We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
367
303
152
72
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
303
152
72
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view chesapeake bay beach chairs small kitchen full kitchen nice pool clean rooms family vacation va beach free breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful the breakfast area great room home away from home nice stay balcony bw
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

The hotel over looks the Chesapeake Bay and always has the best view in town. Once checked in, off to the beach for a stroll then its out to dinner or just making something in the room. This hotel is central to pretty much anyplace around in under 30 min. Lots of channels on the TV and really fast WiFi makes this a 5 star for all travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Wow, thanks for the very kind word, we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. From the description, it sounds as if you had one of our balcony rooms which provides a guaranteed view over the gorgeous Chesapeake Bay...hopefully you were able to catch a glimpse of some of the ships passing by us, and dolphins which can usually be seen quite often feeding and playing just yards off the shoreline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

third time is the last try. the room smelled terrible and was not clean. i was surpised because i always expected best western and windom to be great hotels. i would not recomend this place to anyone. i travel for work, now i know which place to avoid unfortuantely

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank BoardingPass646835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for taking a few moments to let us know how your stay with us was. On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations while staying with us, we truly do not like to hear that someone left and did not have a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The room was ok. The staff was great and friendly. Complimentary breakfast wa provides and there was direct access to the beach. The location was great, close enough to the downtown area and other landmarks.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nittba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

We appreciate you taking a few moments to let us know how your stay with us was. I am glad to here that you loved the staff, breakfast, and our location to the beach, downtown, and attractions. I do hope that if you are ever in our area again that you decide to stay and give us another chance to WOW you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We originally asked if we could change our room to the first floor. I just couldn’t handle the stairs! The manager had already agreed but said we have an elevator. We couldn’t find the elevator! I said we are fine then, he said well do you want to go higher for the view? So he moved us up to the fourth floor. He also personally showed me where the elevator was located. The only thing that could be considered a con was there was an odor in the frig but it still worked and the freezer kept ice cream frozen!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SandraS1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Sandra, thanks for letting us know about your stay. I do remember our conversation about moving to a ground floor, and then talking you into a higher floor...while you can see the bay from all of our balcony rooms, they higher you go the better the view, and it was my privilege to show you where the elevator was located, although it was short, I enjoyed our chat we had while walking to it. I do hope that next time you are heading to our area that you decide to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Can't review the property as when we TRIED to check-in on a confirmed reservation we made by calling the Hotel Front Desk directly at (757) 583-2621, at least one week prior to arrival, the type of room we paid for and reserved - Pet Friendly, King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony, wasn't available!

Front Desk, including the Manager (Joe) started giving us all sorts of excuses why the above Suite they confirmed we had reserved, wasn't available, trying blame "Goggle" (once again, I called the Hotel directly for our reservation) and that they never confirm any customer will get a Ocean View Suite with Balcony, when calling the front desk, and especially when making a reservation through Joe, who BTW, I never spoke with him)

Meanwhile, there were two other couples that had already tried to check-in before me, that had Reservation Problems as well, with their Room type they also Booked, not being available

HORRIBLE HOTEL RESERVATION MANAGEMENT and Front Desk Support!

We will be contacting Best Western's Corporate office regarding above

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank pauljmacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay with us was. We definitely apologize that there was a mix-up with the room that you were supposed to have, we have been looking into why someone would have quoted you a pet friendly king room with a balcony when we do not have any rooms of that type available. We have our standard two queen pet room, our king junior suite pet room (which does not have a balcony), our standard suite pet rooms, our double queen balcony pet room, and our handicap accessible pet room. After researching your reservation we did discover that it came into our system as being booked through Google, as a two part reservation, one for a double queen balcony pet room, and one for a king junior suite pet room, and we did offer to accommodate you in a room that had two queens and a balcony. We do understand how frustrating it can be when situations like this arise, and are looking into why it happened and working with our Third Party Booking partners to prevent it from happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews