We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful finale after the Va. Military Tattoo”
Review of 456 Fish

456 Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
456 Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 847 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: 456 Fish offers a wide variety of Seafood, steaks, chicken and pork. Only the freshest ingredients are used.
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Only a block from the Scope Arena, we wandered in around 5 P.M.after the performance on Sunday and were seated right away. It filled up quickly. Relaxing, cool interior on a terribly hot day. A few good craft beers and good wines by the glass were available. Dinners were excellent. Lots of lobster in the Mac and Cheese--tuna perfectly seared and rare. Our waiter, Zach, was charming and knowledgeable. Prices were less expensive than Philadelphia area equivalent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronvabea, Owner at 456 Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Max, thanks for taking the time to give us a review . I will pass your comments on to our complete staff.

We strive to do better everyday !!!

Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

My wife and I had Easter Brunch at 446 Fish last weekend. It had been several years since we ate there and the quality of their food has not diminished in that time frame. Our server was very friendly and attentive through our meal. My wife had the Frittata Omelet and I the Lobster Mac and Cheese - both Entrée’s were delicious and the portions generous. The hot biscuits served with a selection of jams were an added bonus.

It was nice to see the restaurant is still one of the best in Norfolk and an excellent choice for Sunday Brunch. Give them a try you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank supp028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Three of us enjoyed a leisurely and enjoyable meal at a window table with a nice view of the street scene. Our server and other staff were well informed and attentive. My wife's rockfish was the hit of the night. The crab cakes were good but might have had a bit more seasoning. The wine and beers list was limited but with good choices. I especially liked the New Zealand sauvignon blanc. The noise level was just fine and we enjoyed lingering over dessert and coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cyclingsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We made a reservation at this restaurant for Valentine's Day through OpenTable. Someone from the restaurant home office called my husband and informed him that they needed a credit card to hold the table. This was NOT a requirement on OpenTable so it seemed odd to get a follow-up call requiring this. We were told that because it was a special evening, it was required. Without a credit card to hold the table, we could not keep the reservation. This seemed unreasonable and we asked what would happen if we didn't have one? Possibly, we were planning to pay cash for our meal. She said it was the restaurant owner's policy to require one. This woman was very unpleasant and rude. We refused and told her that we had every intention of being there. She then stated that if we did not show by 6:00pm, our reservation would be cancelled. Within seconds of hanging up the phone, our reservation was cancelled. We called the restaurant and inquired what had happened. The young lady who took the call reinstated the reservation. Seconds later, someone else from the restaurant called back to inform us that we HAD to give a credit card number to hold the reservation. My husband did give them a card number but this had already soured the experience. We were also informed that if we did not show, we would be charged a $25.00 no show fee. Then we called Open Table and asked them if this was common. The man that we spoke to said this was very concerning and it should not have happened. They would open an inquiry into it. At the restaurant, everyone was exceptionally courteous and the service was good. The food was just average. My filet and lobster tail were disappointing. The filet came in two very thin slices that could not possible have been cooked medium rare as requested and the lobster tail was very small. My husband had fish and it was decent. The creme brûlée dessert was barely 1/4 inch thick in the dish - we got about three decent spoonfuls out of it - that was all. I get it that they want to make sure they make the most out of a holiday situation but it's wrong to gouge their clientele to do so. To be fair, we spoke to the onsite manager and explained the whole reservation situation. He apologized profusely but it didn't help how we were treated originally. We would never go back just on principal of how this restaurant owner and his assistant treated us. There are many more options for dinner. This experience cost us $180.00 (with tip). We will write this restaurant off for any future meals and will never recommend it to anyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronvabea, Owner at 456 Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Gayle, Believe it or not there are a lot of people who make several different reservations and hold them . Then they go to one and don't even cancel the others. We adopted this policy several years ago and the number of no shows was reduced tremendously .
We are sorry , you don't like our policy but if you were coming anyway what difference does it make ?
We don't seem to have problems with this policy .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Wound up here last night with the fam. Hadn't been here yet but my daughter had so we gave it a shot. Just wanted some drinks and apps. Everything was good. Cocktails were good and the wine was nicely chilled. Liked the barrata, crab egg rolls and scallop dishes. Very good crowd too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HokieHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronvabea, General Manager at 456 Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Hokie , Thanks so much for your review .

We strive to do better everyday ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 456 Fish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing