We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Sol
Nearby Hotels
SOM Llevant Suites Hotel(Cala Bona)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Atolon(Cala Bona)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 196
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 242
US$ 234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Catalonia del Mar(Cala Bona)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aparthotel Cap de Mar(Cala Bona)(Great Value!)
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marins Playa(Cala Millor)
US$ 273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sabina Playa(Cala Millor)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 215
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
558
116
28
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
116
28
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelsea viewduty managerlovely hotellighting systembathrobes and slippersroof terracewelcome drinkdining roombooked a junior suitebowl of fruitsmall gymcooked freshrestaurant staffhalf boardpool areasa punta
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Recently returned from a lovely weeks break at the Gran Sol. The hotel was equally as good as it was two years ago.
Must agree though, with the reviews about the room descriptions. We were advised by Thomson, that we had got an upgrade to a sea view, but on arrival found that we were in a side sea view, that we had booked originally. There were other examples that we heard about, where couples weren't allocated the room type that they were expecting.
Anyway, negatives over with. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are very modern and well equipped and the staff are all very attentive. Breakfasts are lovely, with a chef on hand, to cook your eggs and bacon exactly as you would like them(along with other things, of course). We had lunch on the terrace a couple of times, and the service and food quality were very good, and the prices reasonable - on a par with bars in the resort. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, just do it ! Remembering that this hotel is an absolute gem in the resort of Cala Bona, but as you walk outside, particularly towards Cala Millor you do get the typical range of Brits bars and souvenir shops. Would we go again to the Gran Sol - yes we would !!

Room Tip: Side Sea view on the higher floors are recommended for the room size and views of both the sea and the streetlife
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have been many times to this excellent hotel, as previous reviews will say, it is outstanding, it is a shame that this person was unhappy, but if you do your homework before you go, you will be
aware the room types you have booked. Thomson have made a big change to this hotel this year, changing all the room types which is a shame, as repeat clients are expecting the same room types as before, especially the suite rooms and the superior rooms, always check before you travel, then no need to complain.

The staff at this hotel are outstanding and Silivia if you have a problem always ask donot wait till you get home.

I could go on how lovely this hotel is, but other people before me has said all the highlights the pros and cons, just book and I can assure you, you will not be disappointed.

Thats if there is any availability, as it is very popular, that says it all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jillscott1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel booked with Thompsons via the Internet. We had read the reviews and were confident that the hotel would be first rate. We had booked a suite which was more expensive than a room, and were disappointed to find it had no balcony apparently not all suites (those on the first floor) have balconies although lots of the standard double rooms do? other travellers were also unhappy with this and felt that the brochure/online info is misleading, the Thompson rep explained that she had already spoken to her 'boss' about this as apparently the problem occurs when booking via internet rather than a face to face booking.
The public areas in the hotel are clean but very uncomfortable i.e. indoor bar area and tv lounge have no relaxed seating. The outside bar area is lovely and a limited choice of snacks is prepared to order, the staff here are very friendly and helpful. The choice at breakfast is pretty standard but disappointingly no vegetarian option to the usual bacon and sausage, as mentioned by other reviewers there were several items of chipped crockery both breakfast bowls and cups.We did not eat in the Restaurant of an evening so I cant comment on that. If you like VERY hard beds then this is the place for you, the bed settee in the lounge area of the suite was stained and uncomfortable to sit on, the only other seats were two small occassional chairs. The floor to ceiling opaque glass doors in the bathroom become see through when the light is turned on! the doors are very heavy and 'drop' on the hinges making them difficult to open we had to ask for them to be fixed on two occasions (which was done quickly and with a smile) The free WiFi throughout the hotel was useless, extremely slow and persistently 'timed out' very frustrating as we had taken an iPad which we could not use. The Hotel's access to the beach is a fairly substantial 'step' of about 18" down onto the sand and as this hotel seems to cater for largely an older clientele if any of them did want to get onto the beach this would prove pretty difficult, the edge of the beach has many underwater rocks making it very difficult to paddle at the waters edge. The indoor swimming pool and sunbathing terraces on the roof were lovely and a saving grace as we did not have a balcony. The hotel are happy to provide beach towels (just ask at reception) which saves having to pack any. We would highly recommend a couple of the organised trip we booked, the Come Fly with Me was brilliant although be aware guests from Grand Sol are picked up first and dropped off last so its a late night we arrived back at the hotel at approx 1.45am, as there is no room service at any time in the Gran Sol we had bought baguettes earlier which we had put in the room fridge. If you take out the mini bottles of alcohol/soft drinks/snacks etc there is just enough room to put your own bottled water/milk/etc The Orange Blossom trail was a lovely all day trip, with great variety throughout highly recommended.
Cala Bona is pretty characterless it has a small indescript harbour and the usual fayre on offer at the restaurants along its length, when you come out of the hotel look out for a lovely little place just a few yards down a side street on the right ( just after the kids amusement park) its a takeaway with freshly made snacks sandwiches/baguettes etc the place is run by a lovely Glaswegian guy who has recently moved to the area with his young family, its very cheap and makes a nice change from the usual stuff offered everywhere.The Hotel is ok but doesnt live up to its rating, if you have a room at the front of the hotel the view is absolutely 5* but that isnt enough to coax us back. NOTE watch out for the cycle lane, it runs down the middle of the pavement all along the prom/high street and apparently can get very busy in high season.

Room Tip: Check your room has a balcony first floor suites i.e 107 didnt and ask for front facing sea view (really lovely) rather than side view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank claireZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is the first review I have ever done on trip advisor but felt I had too as we have had such a great time at the Gran Sol. The hotel is first class and perfectly located on the beach and only a 5 min walk to the harbour. The staff are probably the best I have experienced in any hotel stay before and they made our stay fantastic. The food is comparable to anything you will get in a good 4* hotel in the UK, but with much better service... I would recommend 100% and will be returning next year as a perfect place.

Room Tip: We had a a room with a side view to the sea
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

having returned on thursday from the Gran Sol in Cala Bona,i can only say that i wish i was still there.First class hotel,with extremely friendly staff.the food is more than 1st cass,the location is brilliant,5mins walk to harbour one way,and 10mins walk to cala millor the other way.short on entertainment,but makes up for that in style,you are looked after for the duration of your holiday,just booked to go again in sept.fabulous hotel.cant wait

Room Tip: request 210 - 215 or 310-315 ask for full front sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews