We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
591
45
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
45
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classoutdoor gymour honeymoonfamily suitecooking schoolboutique hoteldirt roadthree nightstuscan countrysidegarden roomvery special placeitaly triptiramisuwine listevery morningpastacooking course
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Great boutique hotel with a nice ambience, both concerning our room, which was very charming, the villa and the pool area, which was never crowded. A fine selection of wines, and good quality food - the bisteca florentina was amazing. We asked for whisky, and they even had a very decent small selection of single malts. And last but not least, friendly and competent service. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heidi Cecilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

reading all the reviews we had very high expectations from this hotel which is ranked among the top in the region. So clearly this must be exceptional, right ? well not really unfortunately.

Can't say there was anything particularly wrong. The rooms were fine, the place is quiet, well decorated and the setting is nice, this is chianti. But they know they are top rated and they make you pay for it. It is priced as a palace, and is unfortunately not worth the premium at all. When someone pays so much, you expect exceptional service, a clean pool (which wasn't the case, i actually had to pick up myself the net to take the bees and insects off the pool twice a day when i stayed there) among different things.

The food was quite disappointing (and over-priced as well). The prosciutto melon was the worse we had of our two weeks in tuscany (ham not great, and melon not ripe, in the middle of august, are you kidding ? ), The pasta was good - but again, 15 EUR for 4 raviolis is over priced - yes, litterally 4 raviolis.

So all in all, it was pleasant, but when you pay that price, it has to be perfect, and it wasn't i'm afraid. We're not asking for a lot, just for a clean pool and ripe melons in august, is it too much to ask ? So overall, we felt it was a bit over priced and were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here for 8 years . David , a Scotsman, and his wife Katherine have created one of the finest boutique hotels in Italy. They have hired an amazing team of staff especially Zaman and Luca as well as Ricardo, Sylvia and Farida ( currently on maternity leave) in reception . The cleaners do an exceptional job on the rooms and leave them spotless.

The food is excellent - as good as any restaurant in Florence or Forte dei Marmi and much better in our view than anywhere in Tuscany. Breakfast is a glorious way to start the day accompanied by classical music - a very generous offering of fruits, yoghurts , cereals, cold cuts and cheeses as well as egg dishes in demand ( some commentators have criticized the supplement for eggs but it has been my experience that every hotel I have stayed at in Italy other than big city or super expensive hotels does the same .) For lunch you can choose between salads or sandwiches - all of which which are delicious - or order from the dinner menu. The dinner menu encompasses traditional Tuscan appetizers, pasta dishes and meats ( I do think they should add one dish like guinea fowl or a fish to the entrees for people who want to eat lighter .) The deserts are amazing especially the fig cheesecake . If you want a break from the hotel we would suggest having dinner at L'Antica Scuderia in Badio a Passignano where they have great pizza and grilled steak .

The key to Villa Bordoni is that the peaceful atmosphere and welcoming staff give you the chance to relax and switch off from your daily life .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ngreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to Villa Bordoni and decided to splash out and get a room here. Other hotels/bnb in Chianti are half the price but from the TripAdvisor reviews I thought it would be well worth the spend.

The reason it didn't get 5 rating are because of following:

1/ the view from my room and many other rooms is of a car park. At $327 euro per night I thought I would be getting view of Tuscan countryside. Instead all widows were facing a car park and everyone could stare into my room and see me getting dressed (images attached)

2/ Clumsy service... the reception never came back to me on room change request (she said she would check and then nothing was communicated). In addition the first night turndown service was missed and many other times the restaurant staff forgot bread/fork/water

3/ For breakfast, the hotel charges to have eggs in the morning. You would think that a high end property would just include this but no. This put me off a bit.

4/ A cabbage salad which only incorporated red cabbage, some cheese and blueberry was 15 euro. Not really value for money. I would recommend the lunch menu is changed to include some of the dinner menu items.

5/ I would recommend breakfast is offered until later (around 11am at least) as it suits the pace of chianti

6/ we were constantly having to ask for water for our room. We had to go down to the restaurant in the end. Also no one knew the number to call reception from our room. The receptionist said No one had ever asked for the number. Eventually we found out it was 201.

7/ getting to and from the property is pretty challenging given the roads and unpaved and only wide enough for one car at times. Due to the difficulties guests would probably rather stay at the property rather than explore Chianti

Don't get me wrong the property was relaxing (and we enjoyed dinner here one night). David the owner is lovely and always on site with a smile. However some of his staff may need a bit more training from him to provide same level of warmth/service. We loved the pool area and outside gym.

It would be nice for the hotel to put on some complimentary hors d'oeuvre and wine every afternoon so guests can get to know each other (and this would make the place more value for money). In addition, please put eggs on breakfast menu complimentary (it seems crazy to charge for eggs).

When staying here def go to to La Castellana for dinner (unbelievable food and value). Also try ristoro Di Lamole if you are willing to drive 30-40 mins - great food and amazing sunset views.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mellonie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for the second time in August 2017 and were welcomed back as if we were family, which was wonderful. The hotel, food, wine and grounds are superb but the real difference is everyone who works at Villa Bordoni. They must all enjoy it so much as it comes across in how they help and chat with all of the guests. Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday. We did the cooking course - thanks Davida for such a great time

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IslandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews