We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 119
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 171
US$ 134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
US$ 139
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 71
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 196
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 100
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
US$ 134
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
32
74
46
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
74
46
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolroom was cleancontinental breakfast buffetreal scrambled eggssausage linkspark and flychoice hotelsvirginia beacha king size bedbreakfast areagood nights sleepnight staylate at nightshuttle servicefamily reunionnorfolk airportdriveway
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The room was dusty, and need a good vacuuming; the hallway and elevator needed much repairs. My end of the hallway was quiet, I loved that they had no smoking on the room doors, and I could not smell any smoke in the room. Its in a great location, however they need to fix the entrance to the hotel from the main highway, confusing, its a wonder know one has had an accident. This is definitely a tourist hotel. The food station needs to expand, too congested, for two hotels occupying the same breakfast area; in addition they need more tables to eat.

Room Tip: end of the hall away from the front desk area.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thanks for your comments we appreciate your feedback. Sorry you had some issues but the good news is that the hotel will be renovated over the winter and will be whole new experience in the spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Pros: $70/night, Large 4.5 ft deep indoor pool, there were some free pretzels and fried food appetizers behind check in, the breakfast was interesting and prodigious, Larry at the front desk was very nice, and the T.V. goes straight to the channel guide when you turn it on (dish).

Cons: Broken bulb in bathroom and the toilet ran (husband fixed both once the manager brought up a bulb), the lobby coffeemaker was on the fritz upon arrival, No towels in pool area (Larry fixed), the gym and men's bathroom outside pool area was closed for repairs both nights, my husband was fussed out by an employee by the appetizers for not using the tongs to grab a pretzel (shame on him) he apologized and picked up the tongs only to continue being berated further until he left (he got a little distraught about that). Also, as seen in the pictures we got a note when we left the do not disturb sign on the doorknob about not doing that. We had only been there one night and our room needed no service, we did it on purpose and do that at all our hotel stays (never been a problem before), and lastly, the bed kinda bit me when I walked by it because the metal frame was sticking out tremendously.
You could hear the springs in the bed when you sat on it, but it wasn't too bad. I slept the second night okay. You do have to be careful with the hot items on the menu as they were a bit greasy, but it was a good breakfast otherwise. I don't think we would stay here again because it was pretty rough.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lapearl521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you for your comments, your feedback in most welcome. Sorry you did not enjoy your but prhaps you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.Breakfast was good with plenty of options and plenty of each option. The front desk staff was cordial and helpful. We will stay here again when/if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for your comments you feed back is most welcome. We are glad you enjoyed your stay will return to visist as great things are coming in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It looks as if it were a great hotel in its hey day. But it is in need of a major renovation. It does Carry the décor of many other Sleep Inns that you see ... From the bed spreads to the pictures hung on the wall. But the room (127)
I had was renovated at one time and many of the holes in wall where previous items once hung weren't even patched. Air conditioner is in much need of cleaning and filter change. Wallpaper peeling at seams where the two Sheets of paper meet. Pocket door to bathroom has handle work screwed missing, handle barely hanging on. Shower that used to have a door has been replaced with a makeshift shower rod you can buy at any family dollar store. Shower curtain is wrong size which was doubled over on the rod which them made curtain to short and allowed water from shower head to spray on to floor. Loose towel hook which allowed towel to continuously fall on floor. Them there's house keeping. How do you clean room and miss a pair of dress socks from a previous guest lying on floor at the foot of the bed. Dust so thick to spell your name on the top of Armoire that anyone 5'5 & over in height could see. Threw away hotel hand soap by sink i had been using, never replaced with a new bar. Throughout the hotel there are several spots on floor and ceiling that indicate water damage... Definitely an eye sore. The swimming although indoor is all Glass like an Atrium or a hothouse. Some of the glass panels are actually sliding doors that allow fresh air in on Nice day or reduce humidity like found in some other indoors pools. The ice maker on ground floor has seen better days. After one bucket of ice. Machine will only produce 5 cubes for every press or hold of button. There only real plus to me was breakfast Scrambled eggs, choice of bacon or sausage links.
Two waffle irons. Cook very friendly, dining area very large with access to outdoor courtyard next to the indoor pool. Parking lot very large but a portion of it that give you view of the highway is very poorly lit. I wouldn't park my car in that area after dark, especially when you consider that it is easy to cross the highway and enter the parking lot at any time or vice versa.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Huhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for you comments we do appreciate the feed back. Yes, your room was partly renovated and is a work in progress. We do apoligize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My wife and I have been very fortunate over the years in that we have never really been disappointed by a hotel in which we stayed...until now. This facility shares a lobby with a Quality Inn and both are located adjacent to what is now a construction sight. Sadly, some of the construction, or should I say renovation work should be done inside this facility. The lobby is welcoming, to be sure, but over all the place needs a real face-lift. Our king room was small, but not cramped, but noticeable are numerous holes in the walls where once had been fasteners for perhaps pictures, mirrors or whatever. In several spots, wallpaper was pealing and there were a number of nicks in the walls. The shower/toilet room was separated from the main room by a pocket door and there was a rather cramped vanity with a small sink in the alcove outside the door. The shower insert was spacious, but again, showed many signs of modification resulting in unrepaired holes where perhaps a shower door system may have been. Free wifi is offered, but not very reliable. Though we were told this is a pet friendly facility last November when we made our reservation, the day before arrival when we telephoned to confirm all was in order we were told that "the policy had changed." We were not notified of this change but to their credit, they honored the pet friendly agreement and of course charged us $30.00 additional for the convenience.
The breakfast buffet I will say was quite good. Nice variety of hot entre items along with a good selection of fruit and baked goods along with the usual cereal station.
The table area was, again, in need of attention. The primary area is small and cramped so not very accommodating to patron flow. I noticed missing wallpaper again, but most noticeable are the stains all over the upholstered bench seating lining both walls.
The room service menu included items for al three meals, but we learned early on that there was no lunch service. A bar opens later in the afternoon for a while and there may be dinner, but we were not around to find out for ourselves with the other plans we had.
There is a nice courtyard with a pool that is itself glass enclosed. The water needed attention but was refreshing enough. I noticed a sliding door that was in need of repair and appeared to be in that state for some time. Out door furnishings need to be replaced.
Finally, I hate to say it but the staff was for the most part, not as out going and willing to accommodate as we have experienced on other Sleep Inn's. The young woman who checked us in was terrific, but after that, well.
The best thing about this location is it's close proximity to the airport and easy access from the Bay Bridge. Traffic flow, however, is a chore so be prepared for a lot of U turns to get around.

Room Tip: Not sure what I can add here.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SheehanAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feed back.
Thanks for staying with us, we wish you experience had been a little more favorable. As you noted the hotels is in a satae of flux. Some work was done this past spring with the rest to follow over the coming winter. As for the construction, we obiviously do not control that, but that issue there is a new outlet mall being build next to us and will be open in mid summer. We do hope you will visit us again and watch us grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews