with the beach, pool, sun terrace, bar/snack bar, reception and rooms all within a few steps. This leads to a relaxing holiday. We emailed before arriving to request a full sea view room on a higher floor and although this was not immediately available, we only had to make a single request at Reception to be allocated a perfect room on the 3rd floor within 30 minutes. I can not praise the hotel staff enough for the way they handled our room request.

There are not many full sea view rooms but if you can get one it is a real bonus - thanks Gran Sol we really enjoyed our room (315).

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, service was always prompt and with a smile. The breakfast was very good and lives up to the reviews. We booked B&B because we like to eat out in the evening. We ate in the restaurant one night and it is very good value, we would happily have eaten there every evening if we had been on HB.

Prices are reasonable including the mini bar in the room, for a hotel of this standard. It is also very well located for walking to the harbour area and the numerous restautants. The beach is quite small but was never crowded and we could always find sunbeds and parasol on the beach (12 euros but worth it to be so close to the hotel). Sunbeds around the pool would have been a bit more difficullt but we were very happy with the beach.

There are a few stones/rocks for the first few metres entering the sea, but once you are beyond these, there is sand and a large area of fairly shallow calm water, it was excellent.

Rooms are furnished simply but to a high standard, were exceptionally clean and were very comfortable. Our sea view room was very quiet at night, the street view ones would have been a bit noisier.

Hotel management were very helpful arranging a late check out for us which made the last few hours of our holiday more pleasant.

We will definitely stay at the Gran Sol again and highly recommend it. It is closer to a 5 Star than the official rated 4 Star and deserves the Thomson 5 Star rating.

Room Tip: Full sea view rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors are very good, with large patio doors, balcony and stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cala2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
3.4 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
68.9 km away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
42.2 km away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
7.3 km away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing