We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
6
6
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
6
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

It is interesting to reread the reviews that have been written about Castello di Lamole now that I have been there. The most important thing is that you must have a car to stay here. When we first got there (I was travelling with my 19yr old daughter and a friend) I thought my daughter would be bored to tears within a few days. Castello di Lamole is in remote position, the apartment (we had La Mangiatoia) was rustic with beautiful sandstone interiors, dim lighting, and clean and tidy. They are sparsely furnished but that adds to their charm. The most spectacular part of the Castello is its position. The magical scenery and private courtyard was a source of many hours just relaxing looking at the view and the wildlife and listening to the bells of Lamole.

When we arrived we were greeted by Franco who is the Manager/handyman/etc of the place. He was warm and friendly and helped us with our luggage, car, hairdryer and internet. The office was not often manned a lot of the time but Franco's phone number was on the door and, as he lived only 2 km down the mountain, he was easy to contact when necessary. He also helped us with advice on directions and places to go. The Castello is in a fantastic location to see Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Volpaia etc with easy day trips to and from. Franco was a great help. He even drove us to an evening wine tasting further down the mountain so that we could have a drink and not worry about driving home.

If there was a downside to staying there, i would have to say that we were disappointed that we didn't get to experience the castello's restaurant which we were told was very good. Apparently the chef had had to have an operation or something. So that was disappointing (although it did lead us to a restaurant only 1 km away which was fantastic - Ristoro di Lamole). We did actually see the owner of the castello but he didn't make any effort to welcome us. And if you aren't into driving 8km up a very skinny, winding road (on the wrong side for us) every day a couple of times then it is probably not for you. After day 2 or 3 you got used to it though and for me, eventually was part of the charm of the place. I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennysonTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Although it has been over two years since we stayed at the Castello di Lamole, after reading the critical reviews I felt it important to share our wonderful experience. We stayed four nights and have nothing but great things to say.

Upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant individual, Marissa, who was most helpful throughout our stay. She showed us to our nice apartment, with a stunning view across the vineyards, to the church and the village of Lamole. The two level apartment was quaint and welcoming. We especially enjoyed the small terrace outside where we often relaxed with some cheese, meat, and a bottle of local wine.

Each morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast, with a wide selection of cereal, meat, cheese, jams, juice etc. It provided a great opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. The Castello also has an on-site restaurant - the Aia dei Canti, serving very good regional Tuscan meals. Of special interest was the mini-concert performed by Ricardo Marasco, the owner, and a well- known Italian folksinger, after dinner on Saturday evening. Unfortunately we don't speak Italian, but judging by the laughter of the full restaurant there were no doubt some very funny lyrics.

Lamole provides a good base for day trips through the Tuscan countryside. Nearby are Greve in Chianti, Volpai, Panzano, and Radda in Chianti, all of which have charm and a selection of restaurants. Nearby, we enjoyed a very memorable dinner at the Ristorante di Lamole, in the village of Lamole, a pleasant 1 km walk from the Castello. Centrally located day trips to either Florence or Sienna are easily doable in a day.

We thought our stay at the Castello di Lamole was perfect. If you are interested in a rural setting, the location, the apartment, the food, and the hospitality of Ricardo, his wife and Marissa all made for a most enjoyable stay. We would return in a minute, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Castello di Lamole is truly a unique and amazing holiday location in the heart of Tuscany. If you are looking for something really special and want to experience the true spirit of Tuscany, we can strongly recommend Castello di Lamole! Castello di Lamole is rustic in a very charming way indeed. So if you are looking for satellite TV, room service and air conditioning, Castello di Lamole is probably not for you; but if you appreciate peace of mind and the genuine spirit of Tuscany, you will love Castello di Lamole.

We have visited Castello di Lamole four times by now; and we still keep coming back for special occasions. We usually don’t go to the same holiday location twice; but in the case of Castello di Lamole we just cannot get enough: the location, the local restaurant, the way the host family is treating us as family members, etc. If you are lucky, Simonetta may be in the kitchen preparing her divine Ribollita.

Castello di Lamole is located in the heart of Tuscany right between Firenze and Siena. The local villages are Panzano and Greve in Chanti - for example, have the morning espresso at the main square of Greve in Chanti, get fresh bread and fruit from the market and Pecorino cheese as well; meat however, you would want to buy from the local butcher in Panzano who probably cuts the best “Bistecca di Fiorentina” in Tuscany. And if you are smart enough to visit during the wine harvesting period in September, everybody is enjoying the local wine tasting festivals.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Globetrotter1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We are greatly looking forward to our third visit to Castello di Lamole in June 2008, and we consider it to be a wonderful place for a Tuscan vacation. It really is a medieval castello, a kind of tiny fortified village, high up in the hills above Greve, with marvellous views of the valley below -- and with an amazing chorus of Italian birdsong in the early morning. Our apartment was appropriately rustic and very comfortable, with kitchen facilities for light meals, beautiful interior stone walls, and a garden with a view. One of the particular delights of Castello di Lamole is the friendly, helpful and hospitable Marasco family, including Riccardo, who beautifully sings Tuscan folk songs in the restaurant at dinner time. Castello di Lamole is truly one of the most pleasant places we have ever stayed in. -- J&C, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

In September, my husband and daughter and I stayed at this beautiful old castle in Lamole. We followed a winding road that took us up the vine covered slopes just south of Greve in Chianti, knocked-out by the green and sumptuous beauty that enveloped us. We were expecting to find an old Castle behind a ring of walls, but that was not to be the case. The walls had been torn down centuries before during the long wars between Florence and Siena. The rest of the buildings have now been refurbished to create a dozen good sized apartments, all of them done in a rustic Tuscan style. Our apartment was large, clean, well-furnished, well equipped, comfortable and quiet. We'd go back tomorrow if we could! Highlight of the stay was our dinner in the Castello's small restaurant when the owner, who turned out to be the famous Tuscan folksinger, Riccardo Marasco, began singing for his guests. This man's voice is designed for the public piazza - he sang beautifully without benefit of amplification. Truly magical!

2  Thank joanandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews