We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
153
87
35
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
87
35
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon rolls keurig coffee maker front desk living room love staying turkey sausage great place to stay king suite flat screen tv shopping and restaurants water pressure pool and hot tub the location is perfect would definitely stay here again comfortable room exercise room great room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I went on a road trip to Virginia Beach but booked this hotel in Norfolk because of how expensive oceanfront hotels are in Virginia Beach. This hotel, although not near the beach (20min drive), is the second best location in my opinion. It is surrounded by restaurants and stores literally walking distance, there is also a Walmart conveniently located right across the street which was great as we stayed a few days and bought some groceries to save some money since the room came with a mini fridge and microwave. There is a pool and gym inside and free breakfast included. This is not a luxury hotel but is definitely a good value hotel. A small note: Room 121 has a small but annoying sound because of a machine or something in the hotel and I had to ask to switch rooms because the first night we had trouble sleeping but the guy or manager at the front desk changed our rooms without question so no complaints on customer service!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very proud of the customer service team here.

Regards,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms here are HUGE and pretty nice. The property is recently renovated and looks great. The breakfast is what you would expect. The pool/hot tub area had so much chlorine that your eyes burned upon entry. Overall a great value for the money. The only drawback was the weird smell throughout the hotel. All that aside I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank eskolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello,

I appreciate your feedback. Rest assured all feedback is used as a gift so that we can continually work to deliver the best possible experience to you and other guests.

Sincerely,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This recently renovated hotel is by far the best in the area from my experience staying in the vicinity.
Very dramatic lobby, rooms were clean and the restaurant was friendly and good food for good value.
I’d definitely book it if I needed to come this way again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank carolkurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for the review.

Regards,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We stayed for one night because the location was close to the airport. We have stayed at other HIE properties before that were nicer, however, we would sum this up as not the best and not the worst. The room was large and clean, but very dated. A lot of the extra (suite) space was wasted due to design and dim lighting. The bathroom was partially updated and hot water/pressure was fine. The microwave and mini fridge were really old, but they worked. The air conditioning unit was pretty loud, but it also worked, in fact, the room got cold quickly. The beds were not very comfortable as the mattresses were very firm, but the linens were fresh. Flat screen TV was fine but there were a limited amount of cable stations. The pool looked nice, but we did not use it during our short stay. The complimentary airport shuttle is a plus, but we waited a long time for pick up and had to call the desk to make sure we had not been over looked. The drivers of the shuttles were pleasant. There is a lot of construction going on in the area right now and so we did hear some street noise from heavy machinery early in the morning (but it wasn't horrible and the hotel really cannot do anything about this). The complimentary breakfast was marginally sufficient, but again, it is complimentary and it did get the job done for quick bite before heading out to the airport. It wasn't a bad stay and we are hopeful they are working on improving the property because it has a good proximity to the airport and local eateries (Starbucks is literally across the street). In all, it is still probably the best choice in it's price range for that location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Need some updating. First, we were place in a "non-smoking" room, which it seems in the past was a smoking room that they tried to convert to non-smoking by spreading carpet cleaner on the carpet. That "trick" never works. Their solution needs to be to get rid off the carpet, curtains etc, and re-do the room. We requested a change of rooms and the next room was a real non-smoking room. This was the second hotel in Norfolk in one night, so it was too late to do anything else. It seems that Northfolk is full of very tired hotels. Do your homework as it seems the city doesn't have many up-to-date hotels.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank dorcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hello,

First, I appreciate the compliment. All feedback is a gift. I appreciate you recognizing our hotel as clean. Housekeeping really works hard to provide clean rooms.

We are a smoke free hotel and have been since construction in 2009. Unfortunately some people try to get away with smoking in the rooms. I regret that your first room was one of those duds.

Sincerely,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews