We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Afan de Rivera
Ranked #2 of 7 Ubeda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this quaint little hotel,The staff is friendly and helpful with limited English but the owner (grandfather of the receptionist) whom you will likely meet at breakfast speaks French. Breakfast is a treat - I hope you like olive oil. The location is on a narrow one way street with no room to park to unload but there is room at the corner. Parking on a street a few blocks away is free and worked out fine.The location is in the old town easy walking distance to the main area of the old town which has the prominent buildings lit up at night. This is renovated old stone building. The room is not huge but fine and the bath room totally renovated and great. We had a frig in our room and the only issue we had was getting the air conditioner to work.
This is a small boutique hotel in a historic building in the old section of town, not your regular hotel. There is a trade off here - a little inconvenience for charm and location.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2015

The location is right across the street from the main plaza and heart of Ubeda. I was surprised that somebody complained that the hotel was located on a hard to find alley, because: 1) Old historic Spanish towns are supposed to have many small alleys; 2) If you go to the main tourist attraction you are right there; 3) Google maps will bring you right there. The location is attractive and the hotel very quaint. I had a very small single room, and the bed was barely large enough to fit me (but comfortable). The door had a traditional lock opened with an old-fashioned key. However, the price was excellent and the remodeled bathroom was clean, modern and generally excellent. I was extremely happy. It will strongly appeal to those who like old world charm, especially since it fits with the character of the town. The young man at the desk was very helpful and kind. The breakfast in the morning was superb. Normally I don't go for the included breakfast, but this one was great. The churros were freshly baked and everything else great. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The Location: The hotel is located just off the inner ring road, but iinside the city walls, a stone's throw from the magnificent main square. You can park your car in the street very nearby and you can drive up to the front door to drop bags and people off. The location is very quiet.

The Room
There were five of us in three rooms. None had views but all were beautifully furnished and decorated, with lovely spacious bathrooms. Some rooms have bathtubs, some showers, and the toiletries were very, very nice. Wifi was free, ubiquitous and very fast (8Mb/sec)

The host
Our host was brilliantly informative about Ubeda, where to eat, where to drink, what was worth seeing, what was less so, what was worth buying.

The Breakfast
How often is your breakfast so delicious and so varied that you ask for recipes? In a subtle, understated way, this was perhaps the best breakfast we've had in 10 years of visiting Spain, and much of it was made in-house. The marmalade of smoked peppers that you put on the cream cheese was fantastic.

And all this at a staggeringly reasonable price. We will go back to Ubeda again and again, I'm sure, largely for the joy of staying here.

Good to know: Your host has a very fine personal wine cellar that you can see from the breakfast room. He is very willing to share his knowledge if you have questions about Riojas or Cavas.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This hotel is hard to find, on a narrow one way street, with no parking. Rooms are very small, barely 1 meter from the edge of the bed to each wall. Breakfast is not served until 9:30- not 9:25 or 9:27- and only for one hr. You must haul your own luggage, even if you are a woman struggling with a 20 kilo suitcase- owner/operator will not assist you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

This small hotel on a cobblestoned street in the historical centre of beautiful Ubeda deserves its high praise. Not only for its tasteful renovation of a very old building but for its delightful owner, Jorge. Jorge was extremely welcoming and helpful and clearly passionate about both his hotel and town. Our room was quite small but very comfortable and well air-conditioned. The bathroom was large and modern. The included breakfast was excellent with a large selection of home made goodies. My husband and I would highly recommend the Hotel Afan de Rivera, especially given its extremely reasonable price.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Siwa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#4 of 13 in Ubeda
304 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Maria de Molina
Hotel Maria de Molina
#12 of 13 in Ubeda
82 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alvar Fanez
Hotel Alvar Fanez
#11 of 13 in Ubeda
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#2 of 13 in Ubeda
248 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ordonez Sandoval
0.2 km away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afan de Rivera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afan de Rivera

Address: Calle Afan de Rivera 4, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ubeda
Price Range: ₹ 5,070 - ₹ 6,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Afan de Rivera 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Afan de Rivera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing