We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
215
261
222
122
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
261
222
122
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge self park waterfront view elizabeth river hotel restaurant norfolk waterside uss wisconsin virginia beach nauticus ships
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This review has to consider that we stayed just as Hurricane Florence was expected. We had been staying in Washington DC and throughout the week the news networks had been full of alarming news concerning the arrival of Hurricane Florence.

As we travelled south via Richmond Virginia the weather remained good and that the storm was due to arrive further south than Norfolk. We gained confidence and took our time driving down. However as we took in Newport News the winds really picked up and then came the rain. This was alarming and we pressed on to the hotel at a quicker pace.

On arrival we checked in speedily and after locating our room I left to go and park the car. The parking garage was nearby and easily found. Cost of self parking for 2 nights was $18, a far better priced option than valet parking which was likely to have been in the same parking garage.

Our room was on the 6th floor and offered good views of the harbour side and was a very welcome oasis from the outside weather. Due to the storm everything was on bunker like mentality and available services severely restricted. As all local eateries were closed and as we later found out had been since the previous Tuesday, we had no other option but to eat in the hotel.

As it was our anniversary this no big deal and even with a reduced menu, we had a good meal and enjoyed a bottle of wine with it. We did enjoy a splendid evening despite not being able to go anywhere.

The room was very comfortable, roomy and the bathroom had a great shower. We enjoyed two very good nights sleep and with the improved weather the following day we had the opportunity to explore the area further even though many things remained closed.

Given that the impact of the storm could not be ignored, full praise to the Sheraton staff for making our stay somewhat more comfortable than could have so easily been the case.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markyp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

It’s wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with a safe place to ride out the hurricane, and that, despite the necessary limitations, you were able to enjoy a relaxing, pleasurable anniversary getaway. We hope to welcome you back again soon to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel when you can enjoy the full breadth of what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We started a night for an event in town. The hotel is very nice but a tad stingy; no complementary coffee. I suppose every dollar is needed. They did have a bar/restaurant but we didn't have a chance to try it out.
The room was basic but cozy and we had a view that looked or onto the ships. The shuttle driver was very friendly and even helped out right a minute to closing time. My husband dealt with the front desk but had no complaints. Nothing really stood out about this hotel, just s regular hotel visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jabenson0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and wonderful rating of the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. It’s terrific to know that the helpful staff and stunning views exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your thoughts and will discuss them internally, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Spent a week at a convention in the Marriott a block away, but decided to book a room here instead. I saved $100/night and am convinced I got the better hotel. Room was spacious and had a 180° view of the Elizabeth River right out my window. Bed was incredibly comfortable with upgraded linens. Internet was OK. Not consistently fast, but even at the slower speeds was sufficient. Bathroom was fine. Towels, etc. great. Small TV and its remote were not functioning well. Downloaded the Sheraton app to control the TV and it was much better. Fairly quiet place. Housekeeping was accommodating my wacky schedule. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but it looked appealing, including no waiting. Parking is the issue I have with this place. $13/night to park in a parking garage across the street. $26/night plus tips to have valet park your car at the hotel. Otherwise, I highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Ask for river view.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

What a thrill to hear that you were so pleased with your recent stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel! We feel that our luxurious accommodations, breathtaking views, tech upgrades and exceptional service combine to offer an unparallelled hotel experience. Thank you for your lovely review and wonderful rating, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Many of the issues that affected our stay were due to what appeared to be a lack of housekeeping and wait staff.
On our first morning at breakfast we chose to order from the menu rather than do the buffet. We waited 30 minutes to be served. No stations for coffee or water. Everything had to come from the kitchen. Food was mediocre at best.

The rooms were fair but very dusty. Our sheets were never changed. On our third day, we returned to our room
In the evening and found NO towels had been left. All of the soiled towels were removed and not replaced.
I spent about 20 minutes trying to call the front desk on the room phone but it was constantly busy. I finally looked up the number and used my cell phone and someone answered. I waited an additional 15 minutes for housekeeping to deliver the towels and coffee, also not replaced.

The hotel is in a great location. It is right next door to Waterside and a short walk to the Spirit of Norfolk.
That being said, if I return to Norfolk I will stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anglophile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed our terrific waterside location, but I regret that other frustrations marred your visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, please know that we appreciate the feedback and will use your comments for training opportunities. Please reach out to us directly if you’d like to further discuss your experience, as your stay is not reflective of our high service standards. It is our hope that you’ll give us another chance to leave you with a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I stayed here during a pool Tournament, even with a large amount of guest the hotel was comfortable and-easy to get around. The location is easy to find. There are multiple restaurants and a mall near by. The hotel was clean and the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were large and comfortable. The room was very clean and the food at the banquet was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Lynn, thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review and exceptional rating! We’re delighted that our convenient location, comfortable accommodations, delicious food and helpful service exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews