We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
19
47
34
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
47
34
13
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were a High School Team from New Zealand, 40 people, 26 students and 14 adults staying at the Apartments for a week training through the Sun-O Orienteering in preparation for the World Schools Orienteering Competition in Portugal. Perfect location for us. It was the low season, so Canos de Meca very quiet, apartments were perfect for our large group.
Students enjoyed swimming in the pool and catering for themselves. We used the small store in Canos de Meca and also went to Barbate to the larger supermarket for catering.
We would have preferred the apartments to have been serviced during our stay, but after 4 nights we asked for the towels to be changed and they were changed. Most apartments were clean and tidy, a couple of them were alittle tired and required some maintenance, as with the grounds and outside of the building. The beach was beautiful and lovely walk out to the lighthouse, although the town was very quiet we found a nice couple of restaurants to eat out in. The orienteering was superb, and we also did day trips to Gibraltar and Cadiz from there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in May 2011, we hired a car and drove from Seville. There was underground carparking, however we literally parked outside the apartments all 4 nights for free and had no issues. The apartments were nice for the price, however we moved from the first one as we were on the road and it was pretty noisy. There were shutters on the windows and they rattled when cars past. We moved further in on the second night and it was much better and we had a nice balcony. If you can request a pool view or garden apartment as these were the nicest.

The staff were really helpful and it was nice to have a pool and sun loungers.The apartments are less than a 5 minute walk from a really nice beach so we went there instead.

The location was really good, the pirata bar was about 5 minutes away and overlooking the beach which was really nice. I have a few photos which i will try and add later.

The Amelie bar and restaurant was really nice, probably about a 10 minute walk. It had a really nice vibe and the tapas and wine were really good. You could also get really good mojitos!
Castille joes was amazing, i'd really recommend it if you are treating yourself to a nice dinner! It was about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The location is great and the swimming pool is a bonus. There is also underground parking which is fantastic for those travelling by car. You can literally cross the road to get to the chill-out bars with Sheesha pipes and Mint teas... or down some steps to the beach. The rooms were relatively small and simple although they did lead up to a roof terrace which was very very impressive - the 360 views were excellent. Unfortunately the hotel manager was very rude, obnoxious and pedantic and we were on a well deserved holiday. We had a friend who decided to visit for the day but was not let into our room, or the hotel complex for that matter. It was only after letting him know that we were lawyers and we would not hesitate to file a complaint againt him (una denuncia) that he backed off... We will only stay there again as a last resort!

Room Tip: pick one with a roof terrace
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPaulGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Canos de Meca in April is very quiet and most of the apartments were empty which is great if you want some peace and quiet. Location right in front of the beach with pine forest covering the hillside behind. Apartments are quite basic but have everything you need. Only negative comment I could make is that the bed was uncomfortable. Very good value, pleasant staff, excellent location but you would need a car. Not much open either this time of year but we were happy to prepare our own meals and eat on the terrace each evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cricklewood_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just spent 4 days at these apartments in Canos de Meca-don't tell anyone about this resort,it has been my secret for the past 16 years! These apartments are simple but are clean and are equipped with everything you need and the reception staff are very helpful.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiddlesthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews