We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Film set hotel on top of the cliffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here at the end of January for 4 nights by default. Originally we had booked to stay at the Hotel Da Vila, in Ponta Do Sol, but it was closed and shuttered when we arrived. Fortunately, it was still morning the weather was dry and we had a car. Eventually we found out that the Estalagem also owned the Hotel Da Vila and they asked us to drive up to their car park.
We were given room 308, a very good room as they all appear to be, but as all the 300 numbered rooms do not see the sun at all during the winter, we arranged to change to room 512 the following day. (All the 400 and 500 numbered rooms have full sea views and get the sun practically all day in winter).
The hotel would make a good film setting with three lifts to transport you up from the road first to the reception then to the restaurant and then up to the rooms, although you still have to walk up flights of steps to get to rooms of 400 and 500 numbers. It is well designed with excellent views, an infinity outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room as well as lounges to relax in and balconies to watch sunsets.
Breakfast was excellent enhanced by the views from the restaurant. We did not have dinner in the hotel.
Although not essential, we found having a car most useful.
Enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.
P.S. WiFi is available free throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: In winter request rooms on floors numbered 400 and 500.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was my second time this year and I can only confirm that this hotel is
really great from every aspect: location, design, staff, facilities,
services offered to the clients (free airport transfer, free transfer to
and from levadas etc). If you are looking for a place to feel at home, if
you love aesthetic, refinement and design, tranquility and attention, rich
breafkfast buffet, nice spa facilities with views over the ocean and much
more... then you will be totally satisfied here. The sea view rooms have
fantastic views, like the outdoor pool, the spa and the bar. Big flat TV
screen in the room. Free internet. Excellent place for a very reasonable
price. The discreet presence of the owner/manager assures that everything
runs smoothly.

Room Tip: The ones with sea view have a breathtaking view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanytag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

If you are looking for a place where you can relax and find some peace you will certainly not regret choosing this hotel.
A small property fulfilled by excellent staff, spacious rooms, and inumerous 'chill out' areas when you can simply enjoy a good reading or that music!
In the hotel you also have 2 pools, jaccuzi, sauna and a library.
Buffet breakfast is also very nice with lots of choice and the restaurant staff welcomes you everytime with a smile.
Just a note: please be carefull when you leave your 'do not disturb' card outside the door...one day the housekeeper entered the room!
Overall, we had spent a wonderful week there and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view to the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frfp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

this is our second time here to this beautiful hotel, beautiful views and great location away from all... the only thing that made us sad was we came back because we where hoping to see Sonia who used to work at the hotel as a receptionist, we have never forgoten her
what a pitty that was, other than that all was good

Room Tip: sea views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bondman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

the hotel is located above a cliff. We had a room with stunning views on the beach of Ponta Da Sol. White is the colour of the rooms and the furniture with accents of red .... beautiful ! Very good breakfast with a good variety of fresh products. We had twice dinner on the terrace in a 'bistro-style' with paper napkins : food and service of very moderate quality : why offering (a would be) japanese and italian cuisine knowing all the good products of Madeira ? We have no complaints about the cleaningness. Perfect hotel for a stay with breakfast and for enjoying the marvelous swimmingpool but go in town for your dinner !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinelofBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
17.5 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
17.1 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
22 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
509 reviews
15.7 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
17.2 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range: ₹ 8,231 - ₹ 10,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing