We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Eix Platja Daurada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eix Platja Daurada
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Platja Daurada is a very good hotel well situated at the north end of Can Picafort. It is easy to find from the motorway from Palma, via San Pablo and Muro.

The hotel is large and well appointed. The 4* rating is probably about right for a mediterranean hotel. In other parts of the world it would be 3*. Having said that it is by no means uncomfortable and is very clean and well maintained.

We were in a basic room with a side/sea view. From the layout I would say the sea views would be spectacular. The room was small, but not tiny, comfortable, if a bit basic, but by no means lacking in facilities.

The hotel in general had all the facilities that would be expected and, for the most part, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is not much parking space at the hotel itself but plenty in the surrounding streets.

The food was excellent and do not listen to anyone who said they could not find anything to eat at the buffet style breakfasts and evening meals. The food was plentiful and varied and of a quality that would shame some 5* establishments. There is a sign in the restaurant that confirms that the end time for the evening meal is not a time to vacate the restuarant. This is not reflected in the attitude of the staff in the dining room. Buffet was cleared at 21:00 Hrs on the dot . The staff made it clear that if you sat on you were interfering with their efforts in setting out breakfast. It was an irratation, but this has to be balanced against the feelings of those who work long hours for low wages.

Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss and was not always as advertised on the daily noticeboard. I suspect that in the summer season it would be a bit more reliable.

There is no doubt that the hotel is predominantly frequented by German guests. The week we were there we appeared to be the only English speakers in the hotel. This was by no means a problem as we were with friends. However, if making new friends is part of your holiday then you will have to allow for the language issues.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Not at the luxury end of the market but by no means disappointing. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JollyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Platja Daurada, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Hola
Thanks for your nice and realistic review.
Hope to see you again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    78
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
57
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This Hotel is exactly as it shows on the photograph. 3 large pools, situated directly on a beautiful white sand beach.
When we were shown to our room we were pleased, it was not too small and it had a little balcony. Although the room was not in perfectly new condition it was clearly cleaned to a high standard daily with no flies or mosquitos around. From our balcony we could see a forest with mountains in the distance and part of the bay. It was 35 degrees most days of our stay and we can safely say the air conditioning works well. There was a fridge, and a free hair dryer. There was a television which showed spanish programs only. Two plug sockets, one behind the tv and one in the bathroom.

The week we stayed, the hotel has almost exclusively German clientelle and we believe only a few Spanish and Russian families.
We did not mind this because we wanted a peaceful and quiet holiday, but some families may find this difficult if they have young children who want to play with other English speaking children. We found the German families very pleasant and polite but we could not communicate with them at all which was embarrassing for us at times.

The restaurant was very clean with fresh food and mainly offered Spanish and German dishes such as paella, fresh fish, frankfurters, and a carvery every other day. One evening on the Friday there was an excellent Chinese Buffet which was delicious.

There was not alot of choice for children the usual pizza chips or pasta, Desserts were always excellent and plenty of salads to choose from. Breakfast was either fruit ,cereal, yoghurt or a cooked breakfast which had boiled, fried or scrambled eggs, toast, bacon,frankfurters, potato croquets, tomatoes sometimes beans, and always hams cheeses salami etc The milk for coffee was hot and the milk for cereal was a non uk type milk. There were croissants and a small selection of pastries and biscuits. Some of the waitresses could not speak English so it was a little difficult to place orders for drinks but not impossible. Service was average at best.

On site amenities were a gym, a reasonably priced shop with very very friendly staff. The shop sold inflatable toys for the pool and drinks, food, snacks and fresh fruit, icecream and newspapers,medicines, alcohol etc. There was a miniclub for kids aged 4-12 another for 12-16 and an adults program of entertainment which provided bingo, shows and quizzes in all languages and a mini disco for the children at 8.30 everynight. There were usual excursions available daily, a hairdressers, a jewellers and a train that went around the resort daily outside the hotel. The train cost 3 Euros per adult one way and 2 Euros per child one way. We walked back along the beach front from the marina which was lovely. There were two poolside bars both serving food one of them sold icecream cones and the other had a cocktail menu. One of which also leads onto the beach walkway.

Once down to the beach you can reserve two loungers and a straw umbrella for 7,50Euros a day.

Pools are cleaned daily and then the sprint for the sunbeds began. This is completely normal apparently, people queue outside the tape at 9am picked their sunloungers, put their towels down and went for breakfast. The pool area due to the number of sunbeds (about 100) meant it stayed relatively quiet through the day and the pool was pleasurable to swim in without crowding.

If you came to the pool later you could occasionally find a sunbed but nothing in the shade and were better going to the beach where the loungers and umbrellas were plentiful. We only descovered the pool side tape queue on the final two days of our holiday. On the other days we only managed to get two loungers on one of the days and so spent lots of time on the beach and in the town.

The ocean was absolutely beautiful, crystal clear turquoise and calm with no fish or seaweed etc. you could wade out up to your shoulders and clearly still see your feet below on the white sand. The ocean was choppy on only one afternoon where there was a considerable breeze and not so safe to swim but other than this day it was completely calm with no real current so very safe for children. There were pedalos for hire directly on the beach infront of the hotel.

Overall. we found this experience one of the best for this type of low cost European holidays. If you are looking for perfection. go to Thomas Cook, book British Airways First Class and Stay in The Seychelles. It would have been good if there was any other English speaking people as at times we felt isolated due to the language barrier betweeen ourselves, other guests and the spanish staff. Having said all that the Hotel was really excellent and the facililties were also top class.

Room Tip: The hotel was so large there were many room aspects but the one facing the stage would not be comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Supa-mom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Platja Daurada, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Hola
Thanks for your long and nice review.
We wil keep working hard ant trying to improove.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel is clean and well organised however there is just something lacking. It wasn't because it is mostly german guests as I am English & my partner is German so we believed it would suit us both. Our room was very small and basic but clean but the beds are not comfortable. My mattress was very lumpy and hard. The view we had was over the garden and the sea looking out towards Alcudia so it was very pleasant in the evening chilling out with a glass of wine. The ladies who clean the rooms do a marvelous job and are extremely jovial and always greet you with a smile. The breakfast choice I didn't think was great but was very good quality and the service was good. At dinner men are expected to wear long trousers which is something we hadn't realised but the man on the door was a little overly officious in telling us as if we were breaking the law. I have to say it put me off going down to dinner again, he could have just explained calmly and we would have changed in to the correct attire and carried on without any fuss. I also think that tailored shorts would be just as acceptable in the heat.

I think what the hotel lacks is atmosphere for some reason and we can't seem to put our finger on the reason we weren't very keen although it's proximity to an absolutely beautiful stretch of beach, just over the dunes across a wooden walkway, was a plus point.

It has a lot of plus points and it may have just been a personal thing as there is no particular reason for not wishing to return other than the atmosphere. It would be worth giving it a try for yourself.

Room Tip: Try to be above reception looking away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bootheblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Platja Daurada, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Hello.
Thanks for your comments in this site.
Good and not so good comments helps us to maintain what is good and to try to improove where needed.
ope to see you again in our resort.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

we stayed a week in the majorca resort of can picafort at the hotel Platja Daurada. we missed our first day because of late arrival caused by volcanic ash cloud at our airport. when we arrived at the hotel we were greated by the staff not in spanish or english but in german! of the 300+ guests we were 3 of the 5 english guests booked into the hotel. the entertainment was in german, the food was all aimed at the german pallet and even the staff all spoke to us in german which was quite frustrating when we greated them with "ola" they replied "gutten tag. there was a childrens club included but this was run in german . The rooms are very small. on the plus side the hotel is in avery good location, and was clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeLuke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This is very good hotel in great location, only few steps from the beach. Excellent swimming pool with large number of lounges and parasols, around by palms and trees. Hotels room in good size with tv minibar, air cond, overlooking for pools or sea. Food was lovely with great choices for breakfast and dinner.
Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.2 km away
Aparthotel Dunes Platja
Aparthotel Dunes Platja
#27 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
55 reviews
0.7 km away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
939 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa
#12 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grupotel Montecarlo
Grupotel Montecarlo
#13 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
148 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
237 reviews
0.6 km away
Grupotel Farrutx
Grupotel Farrutx
#17 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eix Platja Daurada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eix Platja Daurada

Property: Eix Platja Daurada
Address: Avenida Colon S/N, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#12 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,994 - ₹ 15,237
Hotel Class:4 star — Eix Platja Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The aparthotel Platja Daurada is situated in the centre of the Bay of Alcúdia, next to the extensive beach of Ca’n Picafort. It is poplar with its visitors of different nationalities, many of whom return year after year to enjoy marvellous holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eix Platja Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja Daurada Hotel
Platja Daurada Ca n Picafort
Eix Platja Daurada Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing