We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
4
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Visited the winery, just for a day. It was perfect! Rodolfo showed us the grounds and how the wine is made. Next he treated us to a most delicious meal in the very wonderful kitchen while we sampled the wines! Rodolfo is an artist, with a shop in Florence and the winery is filled with his magnificent paintings! He also paints on some of the wine bottles - making them extra special! Of course, we had wine and olive oil shipped back home!! This day was definitely one of the highlights of our trip - the scenery, the winery and the friends made it an unforgettable day!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We (four adults and two children) stayed here at the beginning of June, and after reading the previous reviews, were expecting something really special.

This sadly was not the case. The villa was undoubtedly beautiful in its day, but now it's poorly maintained, cold, badly equipped, and the proprietors pathetically bad amateur art literally covers every available wall space (even covering the beautiful frescoes in the once-elegant salon).

Also, there is no mention that the house is located on a main road, and consequently suffers badly from traffic noise from about 6am, with people commuting into Florence. This, coupled with the rooks nesting in the trees surrounding the house, doesn't make for peaceful mornings.

The owner's personal possessions are everywhere - family photos & knick knacks - to the extent that it feels like you're staying in the home of an elderly relative who's just popped out to the shops.

The kitchen has no kettle, no microwave, and the equipment provided was old and worn. There is a washing machine down in a separate annexe, but no dryer. In short, none of the basic facilities that you would expect when you're paying over 4,000 euros a week.

The bedrooms were shabby (see attached photos) and the bedding was just horrible - nasty sheets and blankets and old-lady bed covers. One of the bathrooms had no hot water for the entire week, & despite numerous complaints to the proprietors, it wasn't fixed.

There is no concession to comfort. There is a very formal dining room, a billiard room, the kitchen and the salon on the ground floor. The salon is furnished with a piano, an ancient modular sofa, and although there is a sound system and a TV, we were only able to get them working after one of our party spent a couple of hours untangling cables.

One of the kids wanted to take the art class that the proprietors offered, so three of us participated in a one-hour lesson, which basically involved smearing plaster on a piece of wood, making a few indentations with a stick, then daubing some paint on - for which we were charged 300 euros. For one hour. More fool us for not asking the price beforehand.

The entire party were so disappointed and uncomfortable with the accommodation that we left early, preferring to spend additional money on a hotel than spend a week there.

To compound our dissatisfaction, the proprietors then alleged (after our departure) that a valuable lamp had been broken and that the kitchen had been covered in fat spatters, and they retained 134.20 euros to cover "damages" - which we knew nothing about. We are so upset and refute absolutely that we were responsible for any damage whatsoever.

In short, we would never recommend staying at Torre Alberghieri to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grockles65230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I was really impressed by the significant quality standard of Italian hospitality and classy atmosphere of this property.
Ideal for a stay in one of the most attractive countryside landscapes in Europe. The owner Rodolfo is a perfect host, in the sense that he makes you feel really special in a very relaxed and friendly manner.
The mix of art, nature and excellent wine making is really unique. As a seasoned traveler this the vibe I love when I leave home.
Another plus is the vicinity of Florence, which allows you to enjoy the best of both worlds.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

My team and me spent some very relaxing, nice days at Villa Torre Alberghieri. Stefania and her husband were exceptional hosts, helping me from the initial organization over a great stay with a self-cooked dinner, and a fantastic wine tasting, up until helping me with the invoice and taking care that everything is perfectly organized.

The villa itself is very beautiful, full with art- only in winter it was a bit cold there, even though we heated as much as we could. But this is probably normal for such a big villa with so many rooms. However, we would spend a lot of time in the kitchen, which is very cosy and has a nice fire place- so that was fine.

I think- regardless if private or for business- this place is a great location and I can highly recommend it.

Thanks Stefania for the great time and your hospitality.

Room tip: In winter the tower is not recommended, as it is very cold there. All the other rooms were very nice.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 397nataschab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We spent 15 days in Stefania's small villa with our baby girl. We loved it. The location is good (not too far from Florence) and in the middle of the Chianti (which allowed us to visit different vineyards). If you choose this villa, make sure to ask Stefania's husband for a wine tasting (since there is a vineyard on the property). The wine tasting was one of the best evening we have had in whole Tuscany! The host is very sympathetic and makes you feel welcomed. Do not hesitate to chose this villa.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews