We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE TO STAY - BUT DON'T HAVE A TRAINING / PRESENTATION BOOKED HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Bealeton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE TO STAY - BUT DON'T HAVE A TRAINING / PRESENTATION BOOKED HERE”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

attended a training seminar here this week, many of the attendees were staying at the hotel and said it was 'ok' and breakfast was good too. however (all caps), the people who put on our presentation/training paid for a conference room for four days - everyday the staff was walking down the hall and laughing and carrying on loudly (all caps). the room they gave us was very cold(all caps) and i am used to being in an air conditioned space for work all day but this was cold enough to rate a jacket. (i know the instructor at least 2-3 times talked to the hotel staff about getting some heat turned on or the air conditioning temperature changed) the hotel will say it was another one or two day conference but on our last day of the course i was in they moved us to a conference room near the hotels human resources office and the noise level increase 10x making it much more frustrating trying to concentrate. the hotel had construction going on on the other side of the building no where close to where we were so that isn't a viable excuse for them. this was a complete exercise in frustration for the attendees and the speaker/presenter - i put this on the critique at the end of the course and I hope they do not have the course or any other presentations at this location.

Room Tip: it is an ok place to stay but do not book an event here if you want your attendees to be comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I am embarrassed to read that you has this experience here with us at this hotel. I can assure you that every piece of guest feedback we receive is taken seriously. I have shared this review with the staff today in our stand up meeting and expressed my disappointment in all that was mentioned. My apologies for your less then great experience with us during your meeting. We pride ourselves in our two main guest touch points in our hotel, our guest room and services and our meeting room/banquet facilities here at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. Thank you for your review and this will be utilized as a training tool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    48
    45
    15
    15
See reviews for
62
23
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a king suite and a 2 double suite for one night. The rooms were large and inexpensive. The carpets were badly stained and furniture was worn, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was nice. Rooms were fairly noisy from air traffic in/out of Norfolk Airport, but air traffic was relatively low between 10pm and 6am. Hotel was easy to find from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzgerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In your review we noticed that you mentioned some items that need attention. We hope that you will once again travel to the area and stay with us so that you can enjoy our renovation that is currently taking place and should be completed in late spring. We take great pride in servicing our guest and making sure their time with us is enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

With close proximity to ORF, the property caters to those who need the use of the airport most. While the setting is urban and nondescript, it is directly across the street from the Hilton. All the amenities one might need during a stay are close, familiar restaurants and department stores are minutes away.
I found the property to be very clean and presentable; in spite of the bar area construction. Our room was recently updated and was pleasing with clean modern lines.
The floor plan of the room was well thought out and certainly not your typical. The property offered all the amenities a business traveler needs and everything a family on a budget wants: free Wi-Fi, computers in the lobby, fitness center, and free transportation w/in a 5 mile radius, pool, hot-tub, minutes to the airport, and free daily USA Today newspaper at your door.
All of the employees made us feel welcomed and as cared for as if we were staying in a Norfolk B & B! Caesar picked us up from the airport and was courteous and professional. He gave us the lay of the land and made a great ambassador for this Holiday Inn. Tameka at the front desk was equally professional yet we felt ‘hugged’ by her pleasant personality and warm smile.
This Holiday Inn is a great value and I highly recommend choosing this property if it suits your needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! we take great pride in servicing each and every guest not only with our amentites and hotel but with our people. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future. I will make sure this review is shared with the associates mentioned that helped impact your stay. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

So close, you can practically see the pilot flying the planes! We stayed here for a wedding, and drove to the hotel. I hadn't realized how close we were to the airport till I started seeing Southwest planes taking off - it felt like we were right next to the runway.

The hotel itself is nice; there is a very large lobby with lots of seating, the staff was pleasant, and our room was clean. The carpeting looked pretty worn, and had some noticeable stains, but the bed was comfortable. All we wanted was a good nights sleep, and other than the occasional airplane noise, we did get that!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dohligee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and chose us as your hotel. We hope to see you again in your travels and please come back to enjoy our renovated hotel once it is complete this Spring ! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ok, this hotel is the last straw for Holiday Inn for me. First, I had to wait a half hour at the airport after calling and saw the other hotels in the area pick up their people in a timely fashion. Next I get to the hotel and the outside and lobby looks nice. I get to my king size jacuzzi room and that impression from the front was gone. The room was 20-30 years out of date and smelled TERRIBLE! After seeing some bugs flying around and the smell giving me a headache, I went next door to the residence inn and reserved one if their rooms for the rest of the week. I even tried another room and, well at least it had an updated TV, but the style was the same and it still stunk, just not as bad. Bad experience all around and would advise avoiding entirely! Oh, it didn't help the ambiance when a couple of patrol cars pulled up and were on their way to arrest a prostitilute at the hotel. That may not have been the hotels fault, but I've never seen that happen at any hotel I've stayed at before...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We apologize that you have had a less then excellent stay here with us at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. We take all guest concerns extremely seriously and are currently looking into all aspects of the stay that you had. If you would kindly contact one of the management staff at the hotel we would like to discuss your concerns more in depth and win you back as Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Address: 1570 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,884 - ₹ 16,945
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. The Holiday Inn Select Norfolk Airport, Virginia is easily located only two miles from Norfolk International Airport and central to every city in Hampton Roads including Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Norfolk Downtown. The prime location is near several office and industrial parks, including Lake Wright Executive Park, Norfolk Commerce Park and Norfolk Industrial Park. Local companies include: Boeing Norfolk, Northrup Grumman, Booz Allen Hamilton, CMA CGM, HDR Engineering, USAA, Zim Shipping and Nextel. Nearby government facilities comprise of Little Creek Amphibious Base, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station and the Norfolk Naval Station and Shipyard. Other local attractions within close proximity of the hotel are Nauticus, Norfolk Cruise Port, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens and Virginia Wesleyan College. The hotel feature s 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and banquet accommodations for up to 400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing