We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 124
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 128
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Charm GuestHouse Douro(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 82
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Gaia Rooms(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
296 Heritage Apartments(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Bridge It(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$ 495
US$ 454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
162
299
108
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
299
108
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel corte inglesmetro stopcold buffet breakfasthuge department storewalls are thinmain roadtravel cardbedside tabletriple roomrecommend this hotelextra bedthe big shopping mallboiled eggsroom safesmall fridgebottled watercold meats
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The hotel is right next to the Corte Ingles store and has a metro/tram stop very close by that takes you to Porto very quickly. Breakfast is simple (no hot choices), but fine. Everything is refilled very quickly. The rooms are fine too, but the walls are thin so bring your ear plugs. Very small elevators! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M0rrighan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I stayed here 3 nights as part of British Airways package.
The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I slept like a log, wasn't disturbed by any noise either from the street or from other guests. Some hotels have paper thin walls, but not this one! The bathroom was well supplied with thick clean towels, and there was a wall mounted bodywash dispenser in the shower cubical. Good lighting, ample space and spotless.

The staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful, switching from different languages to help guests. I was impressed.
The small lobby has a seating area with comfy sofa's and a help yourself supply of free tea, coffee and fruit juices, plus a fridge with bottles of cold water. Alcohol is available and is moderately priced.
The huge department store next to the hotel is a landmark, has very late night hours, and serves very good food in both it's basement food hall & 6th floor restaurant.
Location wise, it's a 2 minute walk to the metro station, and I made good use of my travel card. A bargain at 5 Euro's per 24 hours, which included the metro from the airport and back again.
My only quibble... and this is a tiny one.... The electric socket for recharging phones/tablet etc were on a wall behind the bedside table, but about a foot off the floor. Really awkward positioning,& would have been better to have the socket above the desk.
For a 3 star this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, General Manager Assistant at Cliphotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing ClipHotel and for the time spent writting your review.

Your words and satisfaction makes us really proud. We love to make our guests feel like their were in their own homes

We will take into consideration your feedback about eletrick sockets and we will try to improve this issue to make it more confortable for our guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Put in by tour operator. Bland, a bit dull, 20 min walk into town BUT good for Porto's excellent Metro, right to door. If you're into modern shopping, you'll like El Corte Ingles next to hotel but we'd have preferred a bit more character in city. Breakfast (cold) a bit poor and chaotically disorganised!

Room Tip: high up is best
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed at the Clip two weeks ago for a week.It was well situated next to the metro station and only twenty minutes walk down the hill towards the Duoro bridge.
Just across the road was El Cort Ingles which was great fo late night eating ranging from a la carte to a combined food hall.It came in very useful on more than one occasion.
The staff on reception were a good laugh as well as being so helpful without being pushy but the room staff were magical.
Yes the breakfasts were the same each day but I never found them lacking in any way.
The Clip treated us extremely well and we would definitely stay again.Great access from the airport and links all over the city.

Room Tip: Best side of the river to stay and please use the local cafes for the best views of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StaffsGwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The receptionists were always very friendly. The hotel has a very good location, close to metro, shopping, bakeries, market, etc. It is clean and comfortable. The air conditioning broke down, the hotel didnt work to fix it and to compensate gave us a voucher for breakfast. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CleisonU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews