We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
25
105
63
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
105
63
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station nice hotel floor wifi gaia sandemans cellar city porto
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We were two couples staying at the hotel.
We got nice rooms at the 5 th floor
We liked the rooms, the bed was very good.
The metro is just outside - very easy to use and goes all over the city. It's nice to ride the 2 funicular or the 3 trams (line 1,18 and 22).
Go to the beach with the blue metro line - it's lovely
We had really nice breakfast and tried the restaurant one evening. The service and waiters were really good and also very helpful. The food was good and really freshly and hot.
The bar served at beer on arrival even after closing (it is closed after midnight)
But there is a cocktail bar nearby.
Tips: we also liked the local restaurant
Restaurante Carpe just down the street on your right. Here you can get local barbecue
You point out what you like and the grill it for you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Black Tulip is a great choice to stay in Vila Nova de Gaia. But here's my review about it.

ROOM: Quite large and simple, with a huge window to enjoy the sunlight in the morning. Bed is quite confortable and cozy. Although this is a city hotel, bathrooms should be renovated (in my opinion, it doesn't match with the clean, renovated and simple style of the room).

CLEANLINESS: Clean room and bathroom (but not super clean). Found some dust on the corners of the bathroom (nothing that you couldn't overlook). Linen and towels were, on the other hand, very clean.

STAFF: Very friendly, helpful and respectful.

RESTAURANT/EATING: The hotel has a restaurant and a cafeteria on the top of the building with an amazing view over the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia and also the nearby city Porto. Breakfast is just amazing and 4 star quality (excellent).

LOCATION: The hotel is very central and it's quite easy to find, close to everything and located in the main avenue of Vila Nova de Gaia.

PARKING: There's free parking (outside) and paid parking areas (inside, below). Attention! If you are planning to use the paid parking below the building, be aware that entrance/exit (is the same) is quite steep and narrow - in my opinion, dangerous if you have lack of experience and not used to the car you are using. Better leave it on outside.

OVERALL: Great choice if you are planning to stay in central Vila Nova de Gaia.

Room Tip: As of this is a city centre hotel, my advice is to ask for a backside room.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paedrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Restaurant food was very, very simple in the past, BUT.... surprise... good surprise.

The food now is above normal, for sure!!

If you are in hotel and don't won't to go out for dinner, I recommend that you try it.

Views from restaurant are amazing.

Food is good, please listen to the managers suggestions, also keen in feedback.

Everyone is very kind, reception, restaurant, ....

Always welcomed in this hotel.

Thank you!!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank David_McDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I stayed in this place for two nights and the place is not the cleanest of the places. Make sure to avoid ninth floor as it is below the restaurant and very noisy. I was unfortunate to be at the ninth floor and I could hear the steps, which after a while can be very annoying.

Personally I would never go back there again, but perhaps if you are in lower floors you might be luckier.

The best thing about the restaurant is the view from the restaurant which is the best part of the hotel, absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ako e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

The hotel is really great!! The staff was really helpful!! The room were spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very rich and the view from the 10th floor was breathtaking! Very close to a metro station also! I totally recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redina_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews