We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 58
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Alvaro de Torres(Ubeda)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
US$ 67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ordonez Sandoval(Ubeda)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel el Postigo(Ubeda)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 159
US$ 148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 84
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 199
US$ 192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
88
28
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
28
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmaladered pepperthe ownerrenaissance cityhamreciperivieracheesehomemadecharacterbreakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this quaint little hotel,The staff is friendly and helpful with limited English but the owner (grandfather of the receptionist) whom you will likely meet at breakfast speaks French. Breakfast is a treat - I hope you like olive oil. The location is on a narrow one way street with no room to park to unload but there is room at the corner. Parking on a street a few blocks away is free and worked out fine.The location is in the old town easy walking distance to the main area of the old town which has the prominent buildings lit up at night. This is renovated old stone building. The room is not huge but fine and the bath room totally renovated and great. We had a frig in our room and the only issue we had was getting the air conditioner to work.
This is a small boutique hotel in a historic building in the old section of town, not your regular hotel. There is a trade off here - a little inconvenience for charm and location.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The Location: The hotel is located just off the inner ring road, but iinside the city walls, a stone's throw from the magnificent main square. You can park your car in the street very nearby and you can drive up to the front door to drop bags and people off. The location is very quiet.

The Room
There were five of us in three rooms. None had views but all were beautifully furnished and decorated, with lovely spacious bathrooms. Some rooms have bathtubs, some showers, and the toiletries were very, very nice. Wifi was free, ubiquitous and very fast (8Mb/sec)

The host
Our host was brilliantly informative about Ubeda, where to eat, where to drink, what was worth seeing, what was less so, what was worth buying.

The Breakfast
How often is your breakfast so delicious and so varied that you ask for recipes? In a subtle, understated way, this was perhaps the best breakfast we've had in 10 years of visiting Spain, and much of it was made in-house. The marmalade of smoked peppers that you put on the cream cheese was fantastic.

And all this at a staggeringly reasonable price. We will go back to Ubeda again and again, I'm sure, largely for the joy of staying here.

Good to know: Your host has a very fine personal wine cellar that you can see from the breakfast room. He is very willing to share his knowledge if you have questions about Riojas or Cavas.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This hotel is hard to find, on a narrow one way street, with no parking. Rooms are very small, barely 1 meter from the edge of the bed to each wall. Breakfast is not served until 9:30- not 9:25 or 9:27- and only for one hr. You must haul your own luggage, even if you are a woman struggling with a 20 kilo suitcase- owner/operator will not assist you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

This small hotel on a cobblestoned street in the historical centre of beautiful Ubeda deserves its high praise. Not only for its tasteful renovation of a very old building but for its delightful owner, Jorge. Jorge was extremely welcoming and helpful and clearly passionate about both his hotel and town. Our room was quite small but very comfortable and well air-conditioned. The bathroom was large and modern. The included breakfast was excellent with a large selection of home made goodies. My husband and I would highly recommend the Hotel Afan de Rivera, especially given its extremely reasonable price.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Siwa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Jorge, the owner of this hotel, greets and welcomes guests to his hotel personally. He has such pride in and affection for his hotel and the town and his enthusiasm is catching. The hotel is in a charming old building but does not miss out on any creature comforts. Our beds were comfortable and cosy, the rooms clean, the bathroom likewise and the shower great. The breakfast is served by candle light in a wine cellar - Jorge explains the local specialties he has laid out for the buffet breakfast - the red pepper jam is unusually delicious as well as the meats, breads, strawberries, figs, pastry and brownies (yes, brownies for breakfast!). The town of Ubeda was very quiet on a Sunday - if you can plan your visit for another day, that would be good. However we found nice places for lunch and dinner (Jorge recommends several places around town to try) and the illumination of the beautiful old buildings at night was just spectacular. Jorge does not speak much English, but between our little Spanish and French and his little English, we all seemed to understand enough of the conversations.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silverton31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews