We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to explore Ubeda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Afan de Rivera
Ranked #2 of 7 Ubeda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

We stopped in the Afan de Rivera during our round trip of Andalusia. The hotel is the perfect place to explore the renaissance city. Nice, clean room in historic building with a big bathroom.

Do not miss the breakfast! We still have some ten days to go but I am sure it won't get any better than this. Almost everything is homemade or at least local products. The owners really take pride in what they do and you can see it. We would have stayed longer, if our schedule would allow it.

And the location speaks for itself. One minute and you are in the midst of the major attractions of the city. Nevertheless the place is really quiet. Love to come back some day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank francisbegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

This little family hotel is situated in the historical centre of Ubeda and it's great stay to explore the old town of Ubeda. It's highly recommended also to visit the neighbour town of Baeza (some 20 minutes of driving from Ubeda).
The building is very old, with it's low ceilings, wonderful vine cellar, charming rooms and a sort of medieval atmosphere. Nevertheless, the bathrooms are completely modern and very clean. The price for this quality is great!
But, the highlight of the staying is the breakfast! What a delight! Excellent sorts of spanish cheese, chorizo, olive oil and fruits. Don't miss a home made pimiento marmalade! You won't regret it! This was the most wonderful hotel we stayed at in Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

It was a previous review that alerted us to this small hotel which said its breakfast was the highlight of the author's holiday. They were not wrong! This fantastic little hotel only has about five rooms and is on a very narrow street where it was not possible to open both car doors! There was free street parking nearby.

The owners and staff of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful making a number of recommendations for restaurants and tapas bars. The hotel rooms had been refurbished and were extremely well appointed with all the nice little extras that you often get in a four star hotel. The hotel is very old (5/6th century?) but is full of character with the breakfast room being in a wine cellar.

The hotel doesn't, have a bar and only serves breakfast and what a delight that was. The owner, who only spoke Spanish and French, carefully explained all the local delicacies of cheeses and meats and oils as well as providing freshly made churros and fresh orange juice. Very different from normal hotel fayre but a true culinary delight.

The hotel is well located to explore Ubeda which is also extremely interesting with more than its fair share of wonderful buildings and plazas. Most restaurants / bars offer generous free tapas and one could almost dine out on a bar crawl.

Overall Ubeda and Hotel Afan de Rivera should be a must on anyone's itinerary. Don't be put off by the two stars, that can only be due to facilities and certainly not the five star service!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this quaint little hotel,The staff is friendly and helpful with limited English but the owner (grandfather of the receptionist) whom you will likely meet at breakfast speaks French. Breakfast is a treat - I hope you like olive oil. The location is on a narrow one way street with no room to park to unload but there is room at the corner. Parking on a street a few blocks away is free and worked out fine.The location is in the old town easy walking distance to the main area of the old town which has the prominent buildings lit up at night. This is renovated old stone building. The room is not huge but fine and the bath room totally renovated and great. We had a frig in our room and the only issue we had was getting the air conditioner to work.
This is a small boutique hotel in a historic building in the old section of town, not your regular hotel. There is a trade off here - a little inconvenience for charm and location.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

The location is right across the street from the main plaza and heart of Ubeda. I was surprised that somebody complained that the hotel was located on a hard to find alley, because: 1) Old historic Spanish towns are supposed to have many small alleys; 2) If you go to the main tourist attraction you are right there; 3) Google maps will bring you right there. The location is attractive and the hotel very quaint. I had a very small single room, and the bed was barely large enough to fit me (but comfortable). The door had a traditional lock opened with an old-fashioned key. However, the price was excellent and the remodeled bathroom was clean, modern and generally excellent. I was extremely happy. It will strongly appeal to those who like old world charm, especially since it fits with the character of the town. The young man at the desk was very helpful and kind. The breakfast in the morning was superb. Normally I don't go for the included breakfast, but this one was great. The churros were freshly baked and everything else great. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#5 of 13 in Ubeda
304 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Maria de Molina
Hotel Maria de Molina
#12 of 13 in Ubeda
82 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alvar Fanez
Hotel Alvar Fanez
#10 of 13 in Ubeda
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#2 of 13 in Ubeda
248 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ordonez Sandoval
0.2 km away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afan de Rivera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afan de Rivera

Address: Calle Afan de Rivera 4, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ubeda
Price Range: ₹ 5,159 - ₹ 6,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Afan de Rivera 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Afan de Rivera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing