We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are thinking of staying here DON'T”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 9 September 2016

If I could give this place a negative 5 stars I would. Worst hotel stay in years and I usually stay in 50+ hotels per year. I should have known when I pulled up since it did not really have a proper drive way from the road to the property, and since i arrived after dark I had to do 2 uturns to come back around and try again.

When I walked in the door the place smelt dirty, and moldy, as well as looked old and dirty. I almost turned around to go find another hotel at this point but since it was a holiday weekend changes of finding one with rooms was nil to none.

The person that checked me in was rude and acted like I was bothering them to check me in.

The elevator was old and very rickety. I could tell it was having issues and on it's last leg as well as all the tile on the floor was all smashed and broken up.

The room was old and very small, smaller than most room of similar price. We had 2 adults and 2 kids and it was very tight and no place to put 4 suite cases, and had to step over them every time you walked by. The walls were very thin and you could hear ever word the people in the other room were saying, let alone the TV that was on till 3am.

Not the hotels fault but there was a fight in our hall way at around 3am with two people cussing and yelling at each other that went on for sometime with no intervening from the hotel staff. There were many bad cuss words used that our kids heard plan as day. Again not the hotels fault but just added to the awesomeness of the hotel experience.

The Free breakfast was small and unbearable so I ended up just going to waffle house. They had all the food laid out in this small little corner so there was a line of people that was about a 20 min wait in line to get to the food that sucked.

The rest of the hotel was just a dirty and moldy as the entry way, so no improvements as you moved around the hotel.

I would advice anyone thinking of staying here DON"T

Room Tip: No good rooms here
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pstryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Sorry you had problems. AS a note the drive way is not a drive way but city proprty being used as such until a new entrance is built over the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

The room was dusty, and need a good vacuuming; the hallway and elevator needed much repairs. My end of the hallway was quiet, I loved that they had no smoking on the room doors, and I could not smell any smoke in the room. Its in a great location, however they need to fix the entrance to the hotel from the main highway, confusing, its a wonder know one has had an accident. This is definitely a tourist hotel. The food station needs to expand, too congested, for two hotels occupying the same breakfast area; in addition they need more tables to eat.

Room Tip: end of the hall away from the front desk area.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thanks for your comments we appreciate your feedback. Sorry you had some issues but the good news is that the hotel will be renovated over the winter and will be whole new experience in the spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Pros: $70/night, Large 4.5 ft deep indoor pool, there were some free pretzels and fried food appetizers behind check in, the breakfast was interesting and prodigious, Larry at the front desk was very nice, and the T.V. goes straight to the channel guide when you turn it on (dish).

Cons: Broken bulb in bathroom and the toilet ran (husband fixed both once the manager brought up a bulb), the lobby coffeemaker was on the fritz upon arrival, No towels in pool area (Larry fixed), the gym and men's bathroom outside pool area was closed for repairs both nights, my husband was fussed out by an employee by the appetizers for not using the tongs to grab a pretzel (shame on him) he apologized and picked up the tongs only to continue being berated further until he left (he got a little distraught about that). Also, as seen in the pictures we got a note when we left the do not disturb sign on the doorknob about not doing that. We had only been there one night and our room needed no service, we did it on purpose and do that at all our hotel stays (never been a problem before), and lastly, the bed kinda bit me when I walked by it because the metal frame was sticking out tremendously.
You could hear the springs in the bed when you sat on it, but it wasn't too bad. I slept the second night okay. You do have to be careful with the hot items on the menu as they were a bit greasy, but it was a good breakfast otherwise. I don't think we would stay here again because it was pretty rough.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lapearl521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you for your comments, your feedback in most welcome. Sorry you did not enjoy your but prhaps you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.Breakfast was good with plenty of options and plenty of each option. The front desk staff was cordial and helpful. We will stay here again when/if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for your comments you feed back is most welcome. We are glad you enjoyed your stay will return to visist as great things are coming in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It looks as if it were a great hotel in its hey day. But it is in need of a major renovation. It does Carry the décor of many other Sleep Inns that you see ... From the bed spreads to the pictures hung on the wall. But the room (127)
I had was renovated at one time and many of the holes in wall where previous items once hung weren't even patched. Air conditioner is in much need of cleaning and filter change. Wallpaper peeling at seams where the two Sheets of paper meet. Pocket door to bathroom has handle work screwed missing, handle barely hanging on. Shower that used to have a door has been replaced with a makeshift shower rod you can buy at any family dollar store. Shower curtain is wrong size which was doubled over on the rod which them made curtain to short and allowed water from shower head to spray on to floor. Loose towel hook which allowed towel to continuously fall on floor. Them there's house keeping. How do you clean room and miss a pair of dress socks from a previous guest lying on floor at the foot of the bed. Dust so thick to spell your name on the top of Armoire that anyone 5'5 & over in height could see. Threw away hotel hand soap by sink i had been using, never replaced with a new bar. Throughout the hotel there are several spots on floor and ceiling that indicate water damage... Definitely an eye sore. The swimming although indoor is all Glass like an Atrium or a hothouse. Some of the glass panels are actually sliding doors that allow fresh air in on Nice day or reduce humidity like found in some other indoors pools. The ice maker on ground floor has seen better days. After one bucket of ice. Machine will only produce 5 cubes for every press or hold of button. There only real plus to me was breakfast Scrambled eggs, choice of bacon or sausage links.
Two waffle irons. Cook very friendly, dining area very large with access to outdoor courtyard next to the indoor pool. Parking lot very large but a portion of it that give you view of the highway is very poorly lit. I wouldn't park my car in that area after dark, especially when you consider that it is easy to cross the highway and enter the parking lot at any time or vice versa.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Huhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for you comments we do appreciate the feed back. Yes, your room was partly renovated and is a work in progress. We do apoligize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
1.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.1 km away
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
12.5 km away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
0.8 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport

Address: 6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502-5510 (Formerly Sleep Inn Lake Wright)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: ₹ 3,471 - ₹ 7,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lake Wright Hotel Norfolk
Sleep Inn Norfolk
Lake Wright Sleep Inn
Norfolk Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing