We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we stayed longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed at the Bonaire for a week between the 10th and the 17th May and loved it so much we will hopfully be returning next year as we felt one week was not enough. There were 8 of us in all including two kiddies aged 9 and 22 months.
The hotel is immaculate, the outside pool looked great but it was a little bit cold so we used the indoor pool instead . The hotel is definatly worthy of a 4* plus hotel. The staff and the Thomsons reps are great, especially the bar staff, they are so funny! The entertainment was excellent for the kids, plenty of activities to keep them occupied from day to night, There was always something on in the evenings for adults too but as we spent most of our evenings out of the hotel i can't really comment. The rooms are very spacious, modern and clean with all the facilities you would need for a self catering holiday ,although an iron would have been handy. We had breakfast at the hotel a few times and we all though it was great, kids were half price and under 3's are free which was great, we had an evening meal there once but did not think much of it, it was ok but we preffered to eat out. We stayed in Block 2 and the views from the top (i think there are 4 floors) are excellent as you can see the bay and Costa De Los Pinos in the short distance.
Cala Bona is lovely, i was suprised when we arrived at the size as i thought it would be a lot smaller and quieter, but there are plenty of lovely bars, shops and restaurants and there seemed to be quite a few people around for this time of year too which was great as we didnt want to go out for a night and go to empty places. Cala Millor is literally just around the corner from Cala Bona, it has a lovely long stretch of beach with some great bars.
When we arrived, the weather was coming to an end of a resent storm and there was a lot of seaweed on the beaches but there was tractors clearing it away constantly. For the first 3 days the weather was windy with occasional showers but by the middle it turned great and at one point it was up to 28 degrees.
There is so much to explore around the East coast of Majorca and easily accessable by local buses or the land train for short distances. We went on a 2hr boat trip up towards Cala Ratjada, it was so lovely and relaxing we would definatly recommend it. We only booked one trip with the reps and that was the Pirates show in Palma, wow what an amazing show it was fantastic and well worth the money. All in all, we thought it was a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ceejaydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,304)
There are newer reviews for Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,198 - 2,202 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2008

We have just returned from the Bonaire and had a great time - only downside was that we could have stayed longer!! We booked this hotel as we have a 4 year old and 15 month old and were advised by the travel agent that it would be a good choice - we were definitely not disappointed.
The hotel is lovely with brilliant amenities for kids - the little touches like the babyzone room were great, meaning you could take your baby to a quiet (and cool) room for them to eat, sleep or play. It was near the pool and had all mothercare equipment and loads of quality toys.
The apartments were spacious and clean with everything you needed - we didn't eat in much but the kitchen would have been fine.
The staff at the Bonaire are great - I have never been to a hotel with as many reps! They encourage you to join in with the activities without hassling you - there was always something going on for either the kids or the adults.
The kids entertainment was brilliant with Thomson the Dog telling a story each afternoon, clown and magic shows during the day. There was also the creche and Kids Zone activities for the kids which meant we had a couple of hours to enjoy the peace and quiet.
On an evening there was a kids disco between 8.15 and 9 and then they gave out the prizes for that days activities.
After 9 the show was on and they were ranging from ok to great.
We ate out every night and most of the restaurants offer kids meals. The best restaurant we ate at was D'Olivas Tapas bar on the harbour. We went there twice and I would definitely recommend it. The food was brilliant with both the tapas dishes and the main courses being lovely, the staff were great too.
By far the worst place we ate was Yates bar on the beach - the lasagne was pink and had only one sheet of pasta - with one lucky person getting bones in the mince!! I would stay away from there.
I would recommend Cala Bona and the Bonaire to anyone - we had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MurphsSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We stayed at the hotel for a week in May 2008 having booked through Thomson Holidays. The hotel exceeded expectations (especially as we only paid £260ish pp for a week) and was absolutely perfect for our little girl, who is almost two years old. The hotel has a great outdoor play area with sandpits, paddling pool, slides, mini-cars, playhouses etc plus an excellent indoor soft play area. We would have spent all week there if my daughter had her way! For adults, the main attractions are outside the hotel, with a 5 minute walk to reach the restaurants and peaceful bars. Louder bars are in Cala Millor, around a mile or two away along the coast. Our favourite restaurant was the excellent El Pescador beside Cala Bona harbour - the monkfish was delicious.

Food in hotel wasn't the best quality, but there was certainly a lot of choice for both breakfast and evening meal. These were 10 and 15 euros respectively per day.

Hotel is spotless, gardens are well kept and rooms are large and comfortable. There is a large car park on site and we hired a car to travel around the island.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AndrewHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

I booked a weeks holiday half board with Thomson and arrived 3 May 2008. We had a great time here, the apartment we stayed in (block 2) was great, lots of room, we have 2 children, 7 yr old and 1 year old. We hired a mothercare cot which was tidy and clean, and as our bedroom was so big, it didnt make us short of space. My 7 year old slept on a sofa bed in the lounge. The patio door in the lounge had chain on the top of the door so no chance of the kids escaping or anyone entering! Gave me peace of mind. Im glad we booked half board, its worth the money, plenty of choice, even for my 7 year old who is the most fussy kid ive ever seen! Staff were all friendly, no problems with lifts, as not too busy this time of year. Thomson reps are on hand if you need them, we travelled round the island alot so didnt spend alot of time in the hotel, but if you want entertainment, you got it all there. One thing my kids loved there, was 2 kids play areas, also soft play area for the little one.and in the evenings they brought out the little tikes cars so my 1 year old was in his delight!

Cala Bona isnt very big, so glad we had a car and could travel to biger and better places. Its worth being far out tho to have such a good hotel. Europcar at the airport in palma were fine, child seats no problem. Thomson flight really good!

Im a fussy holiday maker, but i can recommend this hotel/holiday 100%. Go for it, im sure you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank M81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

stayed at the bonaire from the 1st to the 8th of may.
fab hotel very clean with maid servive every day bar one.
The pools are very clean and i am very fussy about this but i still got in and had a swim although it is very cold.
There is so much going on in this hotel so if you are taking children you will not be dissapointed.
I can reccomend the kids clubs the reps are fantastic and they are in completly safe hands.
Entertainment at night was good your normal family club stuff with a few nights live entertainment.
There is lots of babies in this hotel probably cos they are fantastically catered for.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food is really good there is something for everybody and even the most fussy eater would be catered for.
If you are after a night out away from the hotel get yourself down to the sandancers bar fab night and adults and kids are made to feel very welcome by faz and tracey.there is also free playstations and toys for the kids which my daughter thought was fab.
If you are booked to go on this hol you are in for a treat so all thats left to say is enjoy cos i certainly did.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princessemma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
4.1 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
345 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
5.5 km away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.5 km away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: ₹ 3,276 - ₹ 5,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing