We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for our quick stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for our quick stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here for one night on March 17th. We were in town for the Shamrock Half Marathon. I reserved the room online. The site was clear and easy to navigate. I paid in full up front, so nothing additional was needed at check-in. The staff member that checked us in was friendly and wished me luck when she found out why we were in town. I traveled with my husband and son, and we had reserved a double-queen room.

I was surprised at the room based on the rate ($89/night). I expected something compact and simple. Instead, when we opened the door, we immediately walked into a wide open living space. There was a large TV, couch and love seat, and small kitchen area with a sink, fridge, and cabinets. There was a double-wide closet with full length mirrors.

The bedroom area had it's own door for privacy. That space was as large as the living room and also contained a TV and large wall mirror. Tons of lighting as well. Between the living room and bedroom was a great bathroom. Full length counter and mirrors and shower/tub combo. Not cramped at all. Two people could comfortable change clothes and get ready in there if needed. Everything was immaculately clean.

Check out was a breeze. Because of the race, we were leaving before 5AM. The front desk was staffed and pulled up our info right away. We were even offered complimentary coffee and juice before we left. It was too early for the regular breakfast to be out.

Bottom line: cost effective, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff. It was perfect for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your all your compliments, Monica. We are glad to have been able to provide you with a comfortable stay before your half marathon. We strive to not only provide our guests with a great value, but highest level of accommodation for guests on the go. As a suite hotel, we try to give you a home-away-from-home feel no matter how long you stay with us. We hope you choose us again the next time something brings you our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    75
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
37
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I travel for business a great deal and have stayed in several hotels in this area for extended periods of time. The hotel was recommended to me by a friend and it has become my favorite place to stay in the Norfolk area. It is convient to resturants and shopping and easy to get to the places that I work, on a daily basis. The staff goes out of their way to accomadate the guest and the housekeeping has always done a wonderful job. I have stayed in this hotel for nearly 60 days in the last 4 months and the service has been consistant.

Room Tip: Take a room on the side away from Military highway to stay away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Mr. Travis, we are glad to be your home away from home when you are in Hampton Roads. We do our best to offer outstanding service to our extended stay guests. One of our best features, in many people’s opinions, is our proximity to multiple fast food and casual dining restaurants, a café, drug store, and grocer. This can really be great for guests that are on the road a lot. We thank you for the
compliments, and invite you back the next time you end up in Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

By far the best service I've had since being on the road. I travel the country for work, stay in hotel after hotel, after hotel. I've stayed anywhere from the Holiday Inn Express's, to the Hampton's, to the Red Roof's, and everything in between. I've never had a more attentive person working the service desk, ever. The room was great, the only thing I'm picky about are my beds, and this place had as comfortable a bed as you'll find anywhere (back home I have a pillow top memory foam mattress, trust me, I know beds). The spacious living room area with the extra flat screen tv was pure bonus! My only knock, I was only in town for one night... Wish I could of stayed a week or longer. Thank you HIE - Norfolk. Hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: I would imagine any, personally I stayed on the 5th floor, there were two queens and a pull out matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Paul, we are happy to have given you a great experience the night you were in Norfolk. Here at Holiday Inn Express Norfolk Airport, we really to try to stand out from the competition, and as a result we have many returning guests. As a newer hotel, we hope to really impress our guests with our beds and furnishings. We are glad to hear that you would like to stay with us more than one night – many of our guests do! We hope to have you back the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland Center, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The rooms actual suites with an actual bed room - closed by a door! Everything is clean and new, but what shines even more is the staff.

Not only will they pick you up (and bring you to) the airport, but this past trip they even brought me to Church (Ash Wednesday). In addition, they watched my luggage as I met with a customer in the spacious lobby.

Ask the front desk for delivery recomendations, and you can be assured of a good meal and get to work right away. When I travel, I have a lot to deal with, and these folks take care of things so I can focus on business. I will stay here every time I am in the area from now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
George, we really hope we made your trip to Norfolk for business an enjoyable one. We really try to take the stress out of traveling and being in an unfamiliar area, and we are glad that you were thoroughly pleased with your stay here. We offer our shuttle services to our guests to and from Norfolk International Airport and on occasion to destinations within a three mile radius. The great thing is that you can find anything you might want close to our hotel. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the evening clerk, housekeeping,breakfast and check out it was all wonderful. definitely a must stay and for those that need to get back to the airport professional shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We try to provide truly outstanding service to our guests, from our check-in until we drop you off for your flight at the airport. Among hotels near the airport, we try to really stand out from our
competition, and we hope that you choose us again the next time that you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
3.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
7.2 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Address: 1157 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-2434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,442 - ₹ 14,071
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing