We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 142
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
US$ 124
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 148
US$ 138
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 191
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 312
US$ 230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 261
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
77
51
47
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
51
47
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorfolk airportthe shuttle driveran early flightva beachroom was largebed was comfortableparking lotlobbywalmartinnsclerk
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

attended a training seminar here this week, many of the attendees were staying at the hotel and said it was 'ok' and breakfast was good too. however (all caps), the people who put on our presentation/training paid for a conference room for four days - everyday the staff was walking down the hall and laughing and carrying on loudly (all caps). the room they gave us was very cold(all caps) and i am used to being in an air conditioned space for work all day but this was cold enough to rate a jacket. (i know the instructor at least 2-3 times talked to the hotel staff about getting some heat turned on or the air conditioning temperature changed) the hotel will say it was another one or two day conference but on our last day of the course i was in they moved us to a conference room near the hotels human resources office and the noise level increase 10x making it much more frustrating trying to concentrate. the hotel had construction going on on the other side of the building no where close to where we were so that isn't a viable excuse for them. this was a complete exercise in frustration for the attendees and the speaker/presenter - i put this on the critique at the end of the course and I hope they do not have the course or any other presentations at this location.

Room Tip: it is an ok place to stay but do not book an event here if you want your attendees to be comfortable in the room or if you want anyone to be able to hear anyone speaking as the staff is very inconsiderate - we had the door closed a few times and we could still here them in the hallway - we had the door open most of the time because the thermostat was turned down too low and all of us attending were very cold even with 80 degree temperatures outside it was very uncomfortable for us. book someplace else it will be worth it in the long run
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I am embarrassed to read that you has this experience here with us at this hotel. I can assure you that every piece of guest feedback we receive is taken seriously. I have shared this review with the staff today in our stand up meeting and expressed my disappointment in all that was mentioned. My apologies for your less then great experience with us during your meeting. We pride ourselves in our two main guest touch points in our hotel, our guest room and services and our meeting room/banquet facilities here at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. Thank you for your review and this will be utilized as a training tool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a king suite and a 2 double suite for one night. The rooms were large and inexpensive. The carpets were badly stained and furniture was worn, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was nice. Rooms were fairly noisy from air traffic in/out of Norfolk Airport, but air traffic was relatively low between 10pm and 6am. Hotel was easy to find from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitzgerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In your review we noticed that you mentioned some items that need attention. We hope that you will once again travel to the area and stay with us so that you can enjoy our renovation that is currently taking place and should be completed in late spring. We take great pride in servicing our guest and making sure their time with us is enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

With close proximity to ORF, the property caters to those who need the use of the airport most. While the setting is urban and nondescript, it is directly across the street from the Hilton. All the amenities one might need during a stay are close, familiar restaurants and department stores are minutes away.
I found the property to be very clean and presentable; in spite of the bar area construction. Our room was recently updated and was pleasing with clean modern lines.
The floor plan of the room was well thought out and certainly not your typical. The property offered all the amenities a business traveler needs and everything a family on a budget wants: free Wi-Fi, computers in the lobby, fitness center, and free transportation w/in a 5 mile radius, pool, hot-tub, minutes to the airport, and free daily USA Today newspaper at your door.
All of the employees made us feel welcomed and as cared for as if we were staying in a Norfolk B & B! Caesar picked us up from the airport and was courteous and professional. He gave us the lay of the land and made a great ambassador for this Holiday Inn. Tameka at the front desk was equally professional yet we felt ‘hugged’ by her pleasant personality and warm smile.
This Holiday Inn is a great value and I highly recommend choosing this property if it suits your needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! we take great pride in servicing each and every guest not only with our amentites and hotel but with our people. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future. I will make sure this review is shared with the associates mentioned that helped impact your stay. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

So close, you can practically see the pilot flying the planes! We stayed here for a wedding, and drove to the hotel. I hadn't realized how close we were to the airport till I started seeing Southwest planes taking off - it felt like we were right next to the runway.

The hotel itself is nice; there is a very large lobby with lots of seating, the staff was pleasant, and our room was clean. The carpeting looked pretty worn, and had some noticeable stains, but the bed was comfortable. All we wanted was a good nights sleep, and other than the occasional airplane noise, we did get that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohligee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and chose us as your hotel. We hope to see you again in your travels and please come back to enjoy our renovated hotel once it is complete this Spring ! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ok, this hotel is the last straw for Holiday Inn for me. First, I had to wait a half hour at the airport after calling and saw the other hotels in the area pick up their people in a timely fashion. Next I get to the hotel and the outside and lobby looks nice. I get to my king size jacuzzi room and that impression from the front was gone. The room was 20-30 years out of date and smelled TERRIBLE! After seeing some bugs flying around and the smell giving me a headache, I went next door to the residence inn and reserved one if their rooms for the rest of the week. I even tried another room and, well at least it had an updated TV, but the style was the same and it still stunk, just not as bad. Bad experience all around and would advise avoiding entirely! Oh, it didn't help the ambiance when a couple of patrol cars pulled up and were on their way to arrest a prostitilute at the hotel. That may not have been the hotels fault, but I've never seen that happen at any hotel I've stayed at before...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We apologize that you have had a less then excellent stay here with us at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. We take all guest concerns extremely seriously and are currently looking into all aspects of the stay that you had. If you would kindly contact one of the management staff at the hotel we would like to discuss your concerns more in depth and win you back as Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport guest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews