We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
167
311
110
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
311
110
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel corte inglesmetro stopcold buffet breakfasthuge department storewalls are thinmain roadtravel cardbedside tabletriple roomrecommend this hotelextra bedthe big shopping mallboiled eggsroom safesmall fridgebottled waterhire car
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were given a room on the 10th (highest) floor - nice to have a view over Vila Nova de Gaia (even though you can't see the old town, it's cool to be up high!). We had a balcony with sun loungers - nothing fancy but nice to relax in the afternoon sun.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. No tea/coffee facilities in the room but you can help yourself to tea, bottles of water, juice and fruit at reception whenever you like. Breakfast was continental and there was a good variety of choice (boiled eggs, ham and cheese, pastries - including natas one day [DELICIOUS], fresh and canned fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, fresh orange juice among the drink options...I was happy! ). No problems with in-room facilities, good Wifi, TV worked with lots of channels to choose from, room and towels were very clean.
The lift is small (we could only fit the two of us with backpacks and it was a squeeze with our luggage!) but that's not really a problem, just something to note.
The location was great for us as it meant that we could walk over the bridge to the old town every day and get that stunning vista on the way. It takes about 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the bridge if you walk - much quicker if you decide to get the tram, which stops practically outside the hotel. You are also right next to El Corte Ingles - a huge department store - for your shopping needs! If you are booking on to the Yellow bus tour, it happens to stop at El Corte Ingles so that was really handy for us after a day's sightseeing!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaz29Gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We travel to Porto at least twice a year and always book at the Clip Hotel. It is set in an ideal location for the exploration of the city and surrounding areas with the metro being only 50 mts from the front door. Breakfast is continental which we have come to expect even from 4 star hotels now. Plenty of cold meats and bread,fresh fruit and coffee. Always found the staff to be courteous and helpful and will continue booking the same hotel for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing El Corte Ingles
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, gENERAL MANAGER ASSISTANT at Cliphotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest,

In advance we would like to thank you for the time spent writting this review.
Our guests feedback is essential so the improvement of our quality.

We want our guests to feel as ClipHotel was their own home and we feel very proud when our guests really apreciate their stay.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Clip Hotel is a hotel with huge luck Of service!

The employee is totaly luck Of understanding!
First when we check inn. We didnt feel any welcome at all. The sceptic eyes from the reseptionenist Marko.
And the Worse Of all experience is .......
Me and my husband check out in the morning and paid for 2 rooms. We decided to go sightseeing coz our girls wanted to sleep until 12 noon. While we are out sightseeing i got phone call from my dauther that when they check out they have to pay 25 euros for the bed. I said .... Ive already check out and paid for 2 rooms And all of sudden my girls under 16 years old have to pay for the bed. They supposed to use that money for food/lunch. My dauther ask for the Receipt and no receipt.

When i come back i discuss this to Joanna the resepsjonist. Why is IT that you asking my girls to pay for the bed. Ive already check out and paid for 2 rooms. "You supposed not to Ask money from my girls.
And the Worse is she never say Sorry at all for the inconvinient.
Been travelling all over the world.
I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.
Such a rude employee and they dont understand any service at all....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maria Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We had two good days at Clip Hotel. Very helpfull receptionand staff- Good and free wi fi and free water and tea at the reception.
Very good location- just 25 meter from Metro and only 15-20 minutes walk to Douro River .
Really good breakfast.
But because of two things we only give Four Stars.
The rooms are too small and you must pay for parking ,which is about 100 Meter away from the hotel. We prefer, that parking is included in the rates.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoskildeJakobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Excellent location, 2 steps away from the metro stop and for the compulsive shoppers 2 steps away from El Corte Inglês.

The title of this revue sums up my opinion about this hotel. The room was small yet comfortable, good bed (asked for single room and had a double bed) and pillows. The bathroom was good in spite having a shower instead of a bath tub.

The poorest in this hotel is breakfast. If you like bacon and eggs for breakfast tough luck there is´nt.

The elevators are minimum (two passengers with luggage at best) so at rush hour you better get the stairs.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

If you are traveling by car the hotel has private parking in a near street, but if you go around the block once or twice you might get lucky and find a free parking space (free only between 20:00 and 08:00 on weekdays).

Room Tip: The higher the better ! Ask for room on the higher floors !
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hapoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, general manager assistant at Cliphotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at ClipHotel.

We are very grateful for your feedback, because it is the only way we can improve the quality of our services.
In fact elevators are quite small but we are studying some options to solve this issue. About breakfast, we serve a good and varied cold buffet breakfast, but that is what we sell to our guests, we do not advertise nothing the guest will not get at the hotel.

We look forrward to welcome you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews