We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Delicious, and Romantic”
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bordoni
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2017

When picking a place to stay in the Chianti region during our honeymoon, this boutique hotel came highly rated, and it lived up to every expectation. The service was top notch. We truly felt relaxed and well taken care of. The food was incredible and not incredibly over-priced. The location is close drive to Greve which is a great little town. I highly recommend the cooking class, it was one of our favorite experiences of our entire honeymoon. David was always pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Great boutique hotel with a nice ambience, both concerning our room, which was very charming, the villa and the pool area, which was never crowded. A fine selection of wines, and good quality food - the bisteca florentina was amazing. We asked for whisky, and they even had a very decent small selection of single malts. And last but not least, friendly and competent service. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heidi Cecilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

reading all the reviews we had very high expectations from this hotel which is ranked among the top in the region. So clearly this must be exceptional, right ? well not really unfortunately.

Can't say there was anything particularly wrong. The rooms were fine, the place is quiet, well decorated and the setting is nice, this is chianti. But they know they are top rated and they make you pay for it. It is priced as a palace, and is unfortunately not worth the premium at all. When someone pays so much, you expect exceptional service, a clean pool (which wasn't the case, i actually had to pick up myself the net to take the bees and insects off the pool twice a day when i stayed there) among different things.

The food was quite disappointing (and over-priced as well). The prosciutto melon was the worse we had of our two weeks in tuscany (ham not great, and melon not ripe, in the middle of august, are you kidding ? ), The pasta was good - but again, 15 EUR for 4 raviolis is over priced - yes, litterally 4 raviolis.

So all in all, it was pleasant, but when you pay that price, it has to be perfect, and it wasn't i'm afraid. We're not asking for a lot, just for a clean pool and ripe melons in august, is it too much to ask ? So overall, we felt it was a bit over priced and were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here for 8 years . David , a Scotsman, and his wife Katherine have created one of the finest boutique hotels in Italy. They have hired an amazing team of staff especially Zaman and Luca as well as Ricardo, Sylvia and Farida ( currently on maternity leave) in reception . The cleaners do an exceptional job on the rooms and leave them spotless.


The food is excellent - as good as any restaurant in Florence or Forte dei Marmi and much better in our view than anywhere in Tuscany. Breakfast is a glorious way to start the day accompanied by classical music - a very generous offering of fruits, yoghurts , cereals, cold cuts and cheeses as well as egg dishes in demand ( some commentators have criticized the supplement for eggs but it has been my experience that every hotel I have stayed at in Italy other than big city or super expensive hotels does the same .) For lunch you can choose between salads or sandwiches - all of which which are delicious - or order from the dinner menu. The dinner menu encompasses traditional Tuscan appetizers, pasta dishes and meats ( I do think they should add one dish like guinea fowl or a fish to the entrees for people who want to eat lighter .) The deserts are amazing especially the fig cheesecake . If you want a break from the hotel we would suggest having dinner at L'Antica Scuderia in Badio a Passignano where they have great pizza and grilled steak .

The key to Villa Bordoni is that the peaceful atmosphere and welcoming staff give you the chance to relax and switch off from your daily life .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ngreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to Villa Bordoni and decided to splash out and get a room here. Other hotels/bnb in Chianti are half the price but from the TripAdvisor reviews I thought it would be well worth the spend.

The reason it didn't get 5 rating are because of following:

1/ the view from my room and many other rooms is of a car park. At $327 euro per night I thought I would be getting view of Tuscan countryside. Instead all widows were facing a car park and everyone could stare into my room and see me getting dressed (images attached)

2/ Clumsy service... the reception never came back to me on room change request (she said she would check and then nothing was communicated). In addition the first night turndown service was missed and many other times the restaurant staff forgot bread/fork/water

3/ For breakfast, the hotel charges to have eggs in the morning. You would think that a high end property would just include this but no. This put me off a bit.

4/ A cabbage salad which only incorporated red cabbage, some cheese and blueberry was 15 euro. Not really value for money. I would recommend the lunch menu is changed to include some of the dinner menu items.

5/ I would recommend breakfast is offered until later (around 11am at least) as it suits the pace of chianti

6/ we were constantly having to ask for water for our room. We had to go down to the restaurant in the end. Also no one knew the number to call reception from our room. The receptionist said No one had ever asked for the number. Eventually we found out it was 201.

7/ getting to and from the property is pretty challenging given the roads and unpaved and only wide enough for one car at times. Due to the difficulties guests would probably rather stay at the property rather than explore Chianti

Don't get me wrong the property was relaxing (and we enjoyed dinner here one night). David the owner is lovely and always on site with a smile. However some of his staff may need a bit more training from him to provide same level of warmth/service. We loved the pool area and outside gym.

It would be nice for the hotel to put on some complimentary hors d'oeuvre and wine every afternoon so guests can get to know each other (and this would make the place more value for money). In addition, please put eggs on breakfast menu complimentary (it seems crazy to charge for eggs).

When staying here def go to to La Castellana for dinner (unbelievable food and value). Also try ristoro Di Lamole if you are willing to drive 30-40 mins - great food and amazing sunset views.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mellonie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
6.1 km away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
503 reviews
17.6 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
2.6 km away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
13.1 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
576 reviews
33.3 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: ₹ 13,155 - ₹ 30,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bordoni 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing