We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good feelings, but less value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good feelings, but less value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The bad news first, we have never returned to a foreign holiday hotel ever, until we found the super Grand Sol hotel in Cala Bona, Majorca. I have waxed lyrically about the 4 fourth (top) floor rooms in this 36 room hotel, with their extended sun trapping balconies, interesting views over the beach, and the adjacent Levante and Levante Park Hotel's pools areas (all in the same group of hotels), to the distant hills and headland. As normal I had dropped the hotel group an Email requesting a fourth floor room with the normal, subject to availability reply, we thought all would be well. On arrival at the hotel on Saturday the 9th June 2012, we were warmly welcomed, cocktail included, only to be informed that we had been assigned room 305 (third floor)!! On asking weather if we could have a 4th floor room we were told they had already been taken. On asking how this had happened, we were informed that Thomson Holidays were taking exclusivity to the Gran Sol hotel and they had changed the classification of the rooms and the new classification did not fit our requirement, apparently this change was reversed but it was to late to re-assign the rooms after they had been allocated. The room we received was well maintained, but the sun was sadly masked from mid-day by the balcony above and the balcony was tapered and less roomy than those on the 4th floor or the direct sea side ones. Due to the limited vision and reduced sunlight, we made much less use of the balcony. With respect to room allocations we were also told by another guest that they had requested and paid for a sea view, but was allocated a room overlooking the traffic free road outside the hotel, they were given compensation and later they were offered an alternative sea view room, but they rejected it. A second guest also requested and was given a room transfer. We have been spoiled by the 4th floor rooms, these suit our particular requirements, but I am sure the direct sea facing rooms on all the floors would also have kept us happy. The staff at this hotel are exceptional with their friendly and attentive service, and the guests are always of all ages and have friendly but not to pushy disposition. The small pool area is now requiring some upgrading with splints easily finding their way from the rickety decking to bare feet and any other exposed fleshy parts, the outside showers were down to a dribble and the broken sun loungers from last year were still in evidence. On the terrace ants were in abundance as were some small insects entering our room. The cleanliness of all areas was second to none but the supply of replacement toiletries and replacement pool towels was a constant lapse, this requiring trips to the reception for replenishments. The entertainment had increased from one night to two! A pianist one night and a singer and guitarist the second. Normally their is an abundance of entertainment at local hotels and bars, but generally the bars had curtailed the entertainment in preference to the numerous televised football matches on offer. The arrangements for the England v Sweden match in the Gran Sol could have been organised as the un-comfortable lounge chairs were still at right angles to the TV screen, requiring the guests to re organise them .
The financial woes of Spain gave the impression of reduced numbers taking their holidays in Majorca, however the cost being charged for goods and services were high, generally with obvious price fixing (E3.75 for a coke - E3 for a cappuccino - E2.50 for fresh orange).
My satisfaction with Thomson Holidays has deteriorated, value for money has reduced, now only E tickets, no luggage labels, reduced luggage allowance this year, extras charge for allocation of seats together, extra luggage weight, additional leg room, a drink and/or snack. The aircraft attendants don't speak apart from the obligatory safety talk if not on the video and the sales spiel on the goods for sale. The partly controlled rules on one piece of hand luggage per person, which now includes hand bags, not applied on the way home. A couple on the way home were overweight as they had brought some presents for their family, they had to discard on the floor, a pair of flip flops, cardigan, a pair of court shoes, a beach bag and some other odd items in order to get the weight below the limit as they couldn't afford the excess cost. On the outward journey to Palma, we had to wait an hour to get to disembark the plane as the second set of steps and the coaches were unavailable. Limited staff fail to give directions to the coaches as they were in the bus parks, not the terminal, find it if you can. No accompaniment on the transfer. On the return journey again no representative was at the hotel or on the transfer, it took 1hr to check in at the Thomson desk, it was chaos, at the boarding gate there was a screen stating the passengers at the rear of the plane were to board first, but this was ignored and not controlled. The take off was delayed 45 min. with the comment from the pilot that the airport was rather busy. On arrival at East Midlands Airport the air crew didn't get the opportunity to say good by to the passengers as they were too busy talking to each other!

Room Tip: Send an Email to the hotel when booking and confirm two weeks before travelling. All rooms are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 190GAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    103
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
100
434
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Recently returned from a lovely weeks break at the Gran Sol. The hotel was equally as good as it was two years ago.
Must agree though, with the reviews about the room descriptions. We were advised by Thomson, that we had got an upgrade to a sea view, but on arrival found that we were in a side sea view, that we had booked originally. There were other examples that we heard about, where couples weren't allocated the room type that they were expecting.
Anyway, negatives over with. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are very modern and well equipped and the staff are all very attentive. Breakfasts are lovely, with a chef on hand, to cook your eggs and bacon exactly as you would like them(along with other things, of course). We had lunch on the terrace a couple of times, and the service and food quality were very good, and the prices reasonable - on a par with bars in the resort. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, just do it ! Remembering that this hotel is an absolute gem in the resort of Cala Bona, but as you walk outside, particularly towards Cala Millor you do get the typical range of Brits bars and souvenir shops. Would we go again to the Gran Sol - yes we would !!

Room Tip: Side Sea view on the higher floors are recommended for the room size and views of both the sea and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have been many times to this excellent hotel, as previous reviews will say, it is outstanding, it is a shame that this person was unhappy, but if you do your homework before you go, you will be
aware the room types you have booked. Thomson have made a big change to this hotel this year, changing all the room types which is a shame, as repeat clients are expecting the same room types as before, especially the suite rooms and the superior rooms, always check before you travel, then no need to complain.

The staff at this hotel are outstanding and Silivia if you have a problem always ask donot wait till you get home.

I could go on how lovely this hotel is, but other people before me has said all the highlights the pros and cons, just book and I can assure you, you will not be disappointed.

Thats if there is any availability, as it is very popular, that says it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jillscott1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel booked with Thompsons via the Internet. We had read the reviews and were confident that the hotel would be first rate. We had booked a suite which was more expensive than a room, and were disappointed to find it had no balcony apparently not all suites (those on the first floor) have balconies although lots of the standard double rooms do? other travellers were also unhappy with this and felt that the brochure/online info is misleading, the Thompson rep explained that she had already spoken to her 'boss' about this as apparently the problem occurs when booking via internet rather than a face to face booking.
The public areas in the hotel are clean but very uncomfortable i.e. indoor bar area and tv lounge have no relaxed seating. The outside bar area is lovely and a limited choice of snacks is prepared to order, the staff here are very friendly and helpful. The choice at breakfast is pretty standard but disappointingly no vegetarian option to the usual bacon and sausage, as mentioned by other reviewers there were several items of chipped crockery both breakfast bowls and cups.We did not eat in the Restaurant of an evening so I cant comment on that. If you like VERY hard beds then this is the place for you, the bed settee in the lounge area of the suite was stained and uncomfortable to sit on, the only other seats were two small occassional chairs. The floor to ceiling opaque glass doors in the bathroom become see through when the light is turned on! the doors are very heavy and 'drop' on the hinges making them difficult to open we had to ask for them to be fixed on two occasions (which was done quickly and with a smile) The free WiFi throughout the hotel was useless, extremely slow and persistently 'timed out' very frustrating as we had taken an iPad which we could not use. The Hotel's access to the beach is a fairly substantial 'step' of about 18" down onto the sand and as this hotel seems to cater for largely an older clientele if any of them did want to get onto the beach this would prove pretty difficult, the edge of the beach has many underwater rocks making it very difficult to paddle at the waters edge. The indoor swimming pool and sunbathing terraces on the roof were lovely and a saving grace as we did not have a balcony. The hotel are happy to provide beach towels (just ask at reception) which saves having to pack any. We would highly recommend a couple of the organised trip we booked, the Come Fly with Me was brilliant although be aware guests from Grand Sol are picked up first and dropped off last so its a late night we arrived back at the hotel at approx 1.45am, as there is no room service at any time in the Gran Sol we had bought baguettes earlier which we had put in the room fridge. If you take out the mini bottles of alcohol/soft drinks/snacks etc there is just enough room to put your own bottled water/milk/etc The Orange Blossom trail was a lovely all day trip, with great variety throughout highly recommended.
Cala Bona is pretty characterless it has a small indescript harbour and the usual fayre on offer at the restaurants along its length, when you come out of the hotel look out for a lovely little place just a few yards down a side street on the right ( just after the kids amusement park) its a takeaway with freshly made snacks sandwiches/baguettes etc the place is run by a lovely Glaswegian guy who has recently moved to the area with his young family, its very cheap and makes a nice change from the usual stuff offered everywhere.The Hotel is ok but doesnt live up to its rating, if you have a room at the front of the hotel the view is absolutely 5* but that isnt enough to coax us back. NOTE watch out for the cycle lane, it runs down the middle of the pavement all along the prom/high street and apparently can get very busy in high season.

Room Tip: Check your room has a balcony first floor suites i.e 107 didnt and ask for front facing sea view (re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank claireZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is the first review I have ever done on trip advisor but felt I had too as we have had such a great time at the Gran Sol. The hotel is first class and perfectly located on the beach and only a 5 min walk to the harbour. The staff are probably the best I have experienced in any hotel stay before and they made our stay fantastic. The food is comparable to anything you will get in a good 4* hotel in the UK, but with much better service... I would recommend 100% and will be returning next year as a perfect place.

Room Tip: We had a a room with a side view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
3.4 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
68.9 km away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 km away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.0 km away
Hipotels Aparthotel Cala Millor Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing